Show ratings & reviews for

2.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

24 People found this comment helpful

After trying just about every over the counter cream pain relief, a friend suggested that I try this one. It has saved me from a lot of miserable nights. Starting at my spine, down to my hip and all the way to my foot. It aches, throbs and hurts so badly that I can not stand it. I rub it in and it works quickly. Do not get it on tender skin like the stomach because it will burn. However, I...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

I also had burning. Skin turned bright red. The medication had no warning on the bottle. They really should take it off the market. Terrible

Shared reviews and ratings

Wise-ish | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/24/2022
Condition: Nerve Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Yes, it does burn. But oh my friends PLEASE don't rinse it off with cold water, that will make it worse. To soothe that burn, gently apply cool water with plenty of mild soap or use dairy products such as milk cream or yogurt, or (I've read) use peanut butter. These quickly help neutralize that peppery sensation. If you can return to the treatment, it can be highly effective after a period of steady application. Capsaicin is powerful stuff.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sunnie2017 | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
9/8/2022
Condition: Pain associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The SOLARMAX Tropical Analgesic product is worthless. I've been using it for 2 days now and it has done nothing to help ease my sore muscle pain. I don't know who writes positive reviews, but this stuff stinks literally and burns. It also causes me to cough every time I roll in on. I wasted $350 so thank you SOLARMAX for nothing, but disappointment with the product. I really had high hopes with all your positive reviews.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ouch120 | 45-54 | Other | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/20/2022
Condition: Backache
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I bought this thinking I had picked up Aspercreme. I used it on my sore upper left side back and neck. For about 5-10 minutes, nothing. Then the intense burning began... Prickly at first, and not at all like the warmth of any other muscle/arthritis cream on the market. In just a few minutes the burning was unbearable and I was sure my skin must be bubbling into some sort of chemically burned mess. I tried washing it off... Still burned. Tried a cold shower... Sti burned... Worse. Ran to my spouse to look at it, that I might need to go to the hospital. To my surprise, he said it just looked a little red. By this time I was nearly crying and begging for help. I tried washing it again per the directions on the box. Tried coconut oil per directions to use cooking oil/fat to remove it of washing was no successful. Made it worse. Finally my husband gave me a large ice cube about the size of plastic cup half filled. It was the only thing that worked. Thankfully I only used a small amount on a smallish section of skin. I rubbed the ice over the burning area until it had all melted away (about 30 minutes) until I finally felt comfortable enough to put on a shirt and lay down. I also put a wet cloth in the freezer in case the burning came back which it did after about 10 minutes, but only on a small area of the bend between my neck and back. It disappeared a lot quicker this time. Threw away this cream and will never buy again. I also woke up with a headache... Either stress of it all or related to the capsaicin, which I've now read can have that effect. And by the way, while I totally forgot about my muscle strain and soreness during the burn ordeal, it was not improved at all after. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Capsaicin HD | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/4/2022
Condition: Backache
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It burned me so badly I went in to shock. I blistered. Blood pressure over 200. Ambulance ride to the ER. EMTs and ER Doctors feel it should not be OTC.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kay | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/16/2022
Condition: Pain associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within moments of application, the burning was extreme. I took a shower which seem to make it worse. It has been several hours and it is still burning. I have used water, aloe vera gel and alcohol and none have worked. After looking it up, I see that this is a very frequent reaction!!. This has no business being sold without major warnings! I am going to soak in ice water. Perhaps that will help.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Polly | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/9/2022
Condition: Nerve Pain after Herpes
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have osteoarthritis in both knees, Doctor reluctant to prescibe tablets for ma as I also have asthma, I've had steriod injections in knees which only work for a a short spell so I researched what other things were available and I saw capsaicin advertised I asked my GP about it and he prescribed it for me, well I use it twice a day and the difference its made is is amazing, I still have abit of stiffness but I'm doing knee excersises from physio and the pain as gone completely, it doesn't burn my skin or turn it red but works for me, couldn't be without it now, wish I'd knew about it soonerRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/4/2022
Condition: Pain associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this at night for foot pain. My hands were on fire. There should be large warnings on the package. It was excruciating.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Boxingmama | 13-18 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
11/17/2021
Condition: Backache
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use this for joint pain on my back & neck and find it great and very effective ….. BUT today I used it on my 15yr old sons back (suffering scoliosis pain) and at first nothing, then about 20 minutes later he mentioned it getting hot then OMG his back was bright red and he said the pain was coming in waves, not heat … PAIN. Tried washing off in bath… made it worse Tried baking powder/water mix … made it worse Only thing that worked was spraying hand sanitizer on his back …. Was an instant relief…. And I mean instant. The alcohol in the hand sanitizer is the only thing that stopped the pain. So if you react like my son, get the vodka out the drinks cupboard. What an adventful morning… he was definitely allergic to this gel. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
STRIPER | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/4/2019
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this cream by the VA to put on my feet to stop neuropathy in my feet and hands from my diabetes. I put it on my feet and ankles and in less than an hour I was in extreme pain. I tried to wash it off. nope. My feet turned bright red. I called 911 and they took me to the hosp. They gave me benadryl and a pain killer and soaked my feet in whole milk. They put this stuff in my record as me being highly allergic to it. I saw my PC Dr. the next day and she said I was not allergic, this is a common reaction and she does not prescribe it. She is going to take it to her chief to try to get it removed. DO NOT USE. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Saintflorian | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/24/2016
Condition: Pain associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Arthritis in the knees became severe to where I needed a cane to walk. Applied 0.10% capsaicin creme to both knees and the pain was gone in 2 hours. I use it each morning and haven't needed a cane since the first day and that was 3 months ago.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bug | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/2/2016
Condition: Pain associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have degenerative arthritis of the spine and scoliosis. I have tried Capsaicin for over a month now and it doesn't do anything. The first time I put it on I used a very small amount on my shoulder, nothing. The next day I used a large amount on the same spot 3 time per day for a few weeks and still nothing. I was expecting a tingling or burning sensation but there was nothing. I did notice it getting hot when I went in the hot tub but as soon as I was out of the water it stopped. Maybe I just have thick skin but this product wasn't for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
aaw926 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/22/2016
Condition: Nerve Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My neurologist advised me to use this and gave me clear instructions about how to use it and what to expect. I followed his directions and read the clear information in the box....and the stuff works miracles!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mk | 55-64 | Female | Patient
5/29/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The topical analgesic liquid burnt my skin so badly it formed blisters. after 4 days the skin is still discolored and sensitive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
turtle | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/18/2016
Condition: Sprains and Strains
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Wanted relief from stained knee but wound up with what I believe are third degree burns. This is a very dangerous product. AVOID

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
klady1973 | 35-44 | Female | Patient
2/25/2016
Condition: Backache
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It helped for about 3 hours.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chrissie Gr8 | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/13/2015
Condition: Pain associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have suffered for afew years with Fibromyalgia and now lupus.I have 2 discs missing

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dee | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/27/2015
Condition: Pain associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

OTC Capsaicin 0.15% roll on, used on 2 toes for arthritis and heel for planters fascitis. I have not experienced any burning feeling. It eases the pain better than anything I have tried so far.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Thunderlights | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/14/2015
Condition: Pain associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After trying just about every over the counter cream pain relief, a friend suggested that I try this one. It has saved me from a lot of miserable nights. Starting at my spine, down to my hip and all the way to my foot. It aches, throbs and hurts so badly that I can not stand it. I rub it in and it works quickly. Do not get it on tender skin like the stomach because it will burn. However, I use it on my back, hip, thigh, knee, calf and foot. I came online to see where I can buy it. I can't be without it ever again since I have arthritis and had back surgery last year. The pain meds do not help this problem but this cream does. Wash your hands twice with a good soap like Dial and use a brush to get underneath your nails if you have one. Do not touch your eyes or they will burn. If so, use eye drops or eye wash over and over a few times to help with that. If you think it does not work, give it a try of about a week as the label suggest that it be used about 3 times a day and may not work if not used so. I only use it at night and it works for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vera66 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/14/2015
Condition: Sprains and Strains
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

WHAT A DISASTER! Should have tried on a small area but put on my neck for muscle pain. Burned like fire! Called the pharmacist did what she said and is working. 1) wash off with H2O, do not use soap! 2) Get burn jell on it a.s.a.p. (Lidocaine HCL 2.5%), reapply. 3) Put zinc oxide ointment and or A&D ointment. We are at stage 2 but have not used #3. Fire felling went down to a level 6 in 5-10 and redness 80% gone in 30 min. Hope this helps. A WARNING LABEL SHOULD BE ON THE FRONT OF EVERY PRODUCT!!!. Hope this info helps...God bless.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Migdy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/15/2015
Condition: Pain associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried this product and really, really worked for me. Remember to read the 'instructions" before you use it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More