Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

18 People found this comment helpful

I have been on this medication for over two years. It has kept me from getting any more UTI, however I have had a persistent Cough and fast heart beat for 15 months, I have been sent to 8 doctors, all treated me for either asthma, or Acid Reflux. Till I read the drug Store instructions. Here all those symptons show up, including the cough and fast heart beat. I hope my doctor has another way to pr...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

I almost died from using this med. I was hospitalized for two weeks with what the drs. thought was COPD since I was having breathing problems. No cough just couldn't breathe. Went to Urologist who had prescribed this a few months before and he immediately switched the medication. Within a week my breathing problems began easing up and I didn't have to use inhalation therapies. This was a pretty s...

Shared reviews and ratings

Bab | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/2/2021
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I only took one dose and thought I was going to die. I woke up to go to the bathroom and could not see clearly or walk steady. I had to feel my way to the bathroom. I called the Doctor the next morning and explained that I was afraid to take another dose. I will never take this medication again ever!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
8/23/2020
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This prescription was given me for a UTI (I don"t know which kind)at100 MG twice daily for total of 5 days star 7/2pm end 7/7/2020am and there has been no relief, in fact I am experiencing head and backache tiredness can't stand/walk

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Blueskygal | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/4/2020
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had to stop taking this medication. I felt awful for about 3-5 days from the UTI. I was surprised at how hard it hit me. I am also in treatment for cancer using venclexta. On the 2nd to last dose I threw up after about 15 minutes of taking it. I felt sick with chills though no fever. The next day I still felt nauseous and like I had a flu (I didn't) so I decided not to take the last dose or my cancer med that day for fear I would get sick as a dog again. I've had better antibiotics than this one. I did have chills and nausea the whole time as the side effects mentioned. Can't wait til it's out of my system. I think I am done with the UTI - tomorrow will tell the story. The last 3 times i've taken an antibiotic I haven't reacted well. My system must have changed after having the cancer.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kiki | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/8/2019
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After reading all the horrible reviews I was terrified when my doctor prescribed it. I reluctantly began taking it and was amazed to discover no side effects except for a bit of diarrhea at the end of treatment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Emily | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/29/2018
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken other uti meds in the past and they treated my uti while leaving me feeling fine. This medicine took about 24 hours to start working on my pain level and it makes me very dizzy at intervals throughout the day. Also, I am directed to take it 4 times a day with food. It is hard to follow that in regular intervals.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
/Nitrofurantoin 50 mg. | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/6/2018
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have found after taking this medicine for several years, without it I go into a UTI. I loose my strength in my legs and ability to walk as well, slow to function as fatigue. With the medication, I don't have a UTI and function as I should. While taking an medication is annoying, it eliminates the UTI and I go on with my day n life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ruw010 | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/4/2018
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took two doses of the 100 mg. capsule. I had to leave work because I felt so awful. Aching joints, muscle pain, a fever, headache, fatigue and chest pain. Felt like having the flu. Thanks to this site I realized it was the medication. Took 24 hours just to get to OK, missed another day of work. Still have the headache. Never overlook feeling awful after starting a new medication!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
paul | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/25/2017
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

With sun exposure I developed a serious skin rash, which resulted in prolonged care by a Dermatologist

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dmac | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/13/2015
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Chills, fever, body aches, tightening in my chest, cough, throat tightening after 3 hours of taking this drug. Never take this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
babyblu67 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
2/2/2015
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 16 yr old daughter was on this medicine for 1 week on her last day of treatment she developed a severe allergic reaction, had to be rushed to er, so for something that has worked in the past for her is now a danger

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jessamine | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/17/2014
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication twice for UTI and had the same experience both times - fever of 103+, shaking chills and severe nausea. The first time I had taken the med for three days before the side effects so I didn't blame the med, just thought it hadn't controlled the infection and the doctor game me a different antibiotic. Two years later I received the same med and this time the reaction happened after the third dose so it became obvious what was causing it. Both times the urinary urgency and discomfort had eased so in that was it was effective, it just didn't agree with my body.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/11/2014
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/24/2014
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this medicine to treat a really horrible UTI. I had to go to the emergency room because the pain was so unbearable. I was peeing blood, couldn't sit/stand up straight and the urge to pee was constant and painful. I was prescribed this medication and began taking it immediately (around 1:30 am when I returned from the ER). When I woke up the next morning, I already noticed a change. The painful sensation was much better, it definitely did not hurt as bad when I tried to pee, and slowly throughout the course of the next few days I was completely fine. I would totally recommend this medication for a UTI!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/19/2013
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I almost died from using this med. I was hospitalized for two weeks with what the drs. thought was COPD since I was having breathing problems. No cough just couldn't breathe. Went to Urologist who had prescribed this a few months before and he immediately switched the medication. Within a week my breathing problems began easing up and I didn't have to use inhalation therapies. This was a pretty scary situation since they were saying "end stage COPD. From now on I'll check Webmd before I take a new drug. Thank you for your good works.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
macrodantantin | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/16/2013
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

excelleny

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/22/2012
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I experienced all the side effects listed: tiredness, muscle aches, stomach upset, itching,and headache. I hope to not take it again. I had none of these effects with Cipro.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Supremesandy | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/5/2012
Condition: Staphylococcus Saprophyticus Infection of Urinary Tract
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have taken it for a week and the medication has not been as effective as I had hoped. Doctor has refilled the medication for another week.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ann | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/6/2011
Condition: Bladder Infection caused by Enterobacter
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

took this for 7 days twice a day. had dark urine and now feel much better. only made me feel cold. but overall happy with outcome so far. i cant take some other drugs i am sensative.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
edersternchen | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/20/2011
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for over two years. It has kept me from getting any more UTI, however I have had a persistent Cough and fast heart beat for 15 months, I have been sent to 8 doctors, all treated me for either asthma, or Acid Reflux. Till I read the drug Store instructions. Here all those symptons show up, including the cough and fast heart beat. I hope my doctor has another way to prevent UTI in me, this coughing is sending me to my heart surgeon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/8/2011
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Having to take this medication twice a day- I feel it has helped some -But don't think it's goona clear up the infection-I feel nauseated tired and have headaches as side effects- Don't like this- wish there was something different to take for UTI,S.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More