Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

43 People found this comment helpful

have suffered chronic diarrhea for 22yrs! Daily doses of immodium have increased these last few months; from 1-2 pills each morning to now 6 or more per day! While specific foods typically compound my issue, high fiber is typically the devil; as of late it just doesnt seem to matter what I do or don't eat. Awoken in the middle of the night with double over abdominal pain an severe explosive diarrh...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

cancer helps cramps and bloating less pain

Shared reviews and ratings

Leah | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/22/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It helped my IBS C. But the side affects whew! It gives me the jitters and anxiety with drowsiness. It’s a toss up. I have severe cramping and bloating with sharp pains often. That double me up. It’s very uncomfortable and painful. The amount of bloating is horrible. My stomach swells up to 6 months pregnant looking. So I just take the medication. Without I’m in pain. It does the job. So I’m hoping the side affects will go way!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jackie’s kid | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
6/6/2021
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mom developed C-Diff after she had suffered with undiagnosed IBS-Diarrhea. She was treated with vancomycin for 10 days and was still having loose stools after she had 2 negative c-diff tests. After taking Keopectate and Imodium with no success, I was done watching her suffer. Her doctor decided to try dicyclomine and I am so grateful that he did because within 24 hours, the diarrhea stopped and within 2-3 days, her stools where normal again. It does make her a bit loopy but I think we may have some room for adjustments. I give this medication a 9!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Denise J. | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/13/2021
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

have been taking 4 times and all it does is increased bloating and abdominal pain, haven't taking for 2 days and these symptoms haven't changed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
11/18/2019
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Male | Caregiver
11/1/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
drug | 3-6 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
10/31/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Male | Caregiver
10/30/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Male | Caregiver
10/29/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chris | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/21/2018
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been living with IBS all of my life. My very worst days, I could go to the bathroom 10 times a day easily. I just started taking this and I have to say that I have never felt better. If you are considering taking this, I would definitely recommend trying it out, at least.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Texasaaa | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/4/2018
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I have an IBS ATTACK I take diclocyclamine (for cramps) along with Mescopolam. Within 10 minutes the stomach quiteS itself and the liquid painful BM stops! Together these drugs allow me to function a fairly normal life (until the next attack). When taking mescopolam don’t take the whole pill. It’s a soft tablet and I just break off a third or less. That still works. If I take a whole one it gives me constpation. Just experiment with it and it will do you a first class job! For constipation I use magnesium gel capsules (the OTC kind they use as a supplement). It cleans you out overnight. If you don’t think your severely stopped up I just bite the end off the gel cap and squeeze some of the white magnesium out so I don’t get a full dose. Again just experiment. If you have IBS as bad as I do you will have plenty chances! Good luck friends!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alec | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/14/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As someone with SIBO and IBS, this drug has helped me get through intensely painful colon spasms that I randomly experience due to getting backed-up. It completely calms my stomach and colon from spasms. The only con I would say it has is drowsiness and sometimes even mild dizziness. Otherwise, great experience so far.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
thatGirl. | 25-34 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/16/2017
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been dealing with IBS for almost 10 years. Diagnosed for the first 5. I was first put on a low dose of dicylomine, it didn't stop any symptoms. I stopped taking the pills and was told it wasn't IBS - again. This past year with a new PCP she put me on a higher dose 4x daily. It works with the painful cramping but i do not have normal bowel movements or less bloating and gas. In addition the dose now makes me to tired to take during the day. I am a stay at home mom and i am unable to watch my daughter without sleeping or blurred vision. I would not be able to work and take this medication. I do however take it when i am eating out and not driving. It takes away the sudden urgency and nauseous. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Survivor | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/4/2017
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used several other drugs that worked better but with Dr's changing all the time it is hard to get anything from just a primary care Dr. so you try and take what you can get and work with it. Librax was better but I was told it wasn't being made anymore. Even Bentyl used to help with pain and Librax with spasms. The dicyclomine helps some but not as much as some other options.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/10/2017
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have dealt with IBS for almost 5 years now. I exercise regularly, eat a low fat, low carb, high protein diet and still suffered from IBS on a daily basis. I have also tried every over the counter medicine available for constipation, gas, and bloating. Going through a whole day without any stomach pain was a foreign feeling to me at this point. In addition, my bowel movements only occurred every 4 to 5 days. It wasn't until my doctor prescribed this medication that my body truly felt a sense of relief. I am recommended to take up to 4 pills a day; however, I have only been taking this medication at night, right before bed. I truly recommend this medication if you have symptoms that are similar to my experience. My abdominal pain, gas, bloating, and constipation has completely disappeared. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
happypatient | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/12/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm sick with gastroenteritis. This is a miracle as I had the worst stomach cramps, contractions that left my whole body shaking, nausea, diarrhea. I couldn't handle the pain so I drove to receive emergency help. MIRACLE DRUG. I can finally focus on something other than my pain. No side effects just drowsiness!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JerseyGirl | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/14/2017
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diaognosed with IBS-D 3 years ago. I only use this medication when I absolutely need it. I just finished a 10 day course of amoxicillin a couple of days ago. That antibiotic messed me up terribly. My IBS has kicked into full gear. Thank God I have this medication on hand - and they are still potent enough to take care of the pain, nausea and diarrhea. IBS sucks big time. But this medication makes everything feel so much better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/5/2017
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i've had IBS-D for almost ten years now, and for the longest time i only dealt with it by taking over-the-counter anti-diarrheal medication, which steadily became less effective the longer i took it. my GI doc prescribed me this and i only take it when i have severe flare-ups or extreme abdominal pain. it definitely helps with the diarrhea and it mostly deals with the abdominal discomfort too.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ds1964 | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/9/2017
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I end up in the ER suffering sever abdomen pain. Come to find out had a Colitis Infection,I was put on Probiotic's continued to take Probiotic's after a week in hospital. I lost 20lbs with on and off episodes (IC)Irritable Colon pain in my left side and loss bowls. I told my doctor about it and prescribed Dicyclomine oral,10mg as needed. It has been good since.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/29/2017
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking it when I was hospitalized for diverticulitis. I had to have surgery due to having 2 abcesses in my colon. I was in there for 2 weeks due to severe infection. I take it 4 times a day as directed by my doctor. I am still experiencing the constipation and am very bloated most of the time. I'm not sure it is that effective with me. I'll give it more time though.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wes | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/29/2017
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been having IBS symptoms for 6 months and then went through a horrible bought of food poisoning. I was on a 3 week dose of antibiotics. My gut was all messed up. During all of this, I lost 65 lbs and stomach hurt all the time. I was also vomiting almost every morning. Went to Mayo Clinic and Dr. put me on Dicyclomine 3-4x/day. I take it before meals and occasionally at bedtime. I noticed a change in just a few days. I have my life back and my weight is stable now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More