Show ratings & reviews for

2.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

29 People found this comment helpful

Took this for MRSA infection on my skin, prescribed my my derm. Discovered that some of my acne cleared up (on my back) and so did the folliculitis on my legs (I have a lot of skin problems). Turns out all were being caused by various forms of staph, and the Bactrim is treating them all. My derm has allowed me to stay on it long-term for the acne/folliculitis.

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I was on a ten day supply of Bactrim taking 2 tablets twice a day for an infected finger which was cut with a kitchen knife. Bactrim helped clear the infection within a couple days but on day 7 i started to develop a fever of 100.5 not too bad- then got chills and felt very fatigued on the 8th day i developed a rash which ended up being on my whole body head to toe. i went to ER not knowing what w...

Shared reviews and ratings

SharonA | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/5/2021
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I slammed by finger in a door and crushed the nail and got a hairline fracture in my finger tip. As a "precaution" I was told I needed an antibiotic by Urgent Care. I am allergic to penecillin...and have not taken an antibiotic in about 35 years. I was given a script for Bactrim. I am so sorry I took it. It not only gave me horrific vertigo, it also gave me anxiety, and now, horrific racing heart rate that is continuing after I stopped taking it. I was supposed to take it for 7 days...I had to take a 2 full pills and then cut them in half....the vertigo was not fun. I only was able to take this in total for 4 days. I am so sorry I took it....my heart has been racing ever since, and my skin feels like it is on fire when I am in the sun..and STILL does and I have been off of it for over a week. This stuff is poisonRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
666Bactrim666 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/3/2020
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m really not sure how this “medicine” is still on the market. Had a UTI, ate around 8 pm then took only one pill around 845-9 pm. In the next hour and a half, I started feeling nauseous and had lower back pain with cramps. I then started having hot flashes and chills, to the point where my teeth were chattering. I was in such discomfort and I couldn’t fall asleep till 4:00 am. I am a healthy 28 year old woman with no pre-existing issues and this is the worst reaction I’ve ever had. I called my gyno’s office first thing and the on duty doctor couldn’t believe what I was saying. I told her to look up reviews on this site as well as others. Thankfully I was given Macrobid, which I’ve used in the past, and will be fine. PLEASE DO NOT TAKE THIS DRUG. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carlson | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/30/2020
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this for prostatitis at 2x a day, by day 5 my eyes became red and painful, I started seeing floaters in my field of vision. Never again

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/16/2020
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Side effects I experienced after one dose: fever to 102, chills, nausea. After forcing myself to take the second dose because I didnâ??t realize I was having a reaction to the drug, I threw up 3 times, despite only having eaten rice, applesauce, banana all day. Two days later, I still feel tired, headache, nausea, even though I only took 2 pills.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Croc1 | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/29/2020
Condition: infection
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got MRSA above my lip and it was moving up my face toward my eyes. Primary doc sent me to hospital and I ended up there 5 days getting IV vancomycin (sp?). They sent me home on generic Bactrim as a precaution and I made sure to finish the course. MRSA is caused by people using antibiotics unnecessarily! If your doc or clinic gives you antibiotics for every cold or flu you have, change doctors. They are prescribing antibiotics just to shut you up, even though their overuse IS what has created antibiotic-resistant bacteria like MRSA and streptococcus (flesh-eating disease).Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jen.c. | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/25/2020
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/8/2019
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took it for a UTI, I developed a reaction on my feet first and thought it was bed bugs as I had moved into a dorm. Then my eyes swelled up and I had hives all over. Eventually my eyes swelled so much I couldn't open one eye that's when I realized it wasn't bed bugs and just have been the medicine. I stopped it for a day and the hives died down. Thought it was safe to take again, the hives and facial swelling came back worse.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Twitty Bird | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/19/2019
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Bactum for a UTI. (Later found out I didn’t even have) I took one pill at 8AM and by 10:00am my whole body was itching unbearably. My eyes turned bloodshot red and my vision became extremely blurred!! I was terrified!!!! I could not see and I’m itching!!! I had to go to urgent care, get a steroid shot and I have another steroid pill to take. I’ve been taking Benadryl to help with the itching. So mad I feel like fighting.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
maestro | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/30/2019
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I broke out with a rash just after day 10 - it was sudden and scared the heck out of me! I had a million red spots covered from head to toe (neck, stomach, back and legs were the worst) I went into the clinic and told me to stop taking it right away. So apparently I am one of those 3% with a Sulfa allergy. The funny thing is the nurse told me she also has an allergy to it. I then told a coworker about it and she also had an allergy. With my followup appointment I asked about the small percentage of patients affected-- she told me it is rising and is much higher than it used to be (related it to the kind of rise we're seeing in gluten allergies) No reason! So if you get a rash - stop taking it! Day 1 rash recover- slightly better, fewer red spots on ankles and feet. Day 2 - much improved, fewer on shoulders/neck and lower legs were cleared. Day 3 - Thighs are starting to clear as well as back/stomach. My temperature never went up during this process and thankful I stopped it in time!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Susan1661 | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/16/2019
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took sulfamethoxazole trimethoprim for 1.5 days and stopped when the pain in my hips and lower back started. Then later fever and chills, weakness, jaw stiffness, minor headache and neck ache, then overnight, severe diarreha and nerve jolts shooting up from my hips. The next morning my thighs ached, like it was moving down from my hips, minor head and neckache, ribs felt sore. I still had hip pain and inflmmation and lower backache. I cried a little, feeling like this drug was killing me, not knowing what the heck was happening to my body, my organs. All this after only 3 pills in a super healthy, 57 year old female body. It has been 2 weeks since I stopped this awful med and still have hip pain but no inflammation. It stops when resting and and worsens if I exercise. These and other's symptoms are not the allergic reactions or side effects listed for this med., they are far more severe. I also read today that organ can start 1 to 2 weeks after starting this drug (webmd,com). Why is this drug on the market???!!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/23/2019
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking bactrim for a uti i have had nothen but problems. First sore throat . then got a rash only on my arms that did not itch. Then i started feeling nausious. Chest heavyness like slight hard to breath . then the anxity attacts and feeling hot . headachs worrying fear somthing was wrong made things even worse. Went to er 4 times couldent find anything by bloodtest. Foggyness. I thaught i was dying and would google everything wich made things worse. Im still having real bad anxity and the rash is still on my arms. Not feeling myself at all. Its been like 4 weeks and i still dont feel right. Ill never take bactrim again ever. All these syptoms started right after i basicly finished the med. Now i guess i have to deal with these symptoms because the er prob thinks im nuts. Ive never felt this way ever until i took this med . and i hope these symtoms will go away soon because this is horrible. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/18/2019
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a UTI and within days of taking bactrim it cleared right up. I little to no bad side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Coalie | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/6/2019
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A skin culture at my dermatologist showed strep. I started bactrim 4 days later I ran 102 fever. I could not reduce it at home. Drove to the ER. They gave me 2 liters of IV saline after 6.5 hrs and blood tests etc they said everythings normal continue the Bactrim. I returned 2 days later to the ER same scenario. I hadn't eaten for 5 days.Fast forward I call my PCP for an appt. Immediately after taken in my NP says you're having a classic allergic reaction look to Bactrim. My face was beat red and swollen white eyelids and red splotches on my chest and belly. My fever stayed at 100 w/o motrin. She rx prednisone 40 mg 2 days and antihistamine claritin. I immediately started to feel closer to my normal. If you think you may be allergic. Beware.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/13/2018
Condition: infection
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed this medicine for sinus infection that amoxicillin wouldnâ??t touch. Definitely took care of sinus infection but side effects are terrible. Joint pain, fever, chills, dizziness, light headedness, and half awake dreams that bordered on delusional. Thought I was getting the flu. About 10 hours after a dose Iâ??d start to feel better and then Iâ??d take second dose, and shortly thereafter begin to feel flu like again. Not worth the side effects for sure. Glad I got suspicious and did some research. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/8/2018
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this drug for kidney infection which I had for quite sometime. I had read the reviews and was concerned due to all the negative reviews. However, I had no problems or complications except for being nauseous and the drug cleared the infection up. I took it for 2 weeks. Warning..do not drink alcohol when on this medication, as you will get sick. Read the warning label.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
R | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/4/2018
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Bactrim for a kidney infection after I had an allergic reaction to the first prescribed antibiotic. I only took two doses of Bactrim and I felt worse than ever. I experienced extreme pounding headache while on this drug along with severe joint pain and inflammation throughout my entire body. I went back to the doctor and they told me Bactrim had caused lupus like symptoms with global swelling of my entire body!! I had to be given a strong steroid to counteract it's effects. This was yesterday and now I have to go back for another steroid tomorrow as the joint pain is back. DO NOT TAKE THIS DRUG LIGHTLY. I DO NOT BELIEVE THIS DRUG TO BE SAFE. I am otherwise healthy without any medical conditions. I hope that I do not continue to suffer adverse affects in the future from this drug. BEWARE. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Coinne | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/15/2017
Condition: Chronic Bronchitis caused by Streptococcus Pneumoniae
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 67 year old female with bronchiectasis....previously been on Amoxycyllin for exaserbations.C&S grew a staff ,sensitive to the Bactrim combination.So after 2 exaserbations using this medication I have found it to be 100% effective in clearing up the infection.Some slight side effects(nausea,itching) but benefit far outways the tolerable effects. I have a suggestion though!!...I've read several negative patient reports and I think it would helpful for all concerned if Bactrim had a usage and side effects leaflet enclosed in every box dispensed. Hope this is helpful :-) Kind regards Corinne.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kansas sufferer | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/21/2017
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection caused by Klebsiella Bacteria
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bactrim was prescribed for a post-surgery UTI. I didn't realize what a disaster the side effects would be! After nearly completing the 10-day script, my body went into a total reaction to the drug. I had nearly all of the Very Serious side effects listed for Bactrim. Doctors told me the only solution was to ride out the symptoms until the drug was out of my system. How crippling!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/8/2017
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had taken Bactrim on several occasions for UTIs over the years. Last year, I noticed that as soon as I took it my throat started getting sore, but it was further down my throat than any sore throat I had before; felt kind of like a lump in my throat. I didn't think anything of it; just thought I must be getting a cold. I finished the prescription and felt better. A few months later, I was prescribed Bactrim again. This time, I got the same sore throat right after taking it, then got itchy and had a splotchy rash all over my body. I went back to the dr. and was prescribed Macrobid but didn't get better. My lip started to swell, and eventually I got an ulcer on my tongue and inside of my cheek. I was switched from Macrobid to Cipro and then my symptoms started to go away. The ulcers in my mouth and on my tongue took almost 2 weeks to completely heal and they left scars. I have never been allergic to any medications or foods or anything in my life until last year, and I am 46 years old. Doctors/health care professionals do not prescribe Bactrim or Macrobid because they think I might also have had a reaction to Macrobid as well since my symptoms continued.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MissMay | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/4/2016
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this because of an infection to a cut on my hand. I was on it for two weeks, and it was kind of annoying to take it three times a day, but it did clear up the infection (though it was slow in doing so). When I was almost done taking it I spent a little time in the sun (not that much) and that night I noticed funny red spots on my hands and feet. I only had one more pill left, so I waited to take it til I contacted the doctor. When I got a hold of him, he said to go ahead and take the pill. Shortly there after I got tired and took a nap. I woke up with itchy, swollen lips. I took some Benedryl, and within 15 minutes I started shaking uncontrollably and felt very cold. I went to bed again, and woke up in the middle of the night with all of my sinuses swollen up very large on my face. I didn't go to the ER or Urgent Care, but I probably should have. I spent the next 3 months away from the sun because every time I went out I would get bright red blotches. I have had continuous sinus and ear infections thanks to the swelling and what it set off in my body. This drug is probably great if you aren't allergic, but the results of an allergic reaction are long lasting.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More