Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

10 People found this comment helpful

I am a senior in high school and have been on Levora since freshmen year. I loved it! My periods were lighter, my cramps weren't as bad, my boobs grew a little bit and I think it made me 10x more horny than I already was! I did get cravings for things that I do not usually eat which was weird. Just this year I started getting really bad mood swings, panic attacks, and anxiety attacks. Then i s...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

I have been on this medication for about 2 years now and I have to say I'm absolutely devastated by its effects. Don't get me wrong, it has completely worked by not getting me pregnant, but I am experiencing some terrible side effects. Within the past year I have noticed a significant amount of hair loss. I researched that hormonal birth controls can definitely cause this because of the amount ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Alyssa | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/24/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Levora mainly for my extremely heavy periods. It did great at making my periods minimal and eventually non existent. It is effective but sadly there are a TON of negative side effects. I was 127 pounds when I started this pill a year ago. I am 155 pounds after a year! My breasts are sore all the time, very low libido, excessive vaginal discharge, significant weight gain. Would not recommend this pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Diana | 25-34 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/14/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this pill at 21, because i didn't want to get pregnant. I am now 30 and still on the pill. The only thing it did for me was clear my acne, my periods were like 2-3 days max, and my boobs grew a little but not much. I took a break for 6 months, cause i felt like it would be good for me. And I broke out again, and my periods were maybe a day longer. I am now looking to get off cause i want to get pregnant. But i do not want to break out. Wondering if there is anyone else out there that had side effects getting off the pill, and what they did. How long did it take you to get pregnant. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
abcd! | 13-18 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/10/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a senior in high school and have been on Levora since freshmen year. I loved it! My periods were lighter, my cramps weren't as bad, my boobs grew a little bit and I think it made me 10x more horny than I already was! I did get cravings for things that I do not usually eat which was weird. Just this year I started getting really bad mood swings, panic attacks, and anxiety attacks. Then i started getting my period and random ass times, it felt like I was on a placebo pack. I also started getting really bad bumps on my face they are almost like little warts. My doctor switched me to microgestin and Im hoping that it will work better for me, but I am a little scared reading the reviews....Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ann | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/22/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No side effects. My periods were lighter, shorter, and less painful. It also treated my acne a little bit. I would recommend it to anyone looking for an easy form of birth control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anna | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/11/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Love it. This pill has reduced the number of days I'm on my period, and lightened the flow. No pregnancies, so it's doing its job, and I do not get any of the side effects others have mentioned.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/12/2016
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Levora for exactly one year now. No crazy side effects or weight change. I loved seasonique, but after 8 months had breakthrough bleeding and switched to a monthly pill to avoid that issue. I set an alarm on my phone daily and have for 9 years now so ease of use is a no brainer for me. I have PCOS and this pill has regulated my cycle and now my period lasts about 4 days and they aren't miserable filled with me lying in bed. Overall really happy with this product only wish my body could handle a period every three months . I recommend to try Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kiwibean | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/26/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Levora for over 3 years now and am not pregnant, so clearly it has done its job! I haven't experienced any of the scary side effects I've heard of (weight gain, mood swings, bad acne,etc) so I am very happy with my experience with Levora.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kee | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/23/2016
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking the pill again in January after I got tired of experiencing painful periods that made me throw up and curl up in pain. This birth control has helped the cramps lessen a wholleee lot and my periods are 3-4 days and are light. It's hard to remember to take the pills, I missed four days and now I'm spotting. It makes me eat more and I've gained 3 pounds in two months but I go to the gym three times a week so I'm regulating my weight. No acne problems, my skin has gotten clearer by drinking a lot of water everyday and eating lots of fruits and veggies and fighting the sweets urge. I also have been using Proactive for almost 9 months before I started the pill. My depression is up and down but I had it before the pill and I suggest anyone having problems with that go to therapy it helps. This is the best pill I've been on so far. I'm 23 and I'm also practicing abstinence. No experience of yeast infections or problems like that either. This for me is strictly for the painful periods. I've never been pregnant and I stopped being sexually active 6 months ago. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lyss99 | 19-24 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/5/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I love this pill. Before I was on levora I took Seasonale, but experienced breakthrough bleeding during the 3rd month, so I switched to its hormone equal- Levora (both seasonale and Levora have the same amount and type of hormones in them). While I gained weight on Seasonale, I lost weight on this pill, though it could be due to eating/exercise habits as well. No headaches, no weight gain, my mood is stable, my insomnia is gone (I had it before I went on the bcp), and no pregnancy scares. I have been on this pill since I was 18 and now I'm twenty. I encourage everyone reading reviews trying to decide about whether to take this pill or not to try it out for yourselves. People with bad experiences are more motivated to write reviews than those with good ones. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PinkPixels | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/4/2016
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this birth control for years. I suffer from painful heavy periods so I take it continuously so I skip the inactive pills and therefore don't get a period. Recently I was diagnosed with hepatic adenomes - benign liver tumors- caused by being on this birth control! I was never warned by a doctor this was possible but looking at the list here it is listed as a possible effect from it. If you do not NEED to be on this pill, or any birth control pill, you might want to think long and hard about what it can really do to your body. I have about 7 of these tumors I will now need surgery to remove so they don't rupture or become cancerous. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Danimissybff | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/19/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 16 years old and I've been on Levora for about 7 months now and let me say it hasn't been easy I was on the depo before for about a year and a half and I bleed like crazy and I got fat. After the depo my mom took me off birth control but then I happend to get a boyfriend and she made me get back on it and I got on the pill. I've gained 25 pounds and I have no changed my eating habits I work out like crazy I'm a wrestler so my weight being that heavy isn't good. I've had major increase in acne also my feet swell up. I also had increas in booby size but that's because I got fatter... But one boob grew a cup size bigger than the other and my doctor said it was from the pill. I only recommend this if you want regular periods. If you don't mind being crazy as hell , fat , swollen feet , and zit faced Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bri_renay! | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/28/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I love this pill! My periods are shorter and no cramps! But the only downside is I'm always hungry and eating things I won't eat regularly. My weight is up and down I highly recommend exercising or doing some sort of activity because the weight comes out of nowhere. But overall I'm satisfied with this pill I've been on it since I was 18 and I am now 21. No kids!! Yippie!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JJ2005 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/27/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went on birth control when I was 16 because I had horrible periods with extremely heavy bleeding. Over the next 8 years, I tried a few different kinds and the only one I ever had major issues (emotional!) with was the patch. When my husband and I decided to start a family, I was relived to rid my body of BC! Unfortunately we ended up with male factor infertility but fast forward almost 8 years later and since being off BC, my periods were much more normal than when I was 16. While I still had heavy(ish) bleeding on the first day, my periods have extremely predictable and NORMAL. When we decided to endure fertility treatments, my Doctor started me on this stuff before IVF. I'm already emotional because of the sadness of infertility and the stress of having to finance nearly $20,000 just to TRY and have baby so add this BC and I started crying a LOT more, like 2-3 times a day at random. My boobs were instantly sore too. I've always been a healthy eater and very fit with regular exercise but since I'm about to start IVF, I've been even better about what I eat so I have no idea how I gained 10 lbs. in 3 weeks! All of my baggy boyfriend jeans have become jeggings and I'm busting out of my bra. My face started breaking out like crazy too. I'm so miserable on this pill! UGH!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/29/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The overall experience is positive, but I have had problems with the mood swings!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/14/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Didn't make me gain any weight however gave my cyst like acne on my face which was painful..had to change birth control

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/7/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Levora for 5 years, and I was relatively happy with it because it gave me lighter periods and I didn't experience any significant issues. However, my skin was worse while on this pill and I would get very emotional while on it. I've been off of Levora for two years now, and I'm not nearly as emotional as I was while I was on it, and my skin has cleared up.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
missb | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/25/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

To preface this review, everybody is different and may not experience the same side effects. I am very happy with Levora because I'm not getting pregnant but it absolutely killed my sex drive, frustratingly so. On the flip side, my periods are about 50% lighter and the cramps are about 75% less painful. It's definitely improved my acne and blackheads. And the weird hair on my chin hardly grows back. I may have gained 15lbs since starting Levora but I also stopped smoking around the same time. I've also developed anxiety but again, this may be related to no longer smoking. Aside from that, my moods are normal. No sex drive might just be a deal breaker, however.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kate | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/1/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on this birth control for over a year after switching from yaz. At first, I thought it was the most awesome birth control. After months of taking it, I noticed I had gained almost 15 pounds! I haven't changed anything about my lifestyle... If anything I was eating BETTER! Not only did it make me gain 2-4 pounds per month, it made my skin problems worse. My chin broke out and would NOT clear up. Overall, I was satisfied because my periods were very regular but they were pretty heavy every few months. I decided to switch back to yazRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
3/12/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/17/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was using a Dutch version of Birth Control Pills and when I showed the label and dosage to my doctor, this pill most resemebled the pill I was previously taking. I have tried numerous birth control methods (pills, patches, nuvaring.) I absolutely love this pill. I had no side effects. There was no nausea, weight gain, tenderness of breast. The only 'side effect' I had was a very light bleeding during my period, and some months I continue usage to avoid having bleeding for that month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More