Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

23 People found this comment helpful

This is my second time taking this medication for fungal sinus infections. The first time I had the infection for over a year before being diagnosed correctly. I took V-Fend for 2 weeks only (because they did not have generic at the time and would have cost me $3000 for a month) and I was literally cured and was clear for 3 years. My doctor said that was pretty much a miracle taking it that short ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Freefromfungus | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/12/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I didn't take this medication orally. It was prescribed to be used with another medication for a foot-soak. My toenails were the infected areas. One is cleared. The other that was most infected is clearing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Thinlizzyrocks86 | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/4/2019
Condition: A Fungal Infection - Aspergillosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My lungs collapsed when I was 18 and only weighed 119 at 5' 10".That was 1977. Fast forward to 2002 and I am layyed off from High Tech due to company buy out. I go back to school to be able to extend my unemployment and in 2003 at age 43 I start coughing for months. Aspergillus they tell me and put me on antibiotics. I was coughing up Olive Drab Mucus all day. It didn't even want to go down the sink. I could not get through a meal without coughing so my weight fell to 119 and I began coughing up blood. Rushed by Ambulance to Boston. left lung removed the next day. They said it was black and I looked like a person with emphysema. So in 2003 at age 44 my weight went up to 143 and got married. Then coughing began again. They said I have a fungal ball next to my heart. Prescribed me first 400 mg of Voriconazole and then backed down to 300 mg a day. I am now 60 and it keeps the fungal ball in check. my lung doc said hit would be a bloody mess to remove and as long as the meds do not effect my kidneys and liver I am good to go. Still wish I had my 2nd lung. Get out of breathh just walking up 2 flights of stairs. Can still play the drums !!!! One of the side effects of Voriconazole is that it makes you more susceptible to UV rays. I lost 1/3 of my ear this past year. Have to wear sun screen and a hat every time I go out in the summer.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DavidPatrick | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/2/2019
Condition: A Fungal Infection - Aspergillosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had my left lung removed when I was 43 because of fungal infection(both lungs collapsed when I was 18 and thin/gaunt). Living with Fungal Ball now and have been taking Voriconazole for years.60 now. Started getting Basil Cell and Sqaumous Cancer on my face and ears. I must wear a wide brimmed hat during the summer.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
harleyrob | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/28/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Over all this medication has saved my life but have been taking it since 2011! I was diagnosed with pulmonary and disseminated Blastomycosis. I did the max dose of Amphoceritin b liposome and have been on Voriconazole since. Do suffer light sensitivity and vision issues. Skin issues and burn badly in the sun. Was just told may need life a treatment. Becoming hypersensitive Very expensive medication!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amomma | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/10/2014
Condition: Aggressive Fungal Infection - Invasive Aspergillosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my second time taking this medication for fungal sinus infections. The first time I had the infection for over a year before being diagnosed correctly. I took V-Fend for 2 weeks only (because they did not have generic at the time and would have cost me $3000 for a month) and I was literally cured and was clear for 3 years. My doctor said that was pretty much a miracle taking it that short of a time. I am now taking it again, 4 years later, and in my 3rd month. My sinuses were clear after 2, but I still had slight sinus pain, so my Dr. wanted me to take it one more month just to be sure it was all gone. Nothing but v-fend has worked to clear my fungal sinus infections. I do notice my skin is more sensitive to the sun. I also notice an effect on my eyes. For the first few weeks I take it (this has happened both times) when I take it before bed, and then go lay down in the dark with my eyes closed, it looks like someone is holding a flashlight in front of my eyes, then when I open them it is like strobe light show. This lasts for about 30 min. Taking in the morning, I do notice color changes in my eyesight for about 30 minutes or so also. Everything has a greenish yellow tinge. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lil mama | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/29/2014
Condition: Aggressive Fungal Infection - Invasive Aspergillosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Photosensitive. Had a dark tan this summer! Can never seem to get my level therapeutic even though I take as directed. Working on shrink fungal infection of lung

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/24/2013
Condition: Aggressive Fungal Infection - Invasive Aspergillosis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Medicine worked great except had to be discontinued due to bome marrow depression. I am being treated for T-Cell ALL but am not undergoing any chmo now. While inbetween cycles developed fungal lung infection which this medicine destroyed, however, it lowered my WBC to near ZERO so it had to be stopped as I cannot go back on chemo with this medicine still being used. I understand from a Swiss review that the marrow depression is very rare ( less than 1/2 of 1% ) but it very serious. You need to keep an eye on your WBC and neutrafils while on this medication. I was on the 200mg twice a day for about 2 weeks when I was stopped. My infection was destroyed but now have to seek an alternative to insure it does not return (Microfungin IV perhaps). Real tough call here between my oncologist and ID doctor. If there was no bone marrow depression I would rate this medicine 5 stars for satisfaction as well. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
emzmom | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/4/2012
Condition: Aggressive Fungal Infection - Invasive Aspergillosis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on my third series of V-fend for ABPA after a mass in my lung in 2009. I have successfully treated the ABPA, but each time developed allergic reactions. The allergic reactions were masked by taking prednisone in tandem with the v-fend. Each allergic reaction has been more severe. This time I have to find another means of treatment for ABPA, the next treatment of v-fend could kill me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
2/5/2012
Condition: Aggressive Fungal Infection - Invasive Aspergillosis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been in severe gastrointestinal distress since taking this med. Joints and muscles hurt like I've been beaten with a bat and now my face, throat, and stomach are swelling severely . I look like I've gained 30 pounds in a week.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HAPPY TO BE BREATHING | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/20/2011
Condition: Aggressive Fungal Infection - Invasive Aspergillosis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

AFTER 1 WEEK OF THIS MEDICATION,I ALREADY FEEL SOOOO MUCH BETTER.MY ASTHMA WAS UNCONTROLLED FOR 2 YEARS BEFORE THEY REALIZED I HAD FUNGUS IN MY LUNGS,I FEEL LIKE A NORMAL PERSON AGAIN!!!!! IM STILL ON PREDNISONE TOO BUT I HAVENT FELT THIS GOOD IN YEARS.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/18/2010
Condition: Aggressive Fungal Infection - Invasive Aspergillosis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

extereme hallucinations and iratability knew i was in the hospital but heard and saw things that were not there i even called people and really scared them including my girlfriend and brother if I never have a chabce to take this medicine again it will be too soon this is my second run in with this med and will never use it again unless life depends on it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mamaz | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/5/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed w/ Valley Fever 12/07 put on diflucan...didn't work. V-Fend has done wonders for me. I do have joint pain and now have asthma due to the nodual in my chest(from the illness), which will never go away. V-Fend has help me to get some of my life back- I took a vacation recently something I was not able to do in the past.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More