Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

33 People found this comment helpful

I have only been on this medication for three days but have NEVER been able to take NSAIDS because of chronic gastritis. This medicine has relieved my pain in my knees and my neck and has not upset my stomach at all so far. Hope it continues to work this well.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

I've been on NSAIDS for 38 years, have had bleeding ulcers off and on with them all. Have taken stomach meds to offset the NSAIDs with success. Went on Arthrotec for 2 weeks, has really helped the overall joint and back pain however the bloating, lower abdominal cramps, loose stools and pain in the kidney region are becomeing intolerable. Going back to my MD to see what we can try next. I can't s...

Shared reviews and ratings

Stefany | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/7/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've asked for this medication because I sprained my knee in 2 places, while I also have arthritis. I know I am taking WELL OVER the limit of Advil, a dangerous limit, so I thought this could be better. It isn't a cure all. I tend to still take an Advil at night, especially because I also have restless legs... but I can take one of these instead of 6 Advil, and don't have any side effects yet. I appreciate this alternative.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marc | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/12/2016
Condition: Osteoarthritis and High Risk of Developing Gastric Ulcers
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on this drug for 17 years,the first 15yrs it was a 75 mg. dose it is no longer available, last 2 yrs 50 mg . Arthritic pain was so bad before I started taking it is was unable to walk most days.this drug has been a life changer for me and no side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ann | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/5/2016
Condition: Osteoarthritis and High Risk of Developing Gastric Ulcers
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was waiting for hip replacements and Dr. prescribed Aethrotec 50 to help in interim. Nothing else touched the pain, this has been a miracle for me. I've scrapped the idea of surgery and am living again. A little hard on the stomach and bowels, but worth it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Larry | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/2/2015
Condition: Osteoarthritis and High Risk of Developing Gastric Ulcers
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking this for 22 yrs. Had heart attack in June 15, they immediately stopped this med saying it could have caused my HA. Stayed off for 17 days, in that 17 days I needed pain meds to offset the absence of this med. Took 65 Vicadins in that 17 days and still was in terrible pain, could not walk, stand up unassisted not to mention a normal life. Was told over and over this med would kill me. So be it because without it I had no life at all. There is no substitute for it I went back on at 1/2 dose and now I got a life again. Whats worth living to 90 if your a zombie zoned out on pain meds. I have a full life , travel, do anything I want, sex, drive, walk have fun. They always don't have the right answer and a blanket answer to arthritic meds is not right either. Everything in moderation even medication. Not a pain pill in 3 months and only one arthrutec a day. Balance the risk. Oh yeah one doctor gave me a scrip for 100 vicodens with 5 refills, talk about zombies !Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
viv | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/29/2015
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis and High Risk of Developing Gastric Ulcers
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

have been out of pain with this drug, first time for years, need a replacement knee eventually but would prefer to keep my original one while this drug is so effective and I can do walking for miles which I could never do before, have no side effects whatsoever, been on it for 6-8 months long may it continue

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/1/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking this off and on for 2 months and pretty well every time I have post menopausal bleeding. Drs don't think this is the issue but I have been keeping track and it appears it is. Anyone else? M 63 years old and have psoriatic arthritis. Arthrotec really helps other than the above issue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sgtsdad | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/7/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Due to rotator cuff problems - I took this drug (back around Aug 2008). Within days of using it I golfed 1 under par and par in the same week (never did that before) because I was pain free! My should got better and I stopped using it. I did notice some stomach irritation/hungry symptoms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
arthotec | 45-54 | Female | Patient
1/5/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Christmas Night I slipped in the bathroom and smashed my tailbone, nothing worked to relieve the pain , this is a wonder drug

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rob | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/26/2014
Condition: Osteoarthritis and High Risk of Developing Gastric Ulcers
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking the medication for 4 days. Previously used ibuprofen for arthritis pain in hands, shoulders, and back. Dr perscribed Arthrotec 50 as an alternate medication. It has worked well...no pain in hands, bsck,etc. Can sleep through the night now. Hope it continues!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/22/2014
Condition: Osteoarthritis and High Risk of Developing Gastric Ulcers
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/28/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

AFTER SEVEREL MONTHS OF SCYATIC PAIN TOOK ARTHROTEC 3-4 DAYS WORKED VERY WELL,STOPED TAKING AFTER..WORKED GOOD ON TOOTHACHE

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lazyleocat | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/30/2014
Condition: Rheumatic Disease causing Pain & Stiffness in Backbone
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

none

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Georgiegirl | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/4/2014
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis and High Risk of Developing Gastric Ulcers
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am able to once again enjoy dinner out, a movie and doing my own shopping. All things my knee pain kept me from doing for months. Even just walking in house was very painful. It also greatly helps control the swelling.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marilyn | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/8/2014
Condition: Osteoarthritis and High Risk of Developing Gastric Ulcers
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I found that using it after my hip replacement surgery only prolonged my swelling in my afflicted leg. Because it contains sodium I wouldn't recommend it after surgery unless you don't have any problems with swelling

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/12/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking for migraines, works great for me. I still get the aura but no pain after

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Castle girl | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/9/2013
Condition: Osteoarthritis and High Risk of Developing Gastric Ulcers
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took naproxen for years and always had some pain, sometimes a lot and after 3 days on Arthrotec 50 mg. I have no pain what so ever!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jane | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more |
9/16/2013
Condition: Osteoarthritis and High Risk of Developing Gastric Ulcers
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

About 15 years ago I limped into my doctor's office with osteoarthritis. He started me on arthrotec. The relief was almost immediate. I was forced to stop taking it for a couple of months and my pains came back big time. I even had an MRI recently to see if I had a rotator cuff problem. Back on it and all is well. It has given me such relief! Yes, I have IBS and this may make it a little worse, but it is better than pain! Thanks Arthrotec!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pam4given | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/4/2013
Condition: Osteoarthritis and High Risk of Developing Gastric Ulcers
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Nothing seemed to work after taking over the counter NSAIDS and having shots to my knee. On it for a year now keep trying to get off it but the pain becomes debilitating. One pill a day does fine and sometimes I skip a day but the pain starts to build up without it. Small amount of abdominal discomfort noted but worry about bleeding. MD says its safe at the dose I'm taking. Its worth it to be out of pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kathier | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/19/2013
Condition: Osteoarthritis and High Risk of Developing Gastric Ulcers
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have osteoarthritis in my knee. I was not at high risk of developing ulcers but this medication worked immediately to relieve my pain. I had tried other drugs like celebrex but they did not relieve my pain. I was on 2 pills a day at one point but now take only 1 50 mg pill a day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Aciegray | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/10/2013
Condition: Osteoarthritis and High Risk of Developing Gastric Ulcers
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My right hip is very worn out I was in great pain when my family physician prescribed Arthrotec 50 3 days later (for the first time in 40 years) I was out of pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More