Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

39 People found this comment helpful

I took my 1st dose last night only at bed time my dr said to put it in a shot glass with water to dissolve, swish and drink!! I feel 100% better this a.m. omg what a relief!! I had a colonoscopy done and endoscope about a month ago and all pink (good) except for a little acid erosion from acid re flux!! He upped mu priliosec to 40 mg a day and told me to take this!! Now I can eat normal and feel s...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

TOO DIFFICULT TO REMEMBER TO TAKE THIS HORSE PILL! RANITIDINE IS USED WITH THIS MED.

Shared reviews and ratings

BobE | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/3/2021
Condition: Inflammation of Esophagus from Backflow of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is a lifesaver for me. Every so often, i get pretty severe pain associated with inflammation in my stomach and esophagus. My doctor gave me a prescription for this and overnight I feel 100% better. Pills are large but as others have posted, you can dissolve them in a little water and it will be effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/19/2021
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am always hungry

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jordy | 35-44 | Nonbinary | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/6/2021
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is one of the best meds for Heart burn i have taken

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Julie Cruz | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/24/2021
Condition: Stomach Ulcer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's killing my stomach!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
None | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/8/2021
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severe nausea and dizziness

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/3/2021
Condition: Inflammation of the Gums and Mouth
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have suffered from Burning Mouth Syndrome for over 1 1/2 years. I have tried other treatments that have given minimal help, recently I have tried sucralfate (horse pills) and have noticed improvement of my symptoms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/25/2018
Condition: Ulcer of the Duodenum
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had to leave this review for all the others like me that find Sucralfate a very hard pill to swallow. I told my doc what a hard time I was having taking this med due to the size of the pill, even after cutting them in half they can be hard to get down. The doc told me they dissolve very easy in a small amount of water. I now just put a small amount of water in a clear glass and drop the pill in stir it about until it is dissolved and gulp it down in one drink. Hope this helps. This med has worked wonders for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TR Factor | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/8/2018
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

People, yes this pill is too big to comfortably swallow. Get a pill-cutter! Halves can be swallowed easily.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/7/2018
Condition: Inflammation of Esophagus from Backflow of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I disolve the pill in about 2 oz of water stir and drink, very easy. However I'm still getting nausea and backflow of bile into my mouth while sleeping. My doctor told me to take the med right before I eat and pantaprozole an hour before my last meal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Billie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/18/2018
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have nearly choked to death and probably would have if my husband had not been here! I have to cut 5hesevpills in 4 pieces and they still stick. They have a coating like an aspirin. The dr. Ordere$ 5he liquid but the copay WITH insuranc3 was $96 for 21 days! That is robbery! The pills choke you but the6 are a lot cheaper so I am stuck with cutting them in 4 and still have to be careful not to choke!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vamster | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/1/2017
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My reflux/GERD got worse after surgery to fix a stomach valve defect. Omeprazole helped but my esophagus was raw. Sucralfate has solved the problem, and the only problem I had is learning to swallow those horse pills. However, I've developed diarrhea and have backed off the med to see if it stops. I went from 4 pills a day to 2, and I'm going to see if the GERD gets worse if I stop taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hugo | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/7/2016
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have chronic GERD for about 20 years and have been using overcounter pepcid AC and prilosec and need prescribed PPI when the condition gets worse. I have a really bad heartburn and nighttime GRED starting 2 weeks ago and pantoprazole does not work. I have the pain 24 hours. I took sucralfate last night and it immediately relieved the pain and I felt great! I will continue to use it and update it effects here. I strongly recommend it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SMOKE | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/19/2016
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

TOO DIFFICULT TO REMEMBER TO TAKE THIS HORSE PILL! RANITIDINE IS USED WITH THIS MED.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cesar | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/7/2016
Condition: Stomach Ulcer
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

had a stomach ulcer due to overuse of NSAID. timing for this pill is everything. Cannot take at the same time as nexium/antacid. The pill gave immediate relief and allowed the ulcer to heal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
EL | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/4/2015
Condition: Inflammation of Esophagus from Backflow of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hard to take with other medicine but worth the trouble.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/28/2014
Condition: Inflammation of Esophagus from Backflow of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Annette | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/30/2014
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had chronic, debilitating heartburn for a very long time. NOTHING worked. It measurably interfered with my daily life. Recently one of my co-workers gave me some of her sucralfate. You simply dissolve one white tablet in half a cup of water and swallow it. There is no flavor or texture; it tastes just like tap water. INSTANT RELIEF!!!! Now I take one a day. This is the best stuff in the world.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/1/2013
Condition: Ulcer of the Duodenum
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

have difficult breathing

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
karen l. | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/23/2013
Condition: Stomach Ulcer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had immediate relief of severe burning pain. I would caution that if you take synthroid it may interfere with the absorption of the synthroid. For me this resulted in hairloss, splitting nails, and tiredness. My ulcer is now healed, after 4 months on this drug. I am hoping now I have discontinued it that the hairloss, tiredness, and nail splitting will improve

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Grammy07 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/4/2013
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took 1 pill in the afternoon and 1 the next morning and haven't been nauseous since. Will take 2X a day until pills are gone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More