Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

45 People found this comment helpful

I have been on benicar for 4 years. started on 20 mgs. Way too high I am on 5mg a day and it works great. This past aug, I started to develop a rash that looked like measles. I thought it was allergies. I am now 5 months w/ it every day and now it itches. Thought it was thyroid related but think the benicar is the culprit. I am allergic to sulpha so maybe that is a factor. It was great till now.

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

Too expensive. Too many side effects.

Shared reviews and ratings

Emmy | 35-44 | Female | Patient
6/2/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor had me switch to Olmesartan Medoxomil after I was getting really bad side effects from the Amlodipine I was taking to treat my high BP (racing heart beat - pulse would suddenly go up to 120 bpm, and chest pains. I’m an athlete and used to having a resting heart rate around 45-50 bpm so this was really uncomfortable and scary!). This seems to work much better! I’m more sleepy than normal but I’m hoping that this side effect will disappear after some time on the medication. And BP stays controlled, around 115/70 (before starting meds it was around 160/100). Hoping that this will work in the long term! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kat | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/30/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug has worked perfectly. My blood pressure is down to 120/ 75 and I haven’t had any side effects. I’ve been taking 20mg for 6 years at night and it’s really been a miracle drug for me. I have had high blood pressure since I was 31. I tried every natural solutions and for reference I’m thin, eat a healthy diet, exercise daily.. bad genes. I’ve been on many meds and was taking three blood pressure meds before( falling asleep at my desk as a side effect) starting in Benicar which stabilized my blood pressure. For me it’s been literally a life saverRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Debbie | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/18/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this drug for moderately high blood pressure for 7 months before I fully realized what it was doing to me. I might as well have been taking poison! I had diarrhea which the doctor said was not a side effect...but it is for those who have the sileac gene, which I do. This can continue to occur for the rest of my life even off the drug. I started losing my hair, not sure if it will ever fully grow back. A month after I stopped it I had a period. I am 70 and this is the first period I have had in 25 years, it was caused by the excess progesterone produced by taking this drug. If you on it I would highly recommend to stop! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Big V | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/19/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking Benicar Hctz for over 10 years two months ago start getting dizzy doctor took me off Benicar Hctz and just put me on Benicar without the Hctz starting it tomorrow waiting to see how it works

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SD | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/11/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Please do not take this olmesartin or benicar or any other drug in this family of drugs. The side affects sneak up on you acid reflux ,chronic sinusitis and allergies swelling in muscles especially arms face and legs painful muscles shoulder pains back pains doctors just try to treat your symptoms. By mistake I decided to take a antihistamine for my sinuses and noticed how I didnâ??t hurt as bad kept taking for 2 or 3 days and swelling ing my legs got a little better. Wow i hadnâ??t felt normal for some time made a doctor appointment , she took me off of olmesartin and changed my type of BP med and within one day off of this drug I was a different person. Iâ??m writing this review because this drugs side affects will sneak up on you and the doctors donâ??t catch that it is the drug until people are very sick . Be careful pay attention to your bodies cues and clues!!!!!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/3/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Need to get off this drug causing acid reflux stomach problems swelling in my entire body joints and legs really bad. Pain in all my joints and tendons ,tired ,weight gain. The only plus is that will control my BP . Hope to Change or get off BP meds

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/8/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug personally caused memory loss me. I went from calling out telephone number that was in my head for years to having to go the directory to find numbers. Once I stop taking the drug, my memory came back.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BigToe | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/26/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication works well for me. The only negative side effect is that since I've been taking it, mosquitos love me. I get bitten way more than anyone else, way more than before. My doctor laughs, says he's never heard of that before, but, it's true!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JF1017 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/14/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started out taking a less expensive ACE inhibitor, but it caused me to have a chronic cough that was so severe that I could no longer work, and I also had numerous sinus infections. When I changed to Benecar, the cough went away completely, and my blood pressure has been lowered to the safe range and stable. I have had some mild effects on my GI tract, but not to the point where I would give up this medication. I've found this to be a very effective drug that is very easy to take (I take 1/2 a 20 mg pill because it doesn't come in 10 mg doses).Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tee | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/16/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking benicar for 4 weeks now I have been experiencing some bad side effects my bp has been low.this medicine make me tired, weak fatigue light headed dizzines loss of appetite body aches numbness in arms legs tingle.i haven't never had any of the problem before I started taking bp meds I was taking benicar hct.went to the doctor she switch me to the benicar20 mg was instructed to cut them in half so hope it will help with all these side effects..if not I will be coming off..when they it lower your bp trust me it does.but mines it to low..i pray that some of side effects ease off once I cut them in halfRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/15/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 51 yr.young I've been taking benicar for the past 2 yrs. was 145/90 now 128/80 no side effects that I know of. Works for me..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
No meds | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/28/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Do not take this drug. It can kill you. Why it has not been taken off the market is inexcusable. About 1200 pending lawsuits. Why our system allows pharmas to kill people is horrrendous.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/27/2016
Condition: Diastolic Heart Failure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No problem for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lifeisgood720 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/12/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Immediate heartburn. Messes with my bowels. But the constant heartburn is the worst. Stopped taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
laurie2860 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/19/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had tried numerous prescription drugs to control my high blood pressure brought on by my fibromyalgia and diabetes. This is the ONLY drug that has worked for me, period. No side effects. Downside - very expensive. I am disabled and on Medicare. My insurance would not cover the dosage my doctor had prescribed, so we had to come up with a plan that was acceptable by Medicare in order for me to receive the medication. To date, I am happy to report that all is well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
woodstock | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/17/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this med made me feel worse than about any other I have taken for my BP. Within about a half hour of taking it, it felt like all my muscles had been overworked and fatigued. I also felt very tense and edgy. It also didn't control my BP as I had readings ranging from 270/140 to 224/114. So my doc has recently changed that med. I personally wouldn't recommend it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Patient
12/21/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Long term usage, too many side effects to mention, all were life altering side effects. Kept my B/P down, but the trade off wasn't worth it. Trying to find a new med,

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/22/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bad side effects. Severe migraines, the worst most crushing back pain between my shoulders that I've never experienced before. Body aches, runny nose feeling like I had a flu with body aches stuffed nose etc. Makes your pee smell. My whole body feels like it is being compacted and crushed. Do not take this medicine. It lowered my blood pressure but the side effects are not worth it. Makes you so tired all the time and in physical pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
txlady | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/20/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Even though Benicar has controlled my BP better than some other medications tried, I have had many problems with dehydration and higher than normal creatinine levels. I have terrible head sweating when doing even small amounts of work. Doing any work at all results in sopping wet hair.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/15/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am diabetic and my physician prescribed it as a preventative for high blood pressure, although it has never been high. Almost immediately after starting it my family started getting very frustrated with me having short term memory problems. It got worse and worse rapidly to the point that I couldn't remember how to do routine tasks at work and home. I honestly thought I was rapidly developing early Alzheimers. They insisted I schedule a dr. appointment and discuss the situation. He said it wasn't a reported side effect, but I discontinued using the drug and within three days I was back to my old self with no more memory problems. Clearly it was caused by the Benicar because it was the only change I made.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More