Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

15 People found this comment helpful

I was diagnosed with RA over 12 years ago. I've been injecting methotrexate for several years. I take ibuprophen and Tramedol for inflammation and pain. I also supplement with folic acid and Vit D. I have my liver function tested on a regular schedule and have been very satisfied with the way my deterioration has slowed almost to a stop. I am very active and healthy!

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

Within an hour of the injection I feel weak and nausea. The next day I am bedridden with severe abdominal pain and my nausea is worse. I quit taking methotrexate once and I felt great. My doctor advised me to stay on this drug since I can't take meds for inflammation.

Shared reviews and ratings

hobbes4626 | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/17/2016
Condition: Systemic Lupus Erythematosus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication (4ml) for 4 weeks. I take it on Wednesday, and Thursday I get the sweats! I mean pouring down sweating. It continues until about Sunday and begins to subside. Then the cycle begins again. The first three injections, by Friday I felt as if I were hit by a truck, but this past Friday I felt okay. Not as bad. But the plus side of this is I am experiencing a dramatic decrease in SLE symptoms. Does anyone else experience these sweating episodes?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gaby | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/12/2016
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It took around 7 weeks of shots until it began to work. Now I look forward to it as towards the end of the week I am really getting swollen. I also take Palqnil and Sulphasalazine. I use Rogaine for hair loss, which started before Methotrexate. It works great. You just have to use it every night. Also I take Biotin and use Biotin shampoo. I do miss my wine...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Glass Half Full | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/17/2014
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Love/hate relationship with methotrexate. I'm sure others can relate. Im on injectable mtx, (1ml) which is much easier on my stomach than the pills were. The medicine works and I have taken with and without a biologic combo. It is not a cure all, but it gives me a dramatic reduction in symptoms. Of course, I love that part. The hate part... side effects. The days after my weekly injection, I feel fatigue, nausea and generally sick. I read somewhere high carb food the night of the injection helps, so I tried it. Not sure if its the carbs or simply having a filling meal since I usually don't eat much for a few days after, but it has helped. I also have nausea meds on standby and take 1 mg folic acid 6x week. Another downside is you do become more vulnerable to infection and have to stop treatment every time you get sick. My flares get really bad with each stop. With each start, getting through the first few weeks, especially the nausea, are difficult. Also, just recently began experiencing very bad muscle spasms, especially in my legs and feet. Not sure what that is about and why its just starting after years on the drug. The good news... even with the side effects, I'm happy to have something that helps fight this disease. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shellymae3 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/29/2014
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking 1ml sq weekly w/Enbrel (tried Remicade, Arava, Humira, Actemra always go back to Enbrel) for around 13 yrs., first in pill form then switched to injectable in 2006. According to my Dr., the injectable is "absorbed" 20% better than pill(my RA has been pretty severe most of the 14 yrs. I've had it). It does help me somewhat, but I'm starting to feel some side effects (headaches, occasional nausea, hair loss) so I've been on again/off again with it. My biggest problem with this med. is what it does to my hair...Yes, I know that sounds very superficial, however this disease has robbed me of enough. I've got scars all over from this disease (surgeries), my fingers are severely deformed and now my hair is becoming so dry & brittle that it breaks off every time I style/comb it (worn up in clip always), not to mention the handful that I lose every time I wash it (twice weekly, deep conditioning). I'm tired of finding my hair in, on, all over everything and I'm tired of having to unclog my shower drain on a regular basis (even though I use a drain cover to catch the hair). We'll see, I'm still on the fence about it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ML | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/7/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took injectable for 8 weeks. No improvement and major side effects: nausea, joint pain, headache, fatigue. Discontinued to dramatic drop in red blood count, ferritin and hematocrit, plus blood in stool. Not a good option for me. I am sensitive to medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ahyde | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/23/2014
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within an hour of the injection I feel weak and nausea. The next day I am bedridden with severe abdominal pain and my nausea is worse. I quit taking methotrexate once and I felt great. My doctor advised me to stay on this drug since I can't take meds for inflammation.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
damselhawk | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/29/2013
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

have only been on med for 5 weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cealnewman | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/21/2013
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I think I am having side affects from this medicine. I have blood in my stool and urine I had a EDG-colonoscopy and they found abnormal mucosa in the stomach compatible with gastritis,diverticulosis of the descending colon mass in the cecum the mass was a lipoma they biopsy everything. I am having test on the tenth of June they are going to scope my bladder and do a CT of my kidney and now I am having little knots popping up on my finger and on my thumb all of the sudden. My RA doctor knows this but do not seem to be concern. I am worried about the methotrexate I take 0.8 sq. once a week and Orencia infusion once a month I take Celebrate twice a day Gabapentin, I know Celebrate has aspen in it after I get this other text and they do not fine anything I am going off the methotrexate myself I am telling my doctor to see if it is the medicine maybe the Orencia will be enough or maybe he can give me some thing else. I just want Another opinion. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bsktkaz | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/5/2013
Condition: Systemic Lupus Erythematosus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use the injectable because I've been on this med for over 18 years and the pills were giving me stomach problems.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
May | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/29/2013
Condition: Inflammation of Skin and Muscles All Over the Body
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been diagnosed with Lupus for the last 11 years and my doc wanted to try the methotrex inj. About 6 hours after the injection i thought i was going to die! My muscles were so weak and shaky I dropped to the floor and couldn't get up. Pain all over my body, shortness of breath, headache, sore throat, shaking all over. It took 3 FULL days to get over the side effects. Won't ever try it again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/7/2012
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

since the oral meds was making me very sick, I was willing to give the injection a try. Once I got over the ease of the needles, it's been the easiest meds I have ever taken. It does not hurt at all,and is is sometimes trouble to get because companys have a shortage of making the drug. I always hve extra,so if they run out I have enough for a few extra months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Duluthmama | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/22/2012
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first few weeks, I had heavy fatigue but this gradually improved after 2-3 months. The med reduced knee swelling and pain - NSAIDs and plaquenil were used previously but had no affect. Was prescribed folic acid 1000mg oral in conjunction with methotrexate on days that I did not take Methotrexate inj. Puzzle: Continue to have a negative RF/RA test in spite of all other symptoms indicating RA (including an upcoming total knee replacement). The only positive lab test was elevated CPR=all other indications are physical symptoms or seen on xray/MRI. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
christine prince | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/27/2012
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Methotrexate has helped my RA but i have a lot of the side effects: nausea vomitting usually for two days after my inj also hair loss, fatigue, and malaise. But after three consecutive blood tests showing elevated liver enzymes my dr wont let me continue. I seem to have trouble with all meds and am AGAIN untreated besides pain meds which are near impossible to get not sure what to try next!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cadie's mommy | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
1/15/2012
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 6 year old daughter takes this to help with her juvenile rheumatoid arthritis. She has been on it for almost 2 years. She fights at times, which is why it is difficult to use. Her arthritis has gotten a lot better over time, but recently has been having some side effects. She gets sick quite a bit afterwards lately and it can last up to 2 days after getting her shot. The doctor put her on an anti nausea pill to help and so far it seems to be helping. She had both knees and ankles affected by her arthritis and is down to one knee. Sometimes though I think her arthritis is better than the side effects from this medication, but we have to do what needs to be done. I can't blame all the side effects on the methotrexate because she is also on indomethacin and that causes her a lot of heartburn.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CINDY | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/15/2011
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Upset | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/25/2011
Condition: Pregnancy Located Outside of Womb; Often in Fallopian Tube
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used it one for an ectopic preg. I have had severe pain to one side where ectopic took place, severe nausea, bleeding for about a month, I wish I would have just had the surgery. I recommend not be used for this sort of treatment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/18/2011
Condition: Pregnancy Located Outside of Womb; Often in Fallopian Tube
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It worked great for me. I had one injection, no pain with that. I had cramping and diarrhea the first night and that has been it. HCG has been going down by more than 50% each week.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shortie84 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/6/2011
Condition: Pregnancy Located Outside of Womb; Often in Fallopian Tube
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i used this med for my second ectopic pregnancy and the the first dose didn't work and so i had to receive another dose, i had bad side effects, dizziness, nausea, hair loss,shakiness, joint pain, bad dreams, sleepiness, mouth sores.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cblue555 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/17/2011
Condition: Vasculitis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been injecting this for two months now and still haven't noticed the results my doctors have expected.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bunny | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/29/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

'm being treated for Anklosing Spndlitis

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More