Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

66 People found this comment helpful

Have been taking for just over a year now. I had researched statins before I started on them and take 200 mg of Co Q10 daily to prevent side effects. Haven't had any side effects and my cholestral is 169. I am dissapointed that I had to find out about side effects prevention on my own; doctors didn't offer any ideas on how to prevent side effects (about taking Co Q10).

Shared reviews and ratings

simivistatin | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/21/2021
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking simvastatin for 10+ years with good results. However, when I first started this drug I had rather severe pain in my hip joints and back. After talking with my doc, he suggested taking CoQ10 to alleviate the joint pain. When I did this, the pain stopped, and I have not had any hip pain issues for many years. I have since switched to Ubiquinol which is a more effective version of CoQ10 - 100mg.day. I would urge anyone taking any statin drug and having joint pain to try taking CoQ10 or Ubiquinol with it. My doctor is switching me to Crestor which also seems to have joint pain symptoms, and I will continue to take ubiquinol with it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
She | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/10/2020
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within a month's duration, this medication brought down my cholesterol levels to normal!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | Patient
4/4/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

doctor took me off as developed myalgias, cramping, pharmacist doubled the dosage and I developed Polymyalgia Rheumatica which I have been fighting for three years w relapes when prednison is reduced I flar up; prednisone has its own set of side effects, wht gain, muscle loss, name them all. wish I had never met the pharmacist that put me on a double dose after primary wrote in records I was Intolerant to simvistatin and statin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Unhappy | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/24/2018
Condition: Slow Progression of Disease of the Arteries of the Heart
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It lowers my blood pressure to 79/35. I almost pass out everytime I take it. My muscles are weak and hurt extremely bad. I stopped it. Terrible drug!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
linda s | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/26/2018
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Usually I am a very energetic person. This has caused me to have muscle spasms and I am very tired and fatigued. I am having these sensations in my legs mostly. I never had these symptoms until I started using these. I cant get off these soon enough. I am praying the damage can be reversed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sal | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/21/2018
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug caused me Shortness of breath,. Sleep Apnea and Cramps. I could not walk 50 feet without resting from the shortness of breath. .Co Q 10 helped with the cramps. I tried different statins and they all did the same thing to me. For 6 months doctors tried to find a cure. I stopped taking the statins and and the sleep apnea and shortness of breath went away in 5 days. Doctor had a hard time believing it was the statin. I hope this helps someone. (SAO)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
stromboli | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/26/2018
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Seized my shoulders and arms up would never ever take it again. A work colleague had his leg muscles seize up so he could barely walk and I know of many others with similar reactions to this drug. Changed to Atorvastatin and am OK now. Simvastatin was presecibed by the NHS because it is the cheapest, told that by my nurse but cheap is not everything.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sabrina | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/7/2018
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dee | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/23/2018
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The medication did not lower my cholesterol. Plus, the side effects were loss of mental concentration with memory loss and my fingernails began to lift from the fingernail bed. I couldn't even put on a necklace without my fingernails lifting.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kenstar23 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/22/2018
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this drug for about 10 years. it has effectively controlled my total cholesterol and LDL. When I first starting taking this drug I had fairly significant hip and back pain. My doctor suggested I take CoQ10 which helped significantly,. I now take ubiquinol which is the more effective form of CoQ10...50 mg morning and evening.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/10/2018
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a near stoke event and my doctor started me on this, and so far I have had zero problems taking this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Toni | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/30/2017
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking 20mg for almost 1 year has lowered cholesterol. However, the extremely painful throbbing in hips at night keeps me up and have muscle weaknes. I could not figure out the hip pain til read reviews online. Thought it was mattress and is not. This med makes you feel older with the weakness. Done with statins

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RussH | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/2/2017
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've taken this for over 10yrs and am very satisfied with the results. Started with a level of 260 and now am down to 180. No side effects that others have mentioned. Better than having clogged arteries and stroke!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cvs | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/28/2017
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had high cholesterol with LDL's around 120 after 3 years of use. Down from 166 or higher, can't remember but total was 243 and HDL was 26. Anyway, after 3 years they doubled my dosages from 20mg to 40mg and no change to LDL's.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gram44boys | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/18/2017
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking this drug for 6 weeks, I had leg cramps so bad that I couldn't sleep. I had to quit taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bren | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/13/2017
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I haven't been satisfied with this medicine. makes my muscles act

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ellen | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/24/2017
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is a bad drug. They started me out on 80mg of simvastatin about 10 years ago and I started having severe chest pain and had to go to the ER with it twice. The Doc lowered my dosage to 40mg but still had the same symptoms along with the feeling that my muscles were falling off of my bones. I told the Doc about it but was told to take it anyway. I stopped taking it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lynn | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/16/2017
Condition: Prevention of Transient Ischemic Attacks
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've started taking simvastatin 3 months ago, I now have severe muscle wastage in several areas including my legs, arms, buttocks and stomach. I've had no energy and felt constantly tired, I've had a foggy brain, I've been staggering a lot and felt disoriented. I didn't take last night's in fact I won't be taking anymore. Prior to taking this drug I had built up good muscle tone since starting exercising from May last year, simvastatin has virtually destroyed my muscles in less than 10 weeks. I only found out by doing research online that statins deplete the body of CoQ10 enzyme, which is essential for ALL muscles to function properly, including the HEART. I can see the obvious wastage of muscle on my body and limbs, what I can't see is if my heart has also been damaged. Why does this lethal medication be given out without at least us also being given the supplements it deprives the body of? I have now bought the supplements I need to try and reverse the damage the statin has done, I can't believe how damaging one 40mg tablet every night has done to my body. Hopefully the CoQ10, magnesium, vitamin B complex and drinking Apple juice every day, will help repair the damage caused by simvastatin. I have also found out that people who exercise whilst on statins have an increased risk of muscle disease/wastage, why was I not made aware of this also. I should have been feeling great, exercising 3/4 Times a week and eating healthy, instead I feel ill and in agony. More awareness of the dangers of these drugs to patients by the health care professionals when administering, also adding the supplements necessary that they deplete when prescribing and close monitoring (every month) should be mandatory . . BEWARE AND TAKE WITH EXTREME PRECAUTION .. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Roberta | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/15/2017
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible drug. Should be banned. Causes blood sugar to spike to dangerous levels causing more than 10 times amount of insulin. Cramps and muscle aches. This drug actually contributes to heart disease by causing the spikes in blood sugar. Studies confirm spikes in blood sugar cause heart disease, the very reason one would take this drug, to avoid. Also, studies on heart disease say cholestoral is not key factor. Inflammation play a key factor. So treat high cholestoral with diet, not pills. They will kill you. I recommend this drug be banned. It is killing people. I believe this drug caused my father-in-law to go into kidney and heart failure.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pegleg | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/10/2017
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken simvastatin for over 15 years. My cholesterol readings are fine, and I have felt good ever since I began treatment. I'm feeling lucky after reading so many of these other reviews!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More