Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

43 People found this comment helpful

I was prescribed Nasonex for chronic nasal congestion and it worked, really well. I had been on it for about 10 years (2x daily) when I started having digestive problems, severe heartburn and stomach pains. For over a year I went to many specialists and no one could figure out the cause, especially since I had never experienced these symptoms before. Finally, I went to a naturopath who suggeste...

Most voted negative review

29 People found this comment helpful

My prescription plan refused to give me flonase and subsituted nasonex. I looked at box and it was manufactured in Singapore China and I am sorry but I am afraid to inhale anything that is made in China.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/22/2020
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using nasonex for two weeks, and it has cleared my nose minimally. I still have pressure in my head, just less blockage specifically in my nose. I would NOT RECOMMEND this product as it has given me feelings of anxiousness, and I have been unable to sleep for almost a week. At first, I thought my lifestyle was causing my anxiety and insomnia, but I am now realizing that it has ONLY started with usage of this drug. A horrible experience. Obviously Nasonex has not sufficiently monitored for side effects even though it has been on the market for years. I have never had issues with anxiety, and I cannot relay how devastating it is on my general health. I would much prefer a stuffy nose!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kathleenz | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/1/2019
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been on Nasonex for years for both my allergies and my asthma. But I did have pain when swallowing, dry mouth, nose pain, nausea, coughing headaches, a severe post nasal drip, etc. but this past year the coughing and nausea got so bad I started vomiting which sometimes triggered asthma attacks or caused me to throw up all my nighttime or morning medications I had just taken! I talked to one of my doctors who suggested switching to Azelastine HCL nasal spray instead. He said the post nasal drip was most likely causing several of the symptoms, like coughing, nausea, It doesnâ??t have steroids. I saw my PCP and switched on 8/1/19 starting with 2 sprays in each nostril once daily. I started noticing a difference with a couple weeks. I was coughing less and less nauseous etc. I went back and had it increased to 2 sprays in each nostril 2x daily on 8/19/19. Within another 2 weeks I felt so much better. Most of my symptoms have disappeared. I still have some dry mouth. But I am on other meds too. The Nasonex made me jumpy and the steroids arenâ??t good for you on a long term basis. Iâ??m so happy my doctor discontinued it and put me on Azelastine! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
miniwen | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/21/2019
Condition: Allergic Rhinitis Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor prescribed this as an off brand Flonase. I donâ??t understand why it doesnâ??t cover the same symptoms the side effects were worse. I use this medicine for one month had severe indigestion left side pains stomach aches headaches and the worst of all it states itâ??s an asthma preventive in the middle of the night it would give me severe nightmares which would wake me up with anxiety attacks and asthma attacks nightly.I Have never had them before In the middle of the night or to this extent. I have stopped using this med. itâ??s been two weeks hopefully the side effects go away soon!!!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Erica Llyn | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/21/2019
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At my last visit to the allergist I requested something to use that I could pay with FSA funds. Flonase gave me nosebleeds but Nasacort (OTC) was working well. I waited until I was running low on Nasacort before filling this script to use. I didn't read the prescription - it was a long generic name - but I wish I had...because I would have looked before I leaped. In 5 days time my GI track has been very sluggish and bloated, not a normal problem for me. I was bloated, not hungry (still not hungry) and nauseated. Ok, fine, whatever. I had a problem like that about a year ago. Easy fix. I'd gotten an ear infection the week prior so figured the earache was due to that resurfacing - didn't think of nasal spray. Then, yesterday, I had a brief dizzy spell (I've got an excuse for that one) ... still nothing connecting. Today I've had 3 "brief" dizzy spells and started considering ENT or Neuro. I look up all of my medications eventually. I did look this one up last night - dizziness itself isn't a listed side effect ... but everything else was ... so I searched dizziness specifically - and here I am, with everyone else, having dizzy spells, nauseated, bloated, earache from maybe the infection maybe not... This was the only recent change in anything I'm ingesting. Saving the extra 3-4 dollars a month is NOT worth it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AE | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/18/2019
Condition: Allergic Rhinitis Prevention
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this spray for 2 weeks (I used Avamys before this which was causing me headaches as well and started Nasonex as it will be better) and started to have headaches and chest pain that was reflected on my left arm sometimes at the back. I stopped it once I read the reviews and I feel much better now but every now and then small pains coming back on both my headache and chest but not as much as before. Does anyone know when will the side effect start disappearing completely? Never experience this before. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DFE | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/20/2018
Condition: Non-Seasonal Allergic Runny Nose
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

While it did help with my constant hayfever problem, unfortunately I appear to have most of the unwanted side affects too - total loss of smell and taste, headaches, red eyes, dry mouth/throat, upset tummy, diahrrea, dreadful joint swelling and pain and other symptoms I'm not sure are related to Nasonex or coincidental. Either way, I would much rather a sneezy runny nose 24/7 than these side effects! My life is hell because of this stuff. I wish I'd never used it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Worser | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/17/2018
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 3 months of use for infected sinus, I got sores in my nose, thirsty all the time, tired sleeping 9 hours or more, dry mouth, and now I have a sinus headache...ALL BECAUSE OF THIS MEDICATION. THINGS GOT WORSE NOT BETTER.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wayne Moore | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
12/26/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Nasonex claims it is better than antihistamine. A lie. It has done nothing for me over the past three years. I am going to report their claim to Trade Practices Act as it is downright misleading advertising. Polaromine works. Nasonex doesn't. Forget it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tetix | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/5/2016
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It did not help me much in the first season of using it. I was not religious about spraying it twice a day though. During 2nd and 3rd years of using my constant nasal congestion and fatigue was gone. However, I had rashes developing around that time last 2 years which I never connected to this spray, and I am still not sure whether it is a side effect as it's listed as "not so common". It starts with itching at the elbows and spreads. I ended up on a drug for the skin condition last year to clear it. This season I started a new spray, and sure enough, the rash came right back so I stopped for now. Curious whether anyone else saw same.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/18/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My allergies over a year created major problems. Stuffed nose, constant draining of ears, infection in eye, puncher in ear drum. As soon as the drum was sealed, I started using Nasonex. I have used the product for 4 years. I do not use it everyday. Only when the allergies hit. The product dries up the draining and clears the head,, It opens all the passage ways. I don't have any bad reactions I believe, because I do not use it everyday.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jackygleason | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/18/2015
Condition: Non-Seasonal Allergic Runny Nose
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had to stop using after 4 days as I woke up on the 5th day and had complete blurred vision. I could not read any street signs and I have perfect vision. I had driven the night before and in the morning could not see. Scary. Will never use again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/12/2015
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this product for a few months and see no improvement. In addition: IT IS MADE IN CHINA (SINGAPORE)!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Naso Fan | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/22/2015
Condition: Chronic Inflammation of the Nose Not due to Allergies
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Suffered from sinusitis, chronic infections and general inability to breath comfortably through my nose. Nasonex gave me back my life; my sanity. BUT...it is a CRIME how much this medication costs in the United States. Go abroad, $17. Same thing. Please.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LUIS A. RAMOS | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/27/2014
Condition: Allergic Rhinitis Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

MY A1C LEVELS KEEP GOING UP SORE THROAT CHANGES ON MY BLOOD PRESURE

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sick of side effects55 | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/23/2014
Condition: Chronic Inflammation of the Nose Not due to Allergies
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began using Nasonex on the advice of my ENT after a severe sinus infection. The first side effect came in the form of a HORRIBLE migraine headache almost immediately after the first dose. Nothing worked on it - not even Imitrex. I avoided Nasonex for the next day or two and then tried it again. This time the headache wasn't as bad so I coninued using Nasonex. It was then that the terrible insomnia, racing heart beat and stomach problems (stomach pain, cramps, heartburn, diarrhea and gas)started. I had just finished a course of strong antobiotics for the sinus infection and thought they were the cause of the gastro problems but, after a few more days on Nasonex, it became clear that the nasal spray was causing my GI issues. I called my ENT to report the side efects I was experiencing and was told that there was "No Way" that Nasonex could affect my stomach since it "only stays in your nasal passages and doesn't enter the bloodstream"(something BOTH my Gastoentrologist and pharmacist dispute, BTW) He told me continue the Nasonex and not to worry. (easy for him to say) After looking up the side effects of Nasonex, it turns out that gastro problems are, indeed, listed as possible side effects of the spray. (so much for it NOT getting into your bloodstream) I have since stopped Nasonex against the advice of my ENT and am hoping that the side effects will start to abate as the drug clears my system (unfortunately, it seems that I'm in for a wait as Nasonex has a reeeeaaallly long half life.) I will NEVER take another nasal steroid as long as I live. Despite what my ENT says, research has proven that they DO enter the bloodstream and cause tons of side effects in many systems of the body. From now on, I'll stick to Saline Nasal Spray. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nonasonex | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/21/2014
Condition: Allergic Rhinitis Prevention
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Nasonex for chronic nasal congestion and it worked, really well. I had been on it for about 10 years (2x daily) when I started having digestive problems, severe heartburn and stomach pains. For over a year I went to many specialists and no one could figure out the cause, especially since I had never experienced these symptoms before. Finally, I went to a naturopath who suggested I stop taking the nasonex. I did and I've now been off of it for almost 2 months and I'm getting a lot better, but still not back to normal. My naturopath thinks it will be close to a year before my digestive system gets back to normal. I still cannot sleep laying down. It has been extremely frustrating, but I am so greatful to have found the cause. I wanted to share my experience in case anyone else is experiencing the same thing.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
non 75 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/25/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

using nasonex for two weeks not any significant change so going back to doctor

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lisa | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/18/2014
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I hated the feeling I had while on this medication. Though, it dear clear my nose I got a horrible headache and heart racing. Nose felt too dry up into my head. Never using again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CookieNE1 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/18/2014
Condition: Allergic Rhinitis Prevention
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This does a great job at suppressing the hideous headaches I get during allergy season. Major side affect - insomnia. I already have chronic insomnia, now that is worse. Have had horrible insomnia for a week now, with last night being the worst. Woke up every 1-2 hours. Taking the Nasonex is the only thing different, made the connection that it has to be this spray. Reading some of the other reviews, think I've had some of those side affects as well. I'd rather suffer the headaches than suffer with severe insomnia.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nina-Marie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/1/2014
Condition: Allergic Rhinitis Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug literally changed my life. Before I started taking it, I had 2-3 sinus infections/yr - I was always tired - always had sinus pressure. A couple of times it progressed to pneumonia. Now - I haven't been sick in 2 yrs. I have an occasional nose bleed but then I just make sure I'm getting enough moisture in the air and it stops. I use it year round,

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More