Show ratings & reviews for

2.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

12 People found this comment helpful

My 10 month old was prescribed this med for an ear infection after a horrible reaction to Omnicef (cefdnir). She has had zero reactions, complications, or side effects from this drug. Because it is taken twice a day the chance for upset stomach is unlikely.

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

My son is 4 and has a history of ear infections and pneumonia. After being on amoxicillin multiple times, he finally had an allergic reaction (red ring of hives around neck) after being on a strong dose for pneumonia for 7 days. After that he tolerated omnicef pretty well and has been on it several times. This week he came down with an ear infection, and the urgent care dr. prescribed cefaprozil. ...

Shared reviews and ratings

m mmmmm | 7-12 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more |
6/1/2020
Condition: Middle Ear Infection
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

fffffvascsdfsdfs

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dddd | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
6/1/2020
Condition: Chronic Bronchitis caused by Haemophilus Influenzae
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ddjddjdjdj

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
samuelo | 3-6 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/1/2020
Condition: Bronchitis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very Nice sam

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/6/2019
Condition: Acute Infection of the Nose, Throat or Sinus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Side effects are similar to cholera. Avoid at all costs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Aimee | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
1/19/2019
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is a horrible medication for my 14 year old daughter. Prescribed for a sinus infection after a round of 10 days on amoxicillin didn’t work, she is in excruciating stomach pain, vomiting, nausea, chest pain, sore throat, and cough. She tested negative twice for the flu and strep. The doctor decided she’s having reactions from cefprozil. We’ve been back to urgent care where they said the cefprozil has caused gastroenteritis and told her to take Pepcid. Nothing is helping with the pain and vomiting and now contemplating on going to the ER. Think twice before giving this medicine to your child. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
the boy | 13-18 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/9/2017
Condition: Skin Infection due to Streptococcus Pyogenes Bacteria
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cleared up my infection but I had HORRIBLE halitosis that lasted a few days after my final dose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Whatever | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/6/2016
Condition: Acute Infection of the Nose, Throat or Sinus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on penicillin for really bad strep throat, after 3 days condition was same. Doctor prescribed cefprozil, after 3 days, I feel much better. I've turned the corner.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ronh | 0-2 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
1/31/2015
Condition: Middle Ear Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cefprozil is a punishment for both of my babies. A foul, sickening, disgusting, taste and smell. It is so bad that that they both react with violent twists and turns while screaming to avoid it. And these are both babies that quite willingly accept most oral /liquid medicines. With a world of natural flavours available, the Ranbaxy chemists chose something completely unnatural. It gets spit out and sprayed everywhere, and that defeats its purpose entirely. Why should I punish them for being sick? I have to return it to the pharmacy and get a substitute or see another doctor to get a different prescription. Either way this vile substance will not come with me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jwilliamson30 | 7-12 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/12/2014
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son was 9 when he took this , Not the Oral tho, and it cleared all his nasal passages up and he finally could breathe, Never know how good it felt to hear that.Ne never had the so called rash everyone else got , dont know if it was cause he was older and able to take the strenght of the pill.... But It worked for us.... put it wasnt a prolonged usage..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maillady32 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/7/2014
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get sinus infections a lot, but had never been prescribed this antibiotic before, so I was a little skeptical. My doctor prescribed this antibiotic to me for a sinus infection & bronchitis. I was told to take twice/day. The taste was really good & I literally felt better after 2 days (but I continued to take it for the full 10 days per my doctor). I'm a 35 year old female that can't swallow pills, so the taste was great compared to some meds I've had to take. It was kinda thick after storing it in the fridge & it was really sweet. I didn't have any side effects the entire time & I was very pleased with this antibiotic. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
4/27/2014
Condition: Severe Sinusitis caused by Moraxella Catarrhalis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 5 yr. old grand-daughter was prescribed this med for severe sinus infection. 3 days into the script, she has developed a fever and is breaking out in a rash. We are heading to ER tonight if fever continues. Not sure if med is causing any of this, but sinuses are much better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | Caregiver
1/10/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is horrible. My three years old son was taking and the next morning he woke up with this massive rash. Now I stopped giving him the medication but I don't even know what how to treat the rash. It is bad especially to kids cause I have read many reviews and so far the majority of kids developed rashes or some sort of side effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
2980 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/23/2013
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When amoxicillin could not clear up a nasty sinus infection cefprozil did. That said a ten day prescription was not long enough to completely clear up the sinus abscess which came back.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
artsygal | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/23/2012
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This stuff is horrible for your body. Especially for young children. I couldn't breath after taking it and it caused asthmatic effects. I then had a chronic cough. Read what is in this. Natural remedies or medicine eventually cleared up what was thought as an infection but turned out to be severe allergies that the CDC reported as an epidemic because of all the warm weather. Any medicine can be toxic to children, especially when I see a doctor kept making things stronger and then prescribing more medicine. They were all interacting with each other instead of getting to the root of the problem. Read about PKU too! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gretchygirl32 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/26/2011
Condition: Middle Ear Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son is 4 and has a history of ear infections and pneumonia. After being on amoxicillin multiple times, he finally had an allergic reaction (red ring of hives around neck) after being on a strong dose for pneumonia for 7 days. After that he tolerated omnicef pretty well and has been on it several times. This week he came down with an ear infection, and the urgent care dr. prescribed cefaprozil. Right from the start my son was more aggressive and just not himself. He ran a fever for a couple of days despite not having one when the ear infection was detected (maybe picked up a virus at the office). Anyway, he was just not himself-wild, more aggressive, not as happy. So, my mom took him to our family dr. after a few days. She said the ears were healing so to just finish out the antibiotic. 2 days later (on the 8th day), his torso and legs are broken out in a rash. It looks like it might be on his scalp as well. I'm hoping Benadryl takes care of it until I can call the dr. in the morning. All in all, this drug has had alot of unpleasant side effects. It may have done ok with the infection, but it has caused my son to now be allergic to another family of antibiotics that he normally tolerates well. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 0-2 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
4/19/2011
Condition: Middle Ear Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My two and a half year old was prescribed this medicine and it was horrible. I couldn't get him to take the 1/2 tsp he was prescribed. I thought he was being dramatic until I tasted it and to be honest, I wouldn't drink this if I was dying. The taste is HORRIBLE!! And he is too young to take pills so back to the Dr. we go!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sweetcheeks | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/7/2010
Condition: Acute Infection of the Nose, Throat or Sinus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started to take this medication 500mg, on Friday, November 4th, late evening and by the middle of the night, I was scratching several parts of my body. I had only taken 2 pills and my rash is all over my body. I am now on Benedryl to calm the itching and have stopped taking them as suggested by a 24 hour pharmacist. I have to now start a new course of anitbiotics. Too early to say if it even made a difference on my chest infection. Now I am allergic to this class of drugs! Itching unbearable. Drink lots of fluids and put unscented cream all over body to sooth one's itching!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/28/2010
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not bad, It's very drying to my sinuses.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/6/2010
Condition: Middle Ear Infection
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug seems to have helped my ear infection but I have broken out into a terrible rash from my toes to my neck (so far). It's really bad :(

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cefprozil | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/19/2010
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More