Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

23 People found this comment helpful

I've had RLS since my teenage years. Over the years it has gradually gotten worse. I now get RLS any time of the day. Sometimes it even affects my arms along with the legs. I started with 2mg of Requip per day but have since increased the dosage. I now take 8mg per day generally starting with 1mg at 1:30 to 2 p.m. and continuing to bedtime. Requip will initially cause RLS before relaxing the...

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

I've been taking 1 mg for about two yrs now...and it doesn't seem to work as good...I now feel tired all the time can't sleep...and my joints hurt and are stiff all the time...have had a cough for months...eyes are dry and nose stuffed...don't know if it's all related to the meds or what...but I didn't feel this crappy before...going to start new meds soon...hopefully they will work...other wise I...

Shared reviews and ratings

MelB | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/13/2022
Condition: Extreme Discomfort in Calves when Sitting or Lying Down
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking ropinerole for a few years but over the last year, I would develop severe stomach pain, nausea and sometimes vomiting at night and randomly. I couldn't pinpoint if I was doing something the caused the issue but my stomach pain was so bad I had to stop taking it at all. I was taking only 1mg then went up to 2mg and that's when my stomach pain started. I had a CT scan of my abdomen and nothing shows wrong. Just can't take it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KK | 35-44 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/8/2020
Condition: Extreme Discomfort in Calves when Sitting or Lying Down
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I will not go out unless I have one of these with me because there is no telling when or where my RLS will hit...driving, sitting, work...I take a half pill when I am out and about so it doesn't knock me out. I take one an hour before bedtime so I am not lying in bed squirming in misery before it takes affect. There are no side affects other than drowsiness, and I get up well rested in the morning. This has been a GOD-send for my RLS. The only treatment that has ever worked for it. If you haven't guessed yet, my RLS is severe and affects parts other than the legs...usually my back, shoulders, and arms as well. If you have RLS, this is highly effective for knocking out RLS symptoms.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tddy | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/9/2017
Condition: Extreme Discomfort in Calves when Sitting or Lying Down
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had RLS since a car crash broke my back. Topamax had stopped working for RLS and my doctor gave me Requip. I noticed that my sinus would shut down after taking. I ignored this side effect until the nausea and I was very dizzy. I ended up at the ER with rapid heartbeat, I couldn't move my arms or legs and I had terrible muscle tremors everywhere. I was dehydrated and my kidney was not working correctly. This medicine made my RLS worse and almost killed me. Beware!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/29/2017
Condition: Extreme Discomfort in Calves when Sitting or Lying Down
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had RLS since my twenties before I knew it had a name. Until about six years ago, it was an intermittent condition. Now, I experience RLS daily, mostly in the evening. I take 0.5 mg before supper so it will take effect before sitting down for the evening, then another 0.5 mg at bedtime. Side effects I experience: chest tension and sleepiness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/27/2016
Condition: Extreme Discomfort in Calves when Sitting or Lying Down
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since I began taking I no longer have the extreme leg and ankle cramps.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lisa | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/31/2016
Condition: Extreme Discomfort in Calves when Sitting or Lying Down
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prior to discovering Requip, I almost dreaded going to bed as I knew it was just going to be another painful, restless night. Once a Dr.put me on Requip, my nights changed dramatically! The cramping stopped, the ungodly restlessness stopped and my once illusive sleep returned.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/3/2016
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug is good for the RLS, BUT it very sedating to me... about 2 hrs after take it , out like a light.. but not leg twitches while sleeping... Does job.. Cant take during day..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nucgirl72 | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/1/2016
Condition: Extreme Discomfort in Calves when Sitting or Lying Down
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking 1 mg for about two yrs now...and it doesn't seem to work as good...I now feel tired all the time can't sleep...and my joints hurt and are stiff all the time...have had a cough for months...eyes are dry and nose stuffed...don't know if it's all related to the meds or what...but I didn't feel this crappy before...going to start new meds soon...hopefully they will work...other wise I'm just stopping all and sticking with pain relievers...I'm so tired of being tired...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/11/2015
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was recently diagnosed with rls and parkinson's this did aleveate my rls but after only ltaking it 1 weeki I started breaking out with sores on my vulva, stoped taking it and I cleared up. Just to be sure I started it again. It seems as though it effected my urine to the point it caused irritation on my skin (vulva). I stopped and have not started back. Was only on 2mg, also looked at all side effects and my symptom was not listed as one of them? Asking doc. to rx something else-

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike D | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/22/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Requip is an amazing drug. I started taking it in small amounts a few years ago but as my restless legs syndrome has progressed, so has the amount of Requip my Dr. prescribed. For the past year I've been on the 6 mg extended release (ER), which lasts about 16 hours, and 3 1/2 mg pills at approx. 4-hour intervals from 12:30 PM to 8:30 PM when the slow release starts kicking in (I take it at 6-7 PM). The reason I say it's an amazing drug is that, for me anyway, I found I could adjust (downward) the amount I took and when, to balance restlessness vs. drowsiness, like when I had to drive in the afternoon or evening, for example. Instead of taking the whole 1/2 mg pill, I could take a half pill to calm my legs just enough to be able to drive while not getting too drowsy. Or, if I had a rough night and the ER pill was wearing off before noon, I could take a half pill at, say 11:30 AM and stretch the 1.5 mg total between then and 8:30 PM. I conferred with my Dr. after first doing a little experimenting to learn how my body handled it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Musician | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/21/2015
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 55 and was diagnosed with PD four months ago. I was prescribed Requip, which over a few month's time provided relief from my symptoms (i.e., hand tremor, flopping feet when I walked, and more). However, suddenly I began having bad reactions to the medication and my symptoms worsened 20 to 30 minutes after taking the medication. I became anxious, agitated, jerked involuntarily, couldn't sleep, felt like I couldn't swallow, and more. Initially, I had success from the medication. I am a well-known musician who could no longer play because of my hand tremors. Requip has eliminated the upper extremity tremors, but my head still bobs terribly and I can't tolerate the anxiety and agitation that accompanies the medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kiwi | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/7/2015
Condition: Extreme Discomfort in Calves when Sitting or Lying Down
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My first symptoms of RLS started about 20 years ago after going out for drinks. When in bed I got the first short sessions of pains in the knees which were temporally relieved by moving my legs ("kicking")until the session passed after a minute or two. I started taking 1 mg of Requip three times a day about five years ago without any side effects. Since then I've had to increase the dosage in quarter milligram steps, so that now I'm taking 2mg three time a day. When the dosage had to be increased I would get chest "pain" (it felt like a mix of tension and stress in the chest that I only could ease by raising my back off the bed and tensing my chest muscles.This only gave a short relief) at about 3 in the morning. If I take the pills on time I have no problems with RLS, but if I forget any pill day or night then I will have problems. I may be having a side effect which falling asleep in the early evening I hope so and its not because I'm nearly 60. Best of luck to my fellow suffers :) Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patte | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/31/2014
Condition: Extreme Discomfort in Calves when Sitting or Lying Down
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My restless legs was affecting me any time of the day and night. I could not sit still in business meetings, go out to dinner, go to the movies, or sleep at night. I occasionally had symptoms in my arms, also. I started with small doses of Requip, but now take 4mg time release in the morning and 1 mg before bed. One problem is that in the evening after taking the one mg I sometimes experience a sleep attack. So I can't take this and then drive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gmelt | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/18/2014
Condition: Extreme Discomfort in Calves when Sitting or Lying Down
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had RLS since my teenage years. Over the years it has gradually gotten worse. I now get RLS any time of the day. Sometimes it even affects my arms along with the legs. I started with 2mg of Requip per day but have since increased the dosage. I now take 8mg per day generally starting with 1mg at 1:30 to 2 p.m. and continuing to bedtime. Requip will initially cause RLS before relaxing the legs. The side effects are very low energy, nausea and headaches but without Requip I would get no sleep.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Granny6 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/2/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have restless leg syndrome. It is so bad it woke me during the night. I never slept over 2 hrs. With Requip, I get a whole night's sleep. I pray the day never comes that I have to give up this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Restless in CO | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/21/2014
Condition: Extreme Discomfort in Calves when Sitting or Lying Down
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had RLS for years, and only a pain pill would stop the pain. Saw Neurologist and was given requip. I have had horrible side effects such as all night long flu symptoms so I don't sleep and trouble breathing and choking on acid reflux I never had before. I have missed days of work and dread the night. I still get painful RLS on this drug and all the side effects. I will not take it anymore. Looked up Mirapex and it doesn't sound any better. Can't stand the pain of RLS and can not live with this drug!aRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/17/2014
Condition: Extreme Discomfort in Calves when Sitting or Lying Down
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

does well but have severe diareaa.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
K3rry | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/19/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use this treatment for restless legs syndrome. I has been a life saver for me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ropinirole | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/9/2014
Condition: Extreme Discomfort in Calves when Sitting or Lying Down
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mandi | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/8/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At first the nausea and stomach pain wasn't bad enough to discontinue the drug because it really seemed to help. As time has gone on the symtoms of RLS are getting worse and even effecting me while driving. I feel like the medicine made the problem more unbearable than it was to start with.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More