Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

20 People found this comment helpful

I don't have to worry that my sugar level will take a dive after I eat anymore. My glucose used to go from 186 after meal and drop to 54 within 1-1.5 hrs. later.

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I think it makes my mouth extremely dry at night.

Shared reviews and ratings

Desert Chef | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/16/2015
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Acarbose only for a few weeks. But at this point it has lower my blood sugar (BS) significantly. Pre-Acarbose, I was getting BS ranging from 130 to 200. Now I am ranging from 90 to 120 - as measured before each meal. I take 100mg just before eating, 3 times a day (max recommended dose). The only side effect is significant gas - more noise than oder. I am trying to deal with this because the positive BS effect is great. I also take Glipicide,and Tradjenta; but those alone have had very little positive effect. I well report back after a few months of continued use. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
antietamquilter | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/26/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Really bad side effects... leg cramps, nauseau, ice headache, swelling in back of eye. Not sure I can last weeks on this. When I don't take it no side effects... 1 pill causes such nasty effects feel like chemotherapy toxin in your system

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bamy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/9/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this for almost 2 years, and for the first time in 14 years my A1c is below 7. I have very little gas. But it blocks the absorption of calcium, and causes unbearable muscle cramps the last few months. If I skip day, my cramps go away almost completely. It could be a reaction to Levaquin too, so I will try it again in a couple of weeks. Levequin caused severe tendonitis. I also take 3,000 mg of calcium and 10,000 units of vitamin D3. I used to have severe cramps for years before starting Acarbose, then felt better on it, then started the calcium and felt better for a year. It is hard to get this all straightened our. Hope to start on active vitaminD3, Calcitriol to see if I can absorb calcium better. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/21/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

after a uti i was given insulin to control my blood sugar,after treatment of uti to return back to oral hypoglycemics for me was difficult.Acarbose made it easy and now i am having a HbA1c of 6-6.5.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/7/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I think it makes my mouth extremely dry at night.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
marr | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/8/2013
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Xxxx | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/18/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/4/2013
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
babadarma | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/14/2013
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The gas and possibly weight gain Acarbose causes are my only negatives. I am happy to trade gas for lack of constipation and help with hypoglycemia.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wendell. | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/16/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gas gas gas Cramps spasms and chronic diarrhea Feel so frustrated. Swapping one evil for another

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/20/2012
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I like many have bad gas and some abdominal pain. I find it lowers my sugar a lot. I take less insulin now. It has also caused some weight loss which I need the most.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ironstar2006 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/31/2011
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don't have to worry that my sugar level will take a dive after I eat anymore. My glucose used to go from 186 after meal and drop to 54 within 1-1.5 hrs. later.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/27/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Given acarbose for hypoglycemia. A lot of gas produced. Taking 25-50 mg per meal. Does not keep blood sugar from falling very well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bill | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/16/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have gas and stomach cramps.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
zoozan | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/28/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have not used this drug. Just looking it up. Published this week in Dr. Gott's column in local newspaper, patient reports using it for fatigue. (no mention of diabetes) I do not have diabetes, but do have post polio fatigue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Iron Bunny | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/26/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I could power a small city with the gas I produce. Gas-X doesn't make a dent in the gas production. I stopped taking it days before a significant event and the gas production went away. I have discontinued taking Acarbose until I see my endocrinologist next month. I need an alternative to Acarbose. I discontinued Actos because of the fluid retention. At least fluid retention does not produce gas.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/18/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Every time i take it I get acid indigestion!!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rph333 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/26/2009
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

?After having too many side effects with Metformin and severe reaction with Pioglitazone, I was prescribed Acarbose ( all generic names). Beside some gas problem, I tolerated this better then others. But my blood glucose level was not significantly reduced? Fasting Glucose is still 110 mg/dL , though I have reduced my total caloric intake and very careful with carbohydrates intake. I'm borderline Diabetic and a retired pharmacist I will continue for few weeks before I discuss with my physician and at present taking 300 mg per day in three divided doses. This is the max dose recommended.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | Patient
10/31/2009
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
itcspirit | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/2/2009
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The medication has lowered my blood sugar levels but at the same time i am having bad side effects, mainly abdominal. Flagulance and gastritus. Constipation and diareah.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More