Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

44 People found this comment helpful

had arthroscopic surgery 18 months ago,and found the pain symptoms retd, had 3 injections of synvisc in oct and can walk 3kms at a time again without any pain pills.

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

afraid to use as allergy to feathers.

Shared reviews and ratings

Sue | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/16/2020
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

5 weeks ago my doc injected my left knee. I’ve had no relief at all and in fact have been experiencing overall body aches for the last 2 weeks. Feels like the flu. No fever; continued swelling of the knee and areas above and below the knee. So frustrated and disappointed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lanse | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/4/2019
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

74 yr m. Single injection 12-18, 5 months ago. Thought slight improvement after about week, not sure, pain while walking been increasing ever since. Hoping will get back to where was after has been eliminated by time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/29/2018
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ciuld barely walk due to the pain. Had my series of shots and was terrified at thought of shots in my knees. Dr used a cold spray, felt no pain from shots. After a few weeks following injections, I am able to walk without intense pain. Getting up after long sit, still painful but no longer bring me to tears. Looking forward to my next series of shots.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Miss Ery | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/21/2018
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I received injections in both knees 3 times, once per week, May 2018. Had PT for my knees during & after the shots. One month after last shots, started to have leg & foot swelling. Therapist advised seeing my doctor--may have a blood clot(s). It is now over 4 months since the shots, and I have had increased pain and edema ever since. I have had medical tests, doctor visits, and most recently, consultation with a vascular surgeon. I have three brand-new diagnoses since receiving the shots: gout, chronic venous insufficiency, and lymphedema. I am awaiting my first appointment with a lymphedema therapist. This is a condition that cannot be cured. The pain and decreased mobility I have after the shots keeps me housebound a lot of each week. The arthritis pain in my knees is worse than it was before the shots. I have insomnia several nights each week because of the pain that Celebrex and acetaminophen cannot relieve. I am a 63 yr. old grandmother who no longer can do activities with my grandchildren. I can no longer bear shopping in a store because of the pain and stiffness. Read about the component of Synvisc: hyaluronic acid. It is a substance that retains and attracts fluid. In the past months, I have read that if your leg vein circulation isn't great, you should not have the gel injections. I am living proof of this.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/28/2017
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The next morning after receiving the injection, the area around my knee was extremely swollen and painful. I have now had it drained twice and it is swollen again. Pressure from swelling is intense. Difficult to walk.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Moviegirll201 | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/1/2017
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got my first shot and 2 days later my lower back started to hurt and I could not stand or walk around for very long l had to sit down because that made my back feel better. Was supposed to get second shot today but decided to wait and see if my back gets better. I did nothing to cause the back pain and I looked up the side effects and lower back sprain is one, not sure how that happens but my back sure hurts. Anyone else have this problem or am I special?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/14/2016
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 53 woman my first shots is normal but second is very bed next day my knee gets swollen and I can not Abel to walk and all night pain is there

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mykneehurts | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/20/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have patella tracking disorder and just a little bit of osteoarthritis. I did my injections as 1 whole injection (not the 3). I was told it should last from 6 months to 1 year. The first one lasted me from December to April which is not a great amount of time. I will be getting a second one in 2 days and if this one doesn't help longer then I will opt for surgery.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nwall | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/11/2016
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been receiving these shots for more than. 3 yrs with the last one being yesterday. With the exception on the one yesterday, I can say I have had very little side effects and the injection is good for around 6 mos. The injection I received yesterday has been causing severe pain to point I can not walk and the RT knee is severely swollen. Icing it regularly and ibuprofen not helping.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/13/2016
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For the first 2 years of injections, I was pain free. Now I had another one and I have never been in so much pain in my life! I should've been in the hospital because I couldn't take care of myself. I couldn't walk without a walker and then it was still so painful I just cried and moaned. Painkiller didn't help, couldn't sleep, so much pain. Dr said after several injections this can happen. A severe reaction! Took prednisone and that helped with some of the swelling. I can never take this injection again, nor do I want to. I had a full week of pure hell. He then gave me cortisone, not sure what will happen when that wears off. I'm nervous to say the least.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/29/2015
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had my third Synvis shot on Nov 16 2015. My life is been a horrible ever since I have severe muscle cramps severe pain behind my knee sciatic nerve pain severe headaches and overall I have to say this is been a nightmare . My first shot was in early October then I waited four weeks my second shot was around November 1 and the last shot November 16 the pain I have now has pworsen after my surgery it just is been absolutely horrible I was negligent in reviewing the other patients treatment and their effects that they had so it's my own fault but still I think the doctor should've warned me that there were other side effects . I have sleepless nights from waking up from the pain it's like a sciatic pain that goes up into my from my knee to my ankle is numbing tingling and all kinds of problems that I never thought would occur . The Strug should be outlawed because it is just terrible I was a functional person able to do exercise writing a bike 4 -5 miles a day and now I can barely get out of bed in the morning . Well I can say is beware the doctors don't tell you the truth and the form that they give you the information about Synvis is a lie. So what do I do now find a way to get this stuff out of my body because of the side effects are's are just terrible . Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dissappointed in Synvisc | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/22/2015
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had Synvisc injection in both knees, went home and iced my knees for 48 hours and was also careful to have minimum use for 48 hours. The shots did not help, my knees are more sore than before the injections and I have also had increasing muscle pain in my thigh, especially the back of my left thigh which had a large bruise after the shot. I feel that the doctor missed my joint and injected it in the surrounding muscle instead, that was 2 1/2 weeks ago. I will not get Synvisc injections again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/27/2015
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First series of injections 4+ years ago in both knees. Not 100% completely pain free, but significantly better than before injections. STill have some relief in right knee. Left knee relief lasted until about 6 months or so ago Started new series in left knee today, due to increased pain and decreased function from severe arthritis.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wirebug | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/26/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been getting cortisone shots for two years and they did not work well any longer. Got the Synvisc one injections and immediately my knees felt like there was something there that shouldn't be..Was told that the medicine had to redistribute through the joint..Did not get any better and the pain and feeling of fullness got worse. It took about 6 months for the fullness feeling to go away and now my knees are worse than they were before the injections. My Dr. Says now the only alternative is knee replacement.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bluelove | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/30/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I received synvisc injection yesterday. The injection was not that bad. I feel a lot of pressure and pain,not much relief yet. I'm hoping the injection warms for me,I have 2 more to go.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/15/2014
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm sure I would have already been on my way to knee surgery #7 if not for these injections. The first round lasted 9 months and I just finished my second round. I'm more than happy to get these injections in leiu of having another knee surgery right now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RoyD | 65-74 | Male | Patient
8/4/2014
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first two injections were one week apart, I had little or no discomfort and it seemed to be helping relieve my knee pain. When I received my third and final injection, 24 hours later my knee swelled up to the size of a grapefruit and I could not stand or bend it. I immediately went to the doctor who gave me the injections. He drained over 16oz's of fluid from my knee. After it was drained, I was able to walk again without crutches. For 3 days, I stayed off my feet and applied ice to the knee. On the 4th day, the swelling finally went down and my knee returned to a normal size and the pain had gone. I called Sanofi the company that makes Synvisc and informed them of what I experienced. They said this does happen and they do not know why! I asked if I needed to have Synvisc in the future, would I experience this again, the answer was "most likely". Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bea | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/25/2014
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got the Synvisc inj 4 days ago .I was expecting to get relief like I did with the Cortisone inj ,when they were first helped me.As of yet it hasnt helped .I am patiently waiting and will let you know if I feel any difference.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Topkick642 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/23/2014
Condition: Osteoarthritis of the Knee
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had two of the three injections of Synvisc. My pain level has decreased at least 30% since my first injection. I have more mobility in my knee now than before I started the program. Next week I get my final injection, I am confident I will be pain free by then!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cboscampp | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/22/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My knee feels swollen, the day after 3rd injection, my right foot started to hurt, foot is swollen very painfull, had an X-ray last Thursday, today is Sunday dr didn't call with the results of X-ray of foot, my knee hurts, not as much as my foot. I don't know if it is related to the synvisic or not! Also my urine is green

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More