Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

8 People found this comment helpful

12 years on Combivir with no known negative impact. Just a word to the wise. The drug Reyataz raised my liver enzymes in 3 categories to over 325. This could have destroyed my liver and, at 67 years of age I doubt I would be a likely candidate for a transplant. Doctors are busy and don't remember everything they should. If you are prescribed this drug, insist on a follow up blood draw in 3-4 week...

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

hiv

Shared reviews and ratings

concord2115 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/20/2015
Condition: HIV
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this for a few ears and I stoped making Blood.. had to have 35 Blood trans fusion.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
StillKicking | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/23/2014
Condition: HIV
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

AZT component is exhausting. I've learned to live with the chronic fatigue, but it still frustrates me. Rather stay on something that has kept me kicking for 20 years than switch.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
untrusting rn | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
1/17/2014
Condition: Prevention of HIV Infection after Exposure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed the "protocol" antivirals after used needle stick, pt was hep c+ and known iv drug user, the medications make me sick to my stomach after one dose, I was advised that I did not have to take anymore, several days later, all of my muscles, joints, were so sore, I cold barely lift my arms above shoulders, and walking was painful, not sure if my "employee health" advisors take this seriously, but right now I am concerned if there are any long term effects>

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
worried sister | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
7/6/2013
Condition: Prevention of HIV Infection after Exposure
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

kI have felt dreadful since commencing this treatment. I feel I am moving through heavy fog, and my movements are all in slow motion.My brain is fuzzy and I"m physically exhausted,I have self reduced to once daily at night. I wonder though if the antiemetic I take prior to the main event is aggravating the situation. Anyone have any thoughts on this?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/16/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am actually taking Atripla. I work in the Pharmaceutical industry and Combivir is actually going to be available in it's generic form this year. According to Excellus BlueCross Blueshield Association looks like some time November 2012 or there abouts. This is something you may want to speak with your Doctor about.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
combivir | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/14/2012
Condition: HIV
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/12/2011
Condition: Prevention of HIV Infection after Exposure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

VERY VERY SCK TO MY STOMACH AND CHILLS PAIN IN STOMACH AND CRAMPS

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jen | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/3/2010
Condition: Prevention of HIV Infection after Exposure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After a needle-stick w/used needle, I got prescribed Combivir for prevention of blood borne pathogen's; the benefits seemed clear, the side-effects sound life threatening my experience nausea (helps to eat bread, crakers,pretzels any thing w/startch about every 2 hrs pretty much have to force feed yourself), vomiting, stomach feeling constantly raw very painful, lots of uncomforable BM's. I'm writing this review so others in the Medical field or anybody that helps patients that may be exposed to blood borne pathogen's will practice extreme caution. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TT | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
8/6/2009
Condition: HIV
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sam Darren | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/5/2009
Condition: HIV
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

1-2-2009: This has worked fine for the last 5 previous years. My doctor wants to remove me from it because of potential of lipodistrophy in the face. I have suffered no side effects from using combivir, and am reluctant to part with it. For me, it's a matter of 'The Devil you know versus the Devil you don't".

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
na | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/28/2008
Condition: HIV
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been positive for 13 years and have an undetectable viral load and ove 1k tcells. I take trizivir every morning and every night withour fail.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
paul | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/20/2008
Condition: HIV
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is keeping me alive I know that. I had no side effects from this drug. I have been taking it for 10 years

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
carol | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/14/2008
Condition: HIV
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

hiv

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/21/2008
Condition: HIV
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

12 years on Combivir with no known negative impact. Just a word to the wise. The drug Reyataz raised my liver enzymes in 3 categories to over 325. This could have destroyed my liver and, at 67 years of age I doubt I would be a likely candidate for a transplant. Doctors are busy and don't remember everything they should. If you are prescribed this drug, insist on a follow up blood draw in 3-4 weeks. Be proactive in your own health. Good Luck!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/20/2007
Condition: HIV
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on combivir for 5 years and have not had a single bad experience with it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More