Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

66 People found this comment helpful

Was on 10MG for 6 mths. Started having severe reactions, nightmares, shortness of breath, quickening heartbeat, extreme fatigue, extra heartbeat, sleeplessness. Talked to dr., kept notebook of BP & side effects, Was told to stay on meds. Developed heart attack type symptoms, went to emergency room, had stress test, blood work, etc. Cardiologist registered my severe reaction to Norvasc & took me of...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

What They Do today is dangerous ,instead of having a doctor aware of all your problems they send you to many who Know nothing But one thing...these reviews have scared me so because I have so many bad things wrong already it has caused for others I am really scared to try it...Sorry It is so bad to just be a number to these Doctors Not a real Patient.The reviews may have Helped alot

Shared reviews and ratings

Whyme | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/10/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was initially prescribed 5mg amlodipine which was increased to 10mg after 3 days. Initially my feet became swollen but that went away after about 4 weeks. Then I began to have arrhythmia and bradycardia. I just couldn't function and I felt my heart was going to give up. So I switched myself back to 5mg. Within 48hours, my heart rate stabilised and I felt human again. Unfortunately, it meant my blood pressure increased. I am currently exploring natural remedies whilst still taking 5mg.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rlessnick | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/12/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dr took my off Hydrochlorathizide and put me on this. Started it on last Saturday....woke up at about 4 am Monday morning with SEVER Vertigo. I had never had this happen in my life. At the time thought could of been a bad dream. Monday night, went to bed around 1030 pm, right when my head hit the pillow the whole room started flipping vertically. Was the scariest thing I have ever experienced. This went on all night off and on....at one point i had gone to the couch. Woke up to get water and when I laid back down BAM!! Was back in full force and this time when I sat up, it didn�t stop....the rooms was spinning so severe I must of gotten up...slammed into the floor. Got a hold of my Dr that morning and went in. He took me off of it and gave Meclizine. They went away immediately. Definitely induced by this BP pill.....very scary!!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/12/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

made me feel breathless, anxious and heart raced wildly at times, really horrible experience

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Greg. G | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/24/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on this b p medicine for 3 days.had bad nightmares.heart beating fast.so i stop for 1 day.then decided i will try it again.had to go to the hospital both days and had to call 911.almost passed out.then i thought i was having a heart attack.so i just stop taking it.havent felt that way since.this medicine is the culprit.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | Patient
8/17/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this for several years with no apparent problems. March this year my doctor changed me from 5 to 10 mg, now I have to have gum surgery due to overgrowth of my gums and the invi7liners cause it moved my teeth! Several thousand dollars!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/11/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on 5MG for one week only when I had a sudden fainting spell with no warning. The fall caused me to slam my head which resulted in a seizure. I don't know if Amlodipine was the culprit but the faint was a first for me and nothing else had changed in my life. Stated side effects indicate care should be taken during the first week of use, so I quit.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vpearsall | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/29/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Edema, rapid weight gain, neuropathy, tinnitus, shortness of breath so severe it was difficult to exert myself. I also over heated easily. Minor to moderate exertion left me sweating profusely from upper body. Dr took me off 5 days ago and I feel horrible. Feels like Iâ??m having a heart attack.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stewtami | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/5/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug is dangerous and whomever prescribes it should be made to take it. Within three days the pain in my knee was excruciating and I became depressed. Never ever take this drug. I'd rather have my blood pressure a little high than these horrific side effects...bad, bad, bad....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Aw | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/20/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On for 5 days...loss of hearing, tinnitus loud Skin itches all over.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Doctors are evil | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/28/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At 5mg of norvasc, after 2 weeks my bp has slightly decreased BUT, now have shortness of breath, swelling in chest, any exertion causes feeling of dizziness and like I am going to pass out, anxiety, muscle pain, shallow breathing like I can't get enough air. This is one HORRIBLE DRUG.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
waning crescent | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/27/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Didn't and couldn't stay on this medication long enough to judge it's effectiveness. Not only water retention in feet and ankles but heels became so sensitive that sleep was virtually impossible.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dmarg | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/3/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was on it for 5 days, which is how long it took me to realize why my body gradually swelled up to elephant proportions, my face was bright red and my calves were bruised. My Doctor was not consulted, I stopped on my own, and within 3 days the above symptoms disappeared. Norvasc was prescribed to replace Valsartan which was recalled due to cancer causing agents. The cure seems to be more harmful than the condition.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Equipman | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/25/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible, Horrible, Horrible! I suffered greatly with this poison as many people have. If you research this crap you will see a common theme. It may be ok for some but not all. I had Very high pulse, heart racing, left arm and shoulder pain, chest pain, thought was having heart issues and had to wear a heart monitor. Turns out this is a vasodilator causing racing heart rate and POTS like symptoms. It also relaxes the esophageal sphincter causing gerd and pain. Blurred vision, peripheral neuropathy in knees down and elbows down. Tingling in face, Depression, Fatigue. Literally thought I was dying! Took this for two months and decided to taper myself off this poison. It took 2 months for these effects to completely go away. Blood pressure went down to normal levels. This is by far the worst I have ever felt in my life while on this POISON. Big pharma knows as very small percentage of the populous will actually die from their chemicals but many people can be helped so itâ??s allowed. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/8/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was very hot all the time...thought I was having hot flashes. Racing heart. I've been transitioning to a new medication and just after three days I fell something I haven't felt in MONTHS, which is CHILLY!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Herb | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/19/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on Norvasc for several years started swelling of feet ankles and legs very bad had to go to hospital.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nicos | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/30/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/17/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Yes, Norvasc lowered my BP, but after 15 days on this drug my feet and ankles swelled up and I experienced lower leg pains. Took myself off this drug 10 days ago. Side effects ALMOST all gone but BP is now up again to 145/80. I will look for a NATURAL method tp lower my BP. I'm tired of side effects!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/9/2017
Condition: Chronic Stable Angina
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Swelling of hands feet and abdomen and flushing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
none | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/26/2016
Condition: Type of Angina Where Chest Pain Occurs at Rest
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was warned of dizziness. Has finally taken place after 7 days of use. No more angina. Taking to increase blood flow/reduce chest pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Realy Sick Ugggg | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/15/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Went from lisinopril to this med. I will not ever take it again. It lowered my pressure in two hours from 145/92 to 98/71. Took this med for a total of three days I felt like I was going to die. My pressure was lowered to the point of me almost fainting. Had severe muscle cramps, nausea, diarrhea, chronic fatigue, stiffness on half of my body, pain and pressure in all extremities, and terrible head and neck pain. I haven't had a dose in 7 days and I am still really sick. PLEASE DO NOT TAKE THIS MEDICINE Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More