Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

7 People found this comment helpful

After not sleeping cause of a cough and running nose I took this and was able to finally get a good nights sleep. I took it early and it knocked me out I slept a good nine hours.

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I bought NyQuil and NyQuil Nightime. Took the Nyquil at 6am before work and by 7am felt like I'd been hit with a tranquiliser gun. It's now almost mid-day and I can't keep my eyes open. When it says it can cause drowsiness, it's not kidding. Heaven knows what NyQuil Night-time is capable of!

Shared reviews and ratings

Dana | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/5/2022
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took recommended dosage for adult and have been terribly sick since. I have been vomiting, severe nausea, stomach cramps, back pain, very tired and have no appetite. This has gone on for 2 days now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Noemie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/28/2022
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Yes it stoo my cough, also gave me upset stomach, sweats and intense back pain, so much i was falling asleep because of the medication but couldnt sleep because of the pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anon | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/22/2021
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Nyquil was always my go-to night time medicine when I had a cold, but this time was different. I'm not sure if the formula has changed or something, but I bought a bottle of the cherry flavour, took slightly less than a full dose last night, and was up an hour later with severe nervousness, restless legs, feeling overall jittery and shaky. Won't take it again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/4/2019
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Itook two pills and falled asleep immediately at 8:00 pm and woke up the next day at 9:00 am, simptoms improved but the drowsiness this caused it scary, the next day I still was like in the clouds it is very strong not recommened to everyone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/19/2019
Condition: Runny Nose
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ricky | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month |
10/7/2018
Condition: Fever
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I took this medicine because I wanted to ease my flu symptoms(fever, sore throat, and dry cough) I took the NyQuil right before sleeping hours and like 25 min later, I went on my bed ready to sleep and my heart started beating fast, my fever got really bad before it started to ease a little bi, then as I closed my eyes for a while ready to sleep I felt this huge shake in my head I thought I was about to pass out and my hand started shake as well. I am a healthy guy. I donâ??t take other medications due to other illness because I donâ??t have any but this drug is terrible. I donâ??t recommend it. Side effects were unusual and very uncomfortable.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
crpmgp | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/26/2017
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take it to go to sleep and it makes me not sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month |
5/3/2017
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

There is no direction of dosage on the product. it only shows the ingredients of 30ml? how many times i should take this medicine per day?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
beachlove3 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/25/2017
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this medicine to suppress my cough so I could sleep. I found that it helped with that and I woke up the next day feeling well-rested. I will be taking this again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mj | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/25/2017
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took the cherry flavor cough suppressant NyQuil liquid immediately after my lips and nose started to tingle then my face felt really hot and turned bright red . Not sure what is going on l can't find any info on this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | Patient
3/5/2016
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I did not sleep well and still experienced runny nose and coughing. The following morning my lips and face were swollen. I believe I had an allergic reaction to it. I have used it before with no problem but this was the new cherry flavor. I will not use it again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/15/2015
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use the Nyquil/Dayquil caps. I don't know why, but I don't get the drowsiness! They do help me sleep though because they eliminate the cough and running nose, and for that alone they are worth it to me. I do not seem to get any side effects except for dry nasal passages, and that is okay with me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/20/2015
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

can't say this with absolute certainty, but taking Nyquil caused UTI for me.. I noticed it twice the first time i had some burning sensation the next time (a few weeks later) i took it, it resulted in UTI. Just posting here if there are more people who experienced this please post your experience and we can get vicks to add UTI as a side effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JH | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/23/2015
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

While nyquil is easy to pour and swallow, the side effects absolutely tear me apart. I often do not sleep well as well as very intense abdominal pain from the medicine. The abdominal pain can cause nausea and be worse than menstrual cramps.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shorkiemom | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/21/2015
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I love the cherry flavour! This saved me at night, as it effectively reduced symptoms so I could sleep. The one drawback is that I'm deadly drowsy in the morning, even after eight hours of sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/5/2015
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my go to medicine when I get sick. It works very well. I take DayQuil and NyQuil pills

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/3/2014
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very helpful. got the job done0 i mean, My fever went away, so how bad could it be? It tasted awful though

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bliss | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/30/2014
Condition: Flu-Like Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I currently have the flu. I took this medication and slept blissfully all night long. I don't know if it actually helped my runny nose, headache, sore throat, coughing and sneezing because I slept SO well. The only con for me was a dry mouth the next day, even though I drank plenty of water all day long.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GWGirl17 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/4/2014
Condition: Head Pain
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a college student and have used NyQuil to sleep with a cold and sometimes just to get a solid night of sleep (obviously not my best idea). But last night I took the normal amount and I've been blacking out all day long and I have been confused and just disoriented since I've woken up. I am a concerned and am thinking about going to the hospital.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
my name is bill | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/26/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i used to be a drug addict....CRACK and METH included....this thing comes very close :P

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More