Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

17 People found this comment helpful

I consistently take benadryl before bed each night. It helps not only with my allergies as the seasons change, but also to calm my 'overactive mind' around bedtime. It allows me to sleep for several hours at a time, allowing me to be less suceptable to waking up every hour or so as I do when I sleep without it.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

It was like a roller coaster ride with some attributed anxienty

Shared reviews and ratings

jlynn | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/11/2017
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works almost all of the time the first use. Sometimes I will have to come back later in the day to use again. It does make me drowsy and I've found that driving after taking this medication is not wise, so I would suggest using it in a non-driving situation first to see how you react. The drowsiness can interfere with work and daily activities, but is manageable in my experience. It works better than other medications I've tried that are non-drowsy so I continue to use it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sandi777 | 75 or over | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/17/2016
Condition: Itching
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking the liquid Benedryl for many years as I cannot swallow pills. It has the opposite effect on me. I am always wide awake and alert. It never makes me sleepy. I recently tried the chewable product and I can't decide which one tastes worse. The grape flavor is too strong. I. Wish you could do something about the taste. Besides the gel capsule, do you have a tablet that can be crushed and is not flavored?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/18/2015
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After years of blowing my runny nose for hours after waking up, I started taking Benedryl and feel like a normal person. It also helps me sleep without awakening every hour and a half. I am a small person and only need a half dose at night. It seems to do the trick. Wish I'd tried this sooner!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Aunt_Jenny | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/18/2014
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication works very well as a sleep aide. I have been using it for years. The only side effect I have had is fog in the morning; nothing that another cup of coffee didn't cure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Patient
11/6/2014
Condition: Itching
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I FOUND I HAD REACTION TO TAKING HYDROCODONE/ACETAMINOPHEN AND BECAME ITCHY WITH REDNESS ON MY SKIN. THIS DRUG HELPED A LITTLE FOR ABOUT 3 HOURS THEN THE ITCHINESS CAME BACK. SLEEPING OK THOUGH.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hoopoe | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/15/2014
Condition: Extrapyramidal Reaction
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After trying various other drugs such as Tetrabenazine, Procyclidine, Baclofen, I found this very effective for the control of extrapyramidal tardive dyskinesia at 50mg per day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chucky | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/1/2014
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works extremely well as a sleep aid and general congestion reliever. I'm sleeping 7 pleasant hours instead of 3-4. Downside is I need a ton of coffee to get rid of the fog

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sleepyeyes | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/26/2014
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Helps me fall asleep. Only thing is it takes up to 30 minutes to kick in. I have taken this drug all through my childhood and still take it now. It is safe.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gliterality | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/19/2013
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I consistently take benadryl before bed each night. It helps not only with my allergies as the seasons change, but also to calm my 'overactive mind' around bedtime. It allows me to sleep for several hours at a time, allowing me to be less suceptable to waking up every hour or so as I do when I sleep without it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
1sickpuppy | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/5/2011
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a script for Ambien, it doesn't work for me at all. My Daughter gave me some Trazadone and I take half of one and two Benadryls, and i sleep for 5 1/2 to 6 hours. I have been taking Benadryl for about 7 years, and by (2) its self its good for two to three hrs. sleep. No side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
julie | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month |
6/18/2011
Condition: Life Threatening Allergic Reaction
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my boyfriend got string today and is not feel to good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/21/2011
Condition: Reaction due to an Allergy
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ocadena | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/13/2011
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use the pink tablet which I'm able to break in half. 1/2 hour later I'm sound asleep. Be careful though in trying to skimp and purchasing same as products, ie Waldryl caused my tongue to swell up for 6 hours. Benadryl has worked for me for the past 2 years and no side effects, well except for one good one. I take it before sex, and it helps prolong the pleasure. It desensetizes the senses enough to prevent premature ejaculation. Belive it or not.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sue | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/27/2010
Condition: Itching
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

benadryl stopped the itching, though after taking it i cannot sleep. took 6 pills at intervals and was awake every hour the whole night

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cherylann79 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/17/2010
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this for a week due to SEVERE allergies (nothing else helped!) And I got fast/irregular heartbeats, trouble breathing. So bad I took myself to the Urgent Care and they scripted me Allegra. 1 day w/ no benadryl so far and no more anxiety/hb issues. Allegra is helping w/ the allergies too! Be CAUTIONED if you take this drug. Benadryl always used to help w/allergies and sleep but now it scares the CRAP out of me. I'm only 31 and otherwise healthy so be warned!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/5/2010
Condition: Hives
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hives from bedbug bites. Benadryl stops the itch for about 4 hours per 25mg pill. The stuff is magic. Histamine causes capillaries to be porous enough to leak plasma, but not hemoglobin. This is where swelling comes from. A histamine blocker like Benadryl (or any diphenhydramine hydrochloride) blocks the hystamine receptors and prevents the reaction. It doesn't cure the reason for hives, but makes the itch go away real good. Plus drowsy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
robin Fairchild | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/19/2009
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I self-prescribed benadryl for myself due to serious insomnia. It definitely worked, giving me a very good night's sleep. But the downside is I believe it badly trashed my short-term memory. And I read a report on another website that it was indeed potentially quite harmful in this regard. So regretfully I discontinued the benadryl. But it did work quite well when I used it and I am sorry it has had this effect on my memory. On a side note I was prescribed Lunesta by a sleep clinic doctor. It also worked quite well but had a similar effect on memory. So I had to give that up. And now I take nothing for my insomnia and am usually sleep-deprived during the day.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
joedoe | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/26/2009
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started to take the soft gels for sleep aid, but I use a knife to punch a hole into the sofe gel and squeeze half of the contents into the sink. Take it 30 minutes before going to bed and I sleep through the nite with 6-7 hrs sleep without any effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jess_sayin | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/17/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was having headaches every day and sometimes would wake up with a headache. It felt like a tension headache. I started taking 2 25mg benadryl pills at night. Now, I have slept great through the night and woken up without a headache for almost a week now. I don't take any benadryl during the day. The two pills at night seem to last all day. I feel 100% better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hashoo | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/16/2009
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More