Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

32 People found this comment helpful

I was on amoxil for a sinus infection when it came back I had nasty sore throats every night which were gone within 24 hours of beginning this medication. It does taste horrible but I found a suggestion on another site to coat the pill in honey which works great. I don't taste the bitterness at all. It is a little rough on my stomach if I take it with milk or yogurt it seems to stop me from having...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

This medicaton in the form of a pill has the most horrible tasting coating on it that leaves a bitter taste long after and is very hard to swallow because of its size.

Shared reviews and ratings

Drugs r bad | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/8/2021
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking for pneumonia, only took 3 pills couldn't breathe extremely confused severe anxiety severe stomach pain dizziness,nausea and vertigo. I can't take sulfa drugs so doc prescribed this and I feel 100% worse I also have a bad headache. I will never take again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hickchick48 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/3/2018
Condition: Lyme Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on this medicine almost 30 days. Was worried about side effects. Worst side effect is severe constipation for but so far seems to be getting rid of my Lyme symptoms. Tolerated this well on my stomach with food. 500mg 2x a day. Good drug for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KrisD3 | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/27/2017
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am allergic to Macrobid and Bactrim and had horrible side effects from Cipro so there is not much I can take for a UTI. My doctor prescribed this and it is the only med that gets rid of my infection. The generic form does not have a horrible taste, as experienced by some. I have found you must take it with food and during the course of your treatment, as with any antibiotic, drink lots of water.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angela | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/26/2017
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am allergic to most of the main antibiotics used for urinary tract infections and I found that I can take this one. The generic does not have the horrible taste, but you must take it with food and drink plenty of water. I hate taking it because it makes me feel awful at first, but then after a few days, I get used to it. It does help my urinary tract infections.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
connie | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/8/2016
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A urine test was done by a lab tech. who reported to my PCP that he found bacteria in the urine - E.coli - which came as a surprise to me as I had no symptoms whatsoever. My PCP ordered the prescription, I took 2 pills a day for 5 days at which time I stop because I had vainal bleeding. Since then I have been having severe urinary tract infection.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
scout leader | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/31/2015
Condition: Acute Maxillary Sinus H. Influenzae Bacteria Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

500mg twice daily for 10 days;felt fine at day 7, continued for ten days total, as directed;no bad taste, felt fine, no other issues - results fine!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Scott58 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/5/2015
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It may be helping me with my Bronchitis but I have never have problems sleeping. I can sleep through anything. On my third day of this and I am up tonight writing this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NC | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/27/2015
Condition: Middle Ear Infection
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed 500mg Ceftin 2x/day for 10 days for an ear infection. I lost all sense of taste and smell for the entire ten days except for a stong chemical taste on my tongue. My last dose was 15 hours ago and I have just gotten back a small sense of smell. I was also extremely fatigued the entire time. I see no side affects like loss of taste...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Syndie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/28/2015
Condition: Strep Throat and Tonsillitis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I agree it tastes terrible do not take with water took first dose that night woke up feeling great strange part was I had spinal surgery 4 months ago back hurting all the time it stopped hurting too makes me think I may have had an infection there also either way it has done wonders for me haven't felt this good in a long time highly recommend it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chloe | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/15/2015
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed due to cough and cold, wanting to prevent pneumonia. Ended up with awful 'C diff' colitis, now on Flagyl to clear the infection up. Hope I never have to take any antibiotic again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ajd75021 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/6/2014
Condition: Strep Throat and Tonsillitis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm taking this medicine in the pill form and the only bad thing about it, is the bad taste and it's hard to swallow. The pill is on the big side and if you don't take pills often then its really hard to get down. I do feel somewhat better but I have only been on it about a week. After 30 minutes of taking the pill I get really nauseated even though I eat before I take the pill. I have also noticed that I get dizzy spells, mostly when I get up from sitting or laying down. Other than that it seems to be helping. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
twatts | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/16/2014
Condition: Strep Throat
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with Strep Throat and was prescribed this medication. I felt no relief after 3 days, then waited another 2 days with no relief. Taste HORRIBLE. I do NOT recommend this medication. THE WORST ANTIBOTIC EVER PRESCRIBED

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Adnan | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/30/2014
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection caused by Klebsiella Bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Buring in urine, nausea blurred eyesight , stomach upset. Doctor prescribed for 30 days 500mg twice a day

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dott4 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/6/2014
Condition: Acute Maxillary Sinus H. Influenzae Bacteria Infection
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Did not work for my sinus infection. Has not worked for a friend's sinus infection, nor my brother's sinus infection. Did not work for my mother when hospitalized with a urinary tract infection. Not impressed. Wondering if they have a good team, out there advocating its use to doctors. Seems dangerously ineffective to me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cary | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/22/2013
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doctors don't like to give me Ceftin for UTIs, but it is the only antibiotic that doesn't worsen my chronic constipation. Instead, it temporarily cures it, and it's awesome! Other antibiotics make me feel like I have the flu and cause yeast infections, but this one is only positive for me. I am not typical with my problems. I have Celiac disease with constipation from a tortuous colon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | On medication for less than 1 month |
12/14/2013
Condition: Acute Inflammation of the Maxillary Sinus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has too many side effects that result in the patient feeling worse and not better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brittany | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/25/2013
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I usually get anxiety or feel really horrible when i take antibiotics of any kind but this medicine worked really well with me. The taste is really gross when swallowing it, but i had no side effects. I was prescribed to take 2 pills a day for 3 days and i felt better by the second day but i finished all 6 pills. This drug worked for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nonema7gy6 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/13/2013
Condition: Bacterial Pneumonia caused by Streptococcus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

not only was this medicine totally ineffective but it elevated my blood sugar level the whole time i was taking it and gave me mouth thrush

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CEFTIN | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/31/2013
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had UTI, infection, it is horrible taste, expensive without inssurance, first I was very scary just reading the side effects but none of it happen, however I had very bad belly pain so after to take it with water I had a cup of sweet yogurt and it help for bally pain and taste. Overall it helped me for my UTI

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mzpdada | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/9/2013
Condition: Middle Ear Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

still have symptoms after 7 days

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More