Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

4 People found this comment helpful

My doctor injected a COMBINATION of KENALOG and LYDOCAINE into the joints in my knees due to extreme swelling from osto-arthritis. She told me it could last anywhere from 2 hours to 2 months. I had total relief from swelling and pain for 6 weeks. I have had no side effects or problems around injection site. Perhaps mixing Kenalog with other compatible drugs reduces the chances of side effects. ...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I had two injections of this a 40 ml dose and an 80 ml dose after suffering from bronchitis and sinus infection. I was before the second injection, I was asked if I was pregnant and I said that was kinda wierd question considering I was not asked the first time so I asked the nurse to explaain more about this medicine so she got the drug book and it really didn't mention much. In any event, I h...

Shared reviews and ratings

Diane | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/19/2017
Condition: Joint Disease which may include Attacks of Acute Arthritis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I haven't been able to take a deep breath since getting this shot. It has been 3 months. They keep doing tests to me and nothing is wrong. It has cost me so much money in time and medical bills. I can barely walk because I can't breath.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SamW | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/28/2014
Condition: Bronchitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had the flu which quickly changed to bronchitis. This is common with me, because I have only the use of one one lung due to a doctor nicking the phrenic nerve on one side, Which throws the diaphragm on that site. I had been fighting the illness bronchitis for two weeks. I had been given Tamiflu, and then a week of Cipro, and although they both helped a little bit I was still coughing up yuck. After this shot of traimcinolone I pretty much finished healing within three days. I was still tired for about a week, but it really helped.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mini | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/15/2014
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After many sinus infections + sinus surgery I was given a shot of kenalog-40 in my upper arm last year. I am an 81 female. I have two injections a year, and that + saline nasal spray allows me to breath normally and I haven't had an infection.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/23/2013
Condition: Psoriasis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had severe Psoriasis/Eczema on the outer side of my foot for almost 4 years. I was at the point where I could not even wear shoes that didn't cover it. I went to see the dermatologist and they prescribed a clorbetasol gel and a 40 mg injection of Kenalog. At first I felt like it was getting worse for the first 2 weeks....then week 3 it was getting better, by week 4 almost all the visual symptoms of the Psoriasis has healed. I have a patch or two that are a little red. I am very happy with the outcome of the treatment.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/6/2012
Condition: Inflammation of the Joints due to Gout
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My brother deals with Gout,every 6weeks. He gets to the point of not even being able to function at all.Now that he has started these injections , he has his life back. To GOD be the Glory for given man the knowledge to help his fellow man.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
momjillbob | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/1/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had two injections of this a 40 ml dose and an 80 ml dose after suffering from bronchitis and sinus infection. I was before the second injection, I was asked if I was pregnant and I said that was kinda wierd question considering I was not asked the first time so I asked the nurse to explaain more about this medicine so she got the drug book and it really didn't mention much. In any event, I had the second shot. Two days later I started my period on time. I bled for 30 days and then went to my GYNO- I had an internal ultrasound and it showed a thick lining of the uterus so she gave me a prescription for Lystda to stop my period. I took that for 5 days and it did not stop my period. I went back and had a biopsy, waited a week and the results were benign but still bleeding. During the waiting week, I was put on birth control pills to On day 50 of bleeding, I had a D& C and Nova sure procedures to stop the bleeding which was for an unexplainable reason. After reading many blogs, I beleive this injection was the cause of my excessive bleeding. It is the day after that procedure and I am hoping that my bleeding has stopped..time will tell.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
o2byo | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/4/2009
Condition: Allergic Reaction causing Serum Sickness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

miracle drug, had allergies(sinus) for 10+ years living on zyrtec daily for 5+ years got 1 shot lasted almost two years, had another it has been 3 years with no allergies or allergy medication, no observed side affects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kenalog 40 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/17/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been suffering, due to an allergy or reaction to the cold weather, mainly at night, from a serious nose and frontal sinuses congestion, degenerating, if untreated into chronic bronchitis with thick sputum and, in extreme situations, occasionally into asthma. After trying with no or scars success, several medications (from antihistamine, to antibiotics, decongestants, inhalators, ect)I had been prescribed by a doctor an injection of 2 x 40 mg of Kenalog. The result was incredible, after few days and for a month all symptoms were gone! After that I had been repeating the treatment monthly for a period of 5 years. The firsts visible side effects were skin edemas or profound superficial bleeding in case of a bruise or a scratch, but, much more serious, only much later realized or rather suspected, ... gradual loss of muscular mass (almost 10 Kg out of my 70 !), therefore, consequent loss of fitness, loss of sight, appearing of small warts,on different parts of the body! During all this time I took several medical tests, which they were showing pretty much normal results, but, among all the doctors that visited me, a part generally advising me that "the cortisone injections were not advisable", no one had been able to clearly warn me and explain to me the specific critical "side effects" above mentioned. I have now stopped that treatment since last February and replaced, with some efforts, with homeopathic treatments but, although I managed to control the symptoms, the unpleasant "side effects" in 8 months,... are not yet disappeared or, in a very minimal proportion. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pennypacker | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/3/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor injected a COMBINATION of KENALOG and LYDOCAINE into the joints in my knees due to extreme swelling from osto-arthritis. She told me it could last anywhere from 2 hours to 2 months. I had total relief from swelling and pain for 6 weeks. I have had no side effects or problems around injection site. Perhaps mixing Kenalog with other compatible drugs reduces the chances of side effects. Needless to say, I was very pleased with the results and will have this procedure repeated again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Barbara | 35-44 | Female | Patient
8/15/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had this injected under my eyes to reduce a little swelling due to lack of sleep. Months later I am left with what looks like black & blue divets, My doctor had no clue as to what he was doing. Does any one have any suggestions?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
denig18 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/6/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I received this medication via injection into the Right Buttock {subcutaneous} vs the Ileac Crest area {intramuscular} and now have a half dollar sized area of subcutaneous atrophy or skin dimpling. It's very important that the medication is administered correctly > intramuscular. I received the injection for Poison Ivy which it did resolve the severe inflammation I had within 3 days. However, 3 months later I am faced with this deformity on my buttock due to an untrained professional administering the medication incorrectly. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/27/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i WAS GIVEN THIS SHOT FOR MY severe aLLERGIES-TO EVERYTHING. a SHORT TIME AFTER THE INJECT i TOO ENDED UP WITH A GOLF BALL SIZE HOLE AT THE INJECTION SITE. iT HAS RECENTLY STARTED HEALING 8 MONTHS AFTER THE HOLE APPEARED.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Judith | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/18/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 64 year old female.Over the course of 2 years I have been given a Kenalog shot for sinus infections. It helped the sinus problem, but it also started my period and I had to have a D&C. I found that 2 other ladies I work with had the same experience. 10 days ago I had the second shot and and am currently having yet another period with severe cramping.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | Patient
2/17/2008
Condition: Bronchitis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this drug as a one-time injection to treat lung inflammation from bronchitis. It did little to help my problem, I eventually developed pneumonia, and I now have a large golf ball sized dent in the area it was administered. I recently found out that this is a common side effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More