Show ratings & reviews for

2.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

13 People found this comment helpful

I'm surprised by all of the negative reviews. I was in such pain I couldn't sleep and used it as a last resort since I'd tried everything else. Almost immediately after rubbing it into my knee I felt relief and was able to sleep. At times I've had to use it on my entire leg, gently rubbing it into the skin. I have had a burning sensation on the bottom part of my leg where the nerve endings are ...

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

DO NOT USE warning do not use. Product should be banned. Worst burning pain I have ever experienced. Very dangerous product. Capzasin HP sent me to the hospital for severe burning on my hands. You would not want this product in the hands of childern, elderly, animals or anybody. This product needs to be pulled from the shelves. Anybody who says different is a liar and most Likely works for the co...

Shared reviews and ratings

Sandi | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/28/2022
Condition: Nerve Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Superb! As soon as my retirement checks are deposited in my account, I immediately go online to purchase 4, yes four, tubes of Capzasin HP in order to get through the upcoming months! My Capzasin HP has been my go to source for the past 20 years. As a teacher required to stand whenever with students, I couldn't have performed my job. I suffer from cervical spondylosis, cervical stenosis, degenerative disc disease, scoliosis, 2-3 anterolisthesis, a bulge, etc. Standing, getting in and out of my SUV and exercising are excruciatingly painful without my Capzasin HP cream. I take a warm shower to open my pores, air dry and immediately slather myself with Capzasin HP daily in order to wash dishes and do my daily tasks. I hope this is some help to a muscular skeletal sufferer! :)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/9/2022
Condition: Joint Pain
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used it last night for knee pain. My hands started burning. The next day I still have severe burning on my hands. Nothing is relieving the pain. Feels like I have a severe burns. Never been burned like this before. Very painful. My Capzasin HP is going into the garbage.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Capzasin | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/28/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I usuallly use Thera-gesic whenever I need relief from arthritic discomfort. However, I was traveling and could not find it so I bought Capzasin. The only thing this product did was burn my skin. It offered no relief. The 1.5oz tube was expensive. I called the company to request a refund; was told to send in copy of receipt, upc, and expiration date. The email address given me was bogus. There oughta' be a law. I wished I had looked up the reviews before buying.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DH | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/4/2022
Condition: Pain associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The medication might help with the pain, but after causing a excruciating burning sensation. I applied it at night on my left knee and lower back. Minutes after, I experienced the most terrifying burning feeling, especially on my hand. It kept me awake for hours. I put my hand under cold running water. Desperate, I searched on the internet, and found thousands of people having the same issue with this product. I noticed inside the box, there are instructions of what to do if you experience burning. So, the company knows you can get burned using this product! I do not understand why is this on the shelves. I cannot imagine an elderly going through the experience I am going now. I am telling my family and friends not to use this product EVER!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lee | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/19/2022
Condition: Pain associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this due to have some tension pain in the back of my neck. It literally began to burn immediately I felt like I was on fire. I had to use alcohol, dish soap, and body scrubs to get this stuff off my skin, and I took a benadryl this stuff should not be on the shelf!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/10/2022
Condition: Pain associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Did not help

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Richard | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/27/2021
Condition: Pain associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Burned my skin at point of pain and hand used to apply it! Would not recommend this to anyone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
James pouz | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/26/2021
Condition: Pain associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I cannot believe that the negative reviews this is the best stuff I've ever used I now can walk on my knee and have not had to have any replacement yet thanks to captation HP tell everyone this is the best stuff on the market yes it burns but the pain in my knee was ten times worse

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Abe | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/26/2021
Condition: Sprains and Strains
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible medicine!!! STAY AWAY!!!!!!! The pharmacist that suggested it should be fired!! The people that made it should be forced to use it themselves so they can suffer too. I had mild paid from a simple wrist sprain. Im now in excruciating pain feeling like my wrist is being melted off my bones!!! 0 out 5 stars if possible.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Catherine | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/9/2021
Condition: Pain associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In regards to eliminating the arthritic pain from PSA inflammation, it worked only because my knee was literally on fire. I made the mistake of not reading the instructions about using gloves but had washed my hands right away and the burning didn't linger on my hands. My knee, on the other hand, burned so intensely that I was up for hours, washing with Dawn soap and olive oil, using petroleum jelly, sunburn spray, etc. Cold compresses with a washrag seemed to be the only thing that ultimately helped after trying all other measures. I'm not sure if maybe I used too much or am not able to withstand the severe burning sensation. Either way, BEWARE before using. I would test a small area first before applying to any major area of need. Good luck!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jane | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/8/2021
Condition: Pain associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Terrible burning within minutes when applied to my knee. Burned my hand that applied the cream also. Will never use again. This helped the burning: cold water mixed with Dawn and salad oil. Immediately felt better although I'm sure I'm going to have to apply again throughout the day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kaysd | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/22/2021
Condition: Pain associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I developed hip pain. No OTC oral meds (acetaminophen, Advil) helped much. My dr would not renew Meloxicam (which helped a little) because of my age. So after a week my husband suggested Capzasin—we had an old tube of it in the drawer. And it actually worked/works. After two days of using it, I thought I was cured, but research shows I will have to keep using it to keep those neurons at bay. Orthopedic doctor appointment is still three weeks off. And yes you need to wear a disposable glove to apply it—learned that the hard way, but any eye burning easily washed away quickly. Just use gloves.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
janet durso | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/23/2021
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

DO NOT USE THIS CREAM!!! I used the cream on the back of thigh and almost immediately started to get a sever burning sensation. My thigh turned bright and the pain lingered for hours!!!!!! I could not even sit in a cool bathtub or put ice pack on to relieve the pain!!!!!!!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Common Sense | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/9/2021
Condition: Joint Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am not going to jump to all the hyperbole from many of the negative reviews. Some would stereotype any positive reviews with labels like "liar" and so forth. I have "tennis elbow" and cut back some of my exercises to not make it worse, however, persistent pain 24/7 led me to try this solution and it works! No I don't apply it in to a large surface area like my knees or lower back. That would be a lack of forethought. But if you have an isolated area of joint pain, Capzasin HP may be helpful. There is a slight initial burning, but again, I apply only a very small amount no more than every four hours, usually only twice a day. This ointment is not the same as Ben Gay or some other. To apply in generous amounts over a large skin area is a mistake as testified by many reviewers on this site. It is potent and effective in small amounts. Also, do not assume that the decrease in pain means that the joint pain, etc. correlates to a decrease in the injury. The injury must receive a chance to heal and with regard to tendonitis, it may take from 3 days to 4 weeks and requires avoiding any aggravation to the injured area. Use common sense.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Douglas | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/3/2021
Condition: Joint Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Does cause a slight burning sensation but definitely stops the pain and allows free movement of my shoulder. Suggest using gloves to apply as it will be uncomfortable if you accidentally apply it somewhere you don't have pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Renee | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
5/5/2021
Condition: Pain associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pure hell. I purchased the cream for my husband and I at Target. The burning sensation was not instant so neither of us noticed the pain until well after the cream had been applied to different areas of our bodies. We both have a high tolerance for pain, but the extreme burning was so intense it had both of us on the verge of tears and contemplating an ER visit. We tried alleviating with mild soap, baby shampoo, dishwashing liquid, milk, yogurt, and aloe vera. None offered any relief. The cold water rinse was most effective, but only short term relief lasting a few seconds. The blow torch description provided by another user is 100% accurate. It was truly that bad. Our king was bright red with continual throbbing, burning, and aching. It took nearly 3 days for the pain to completely disappear. It would subside for a few hours and then reignite in the same manner it began. I would not recommend this product to anyone not even my worst enemy. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FreAK ME | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/3/2021
Condition: Joint Pain
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Jesus, I rubbed a nice amount on my left knee. I've been struggling with joint pain, tendonitis, inflammation in the knees the last few months off on. Die Hard Pickleballer. 4/3/21 midnight. Bought this CapzaSIN earlier at a pharmacy ON CLEARANCE!!!! Moms' struggles with Rheumatoid Arthritis figured maybe its hereditary. Within minutes my skin (knee) where cream was applied was burning worst then the trade towers (sorry, literally) RIP. Truly mentally torturing and physically excruciating. Oh my, I went and rinsed with cold water thoroughly. Repeated the process 5 minutes later. Then I started panicking, my heart rate increased. I'm thinking CRAP 1ST degree burn. Blood pressure wacky, brief moments of sheer terror grip me Should I hit the ER? Am I gone croak from this CRAP? What helped was I ran a sink full of cold water, vegetable oil (it states cooking oil), and dish detergent. God forbid I'll never use this stuff again unless I want some unexpected mind fu ing excitement. I mean WoW. 11.99 price tag with a 3.83 CLEARANCE price!!! I C Y!!!! Next time Icy Hot for me please. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
privacyplse | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/28/2020
Condition: Backache
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I put a small amount on my back and felt like someone was behind me with a blowtorch aimed at my back. After 15 minutes I washed it off with soap and water and it din't stop, so I washed it again with Dawn. This helped, but my whole back was blood red and burning for 2 days. Never again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
whitley | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/22/2020
Condition: Joint Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

1st application didn't notice a difference in my knee but you cannot wash this off your hands. I washed hands twice. I touched the corner of my eye and it burned and caused my eye to run water for several minutes. Washed hands again thoroughly thinking I am good. An hour later I touched the corner of my eye thinking nothing of it and again burned and eyes watered. 2nd application I got sunburn on both knees that lasted 10 hrs. I had to apply sunburn relief cream many times that day. My knees were red. I threw the bottle away.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sue | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/1/2020
Condition: Backache
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I put some in my husband with my bare hands and even though I washed my hands many times, took my contacts out later and my eyes were burning more than ever have experienced! Then I put gloves on and put in my back and experienced the worst burning pain. Next morning took a shower and the warmer water made my back and other areas I didnâ??t even put it on burn! I donâ??t think this stuff will ever come off!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More