Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

42 People found this comment helpful

Works very well to control blood pressure, however, for me, it also lowers my pulse greatly. I wore a 24 hour heart monitor which showed my pulse as low as 41 bpm while sleeping. Daytime pulse rarely over 80 bpm unless exercising. Occasional lightheadedness. But overall works better at controlling blood pressure than other drugs I've tried .

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

This medication nearly killed my cat, who was prescribed Diltiazem to treat her heart murmur. After approximately 2 months, she was miserable, had stopped eating and become dehydrated. Be careful with any use of this drug. I know I'll never take it myself.

Shared reviews and ratings

Quiltnut | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/2/2022
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Cardizem (diltiazem) after getting the cardioversion for afib. Took it for 9 days. Sometime after 3 hours of taking it, my heart beats and pressure went UP, instead of down. I was extremely tired, barely could stand for too long, lightheaded, shaky, and decided to quit it. The next day after quitting it, I felt so much better. The cardiac unit eventually put me on metoprolol Succ. ER 25mg, and now after almost a month of these meds, I am doing much better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kathy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/23/2022
Condition: Paroxysmal Supraventricular Tachycardia
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was put on the medication by my cardiologist to help control my heart rate even though I'm being treated for high blood pressure with two other medications. I've experienced lightheadedness, dizziness, severe joint pain, facial flushing and muscle cramping. I'm sending a note to my cardiologist letting him know that I'm taking myself off diltiazem because in my opinion the side effects far out way the benefits of taking this drug! My blood pressure is consistently low (hence the dizziness and lightheadedness) but my resting heart rate remains at a higher than normal rate. Even though I've taken this medication for a little over 3 months hoping any side effects would cease, this medication has done nothing for me other than make me feel miserable and unwell. Enough is enough!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Danielle | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/13/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was put on for blood pressure as I currently have Raynauds syndrome so dr thought this would help. After taking for 13 days I broke out with a terrible itchy rash over entire body swollen gland and felt like throat was closing up. Prompted a trip to ER and stated the rash a rx related rash. Stopped the meds and went back to my old RX. Rash could take 2 weeks to clear up. Rash is worse than anything I’ve ever experienced

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wade | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/23/2022
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

pretty much every side effect listed has affected me. the worst being fatigue/tired, tightness in chest, trouble swallowing/swollen glands in neck, itching, swelling in hands and feet. i have rarely, rarely suffered from side effects of medications and am not allergic to any at all so this was a real eye-opener.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/19/2022
Condition: Supraventricular Cardiac Arrhythmia
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor put me on this because I have SVT and PALPATATIONS and My heart likes to stop at times. I’m on 360mg. I have gained weight and I have loss some hair and I always had thick hair and now it’s thinning out. I am not happy about that. My legs have swelled up so bad and I am taking lasix anyway and I am at my end wits. I am also taking this for stage 3 hypertension, it seems to work somewhat but it brought my pulse rate in the 50’s and below at times. I am tired all the time even though I was tired because of my other health problems. My EP specialist is going to try the next time to bring me to 180mg to see how that will ease off my problems I hate feeling like this and if my problems won’t go away then they are going to schedule me for a Abalition I am on a heart holter again for A month this time to see how my heart runs/tick ?? I just want to feel better again. I don’t want to keep taking all these meds either. Good Luck to all who takes this medication.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Catherine | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/18/2022
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Never other medications than Diltiazem helped my heart from Atrial Fibrillation, I am extremely to my cardiologist that he prescribed me this unbelievable good medication for my heart. After 6 weeks of taking it, it changed my life, everything, making my heart to beat normally. It is already 2 years I am taking it . All my gratitude to the scientists, my cardiologist, for giving me back my life!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rose | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/3/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on this medication for about six weeks. I had heart palpitations, the least little thing I did, trying to clean a bathroom, was out of breath with heart pounding, felt jittery and last was the itchy rash on my thighs and back. I went to the dermatologist who did a biopsy and it came back as contact dermatitis or an reaction to a medication. I never knew a blood pressure medication could give you a rash until I started reading the user reviews on this and found I was not the only one. My doctor took me off this horrible stuff a few days ago and put me on something else. The rash is still there but it cleared up on my back, but my legs are still bad. The palpitations and jittery feeling are now gone. The derm. said it could take several weeks to clear up and I am using an ointment for the itching and CeraVE itch relief cream which does help. Worst blood pressure medication I have ever been on. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Beverley | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/22/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have felt so down and depressed I'm 66 and I feel like I'm having pmt my blood pressure hadn't gone down. Also very lightheaded. No more tablets for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bobby | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/19/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Take 120mg once a day. Has lowered my bp but it's still high. Since starting, I developed a lump in my rectum, dry stools, lower back pain, and joint pain. Never had any of that before taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
xxannan | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/21/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Didn't work as well as beta blockers to control my high blood pressure and arrhythmia. When my dude was increased, I started having horrific migraines daily, leading to discontinuation of the drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
none | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/8/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking this medicine for over 1 year, it caused me to have pain in my left shoulders, left hips and thigh areas. I became lethargic and very tired. I also got a rash and sun spots over my face. I stopped taking this medication to see if all these symptoms would go away and sure enough, symptoms went away - Thank God, I feel so much better!! This medication has also not helped to lower my BP.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ZombieWolf | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/29/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went onto this drug after years of bisoprolol had given me weakness in legs, ED, joint pain, drowsiness. Diltiazem after a week gave me constipation, bloating, some acid reflux, some palpitations, high pulse (85-100 usually), trouble sleeping- sleep in spurts with vivid dreams always. It's proving too much to tolerate, will instead request to try Diovan (Angio II blocker) at my appt. next month. Blood pressure on Diltiazem seems to be within normal range, joint pain is gone, ED comes and goes.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sapphire4x | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/22/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took it for couple of days to decrease my blood pressure. It did not work at all. It has too many bad side effects such as gave me a bad cough, felt weak and fatigued, my erection went down. I also felt great paranoia and depression. Stay away from this bad drug.....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sunshine | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/30/2019
Condition: Supraventricular Cardiac Arrhythmia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have had no issues other than feeling a little tired.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JMiyata | 65-74 | Female | Patient
5/19/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this medication for 2 days. Legs felt very weak, like rubber. Had the shakes and felt like crap. All I wanted to do was lay down I felt so crappy!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/25/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took one dose of 120 mg and blood pressure went up by 30 units. I became extremely jittery and hyper. Couldn't drive. Horrible experience.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | Patient
1/23/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This did absolutely nothing for my high blood pressure or my heart rate.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Barb | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/28/2018
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works very well , I had to quit taking due to insurance changes last year. I immediately started having heart rate issues again, Started the medication again and I have not had any issues at all since,

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Becky | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/15/2018
Condition: Supraventricular Cardiac Arrhythmia
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It makes me extremely tired...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BettynMaine | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/30/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sometimes I feel like something crawling through my skin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More