Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

36 People found this comment helpful

I was extremely nervous to take this medication after reading the reviews. I am a very small person with a very sensitive stomach, so I thought for sure I would be vomiting all week. Not so. The metal taste in my mouth is a little irritating, my appetite is decreased, and I feel a little groggier than usual, but it's really not so bad. Just thought I would write a review to ease some people's mind...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

Oral versus a vaginal gel: the pill is cheaper, the gel expensive. With the pill I experienced daily headaches, a feeling of being distorted, fatigue, dizziness, nausea, diarrhea, a stiff neck, and a metal taste in my mouth. I never had BV until the year 2011 after being sex-free for 3 years after my divorce. I began menopause in 2011 and that's when the BV began. And it keeps coming back at l...

Shared reviews and ratings

Js1234 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
9/19/2022
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m sure it’s helping for the most part. Although the metallic tast in mouth, I cannot taste my food properly if any at all. Severe cramping and painful urinating. It’s like a burning numbing feel. Ugh. Also the sex is so numbing I barely even feel it. The iud is the reason for this medicine. I hate it I hope everything goes back to normal. I have just as much pain on this than without it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sue | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/12/2022
Condition: Diverticulitis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dr put me on for 7 days twice a day 500 mg first 2 days were bad on 5 th day finally no diarea Back aches and headaches nasty taste hope this kills the bacteria before me won’t use again ever

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brolaura | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/4/2022
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I hate this antibiotic. It has awful side effects that last the duration of treatment. 1st day it kicked in while I was at work and I about hurled my guts up. Luckily I had Zofran in my purse to save me but I continued to need it or Phenergan throughout the course of treatment. Also when the initial nausea hit, I got very dizzy, weak and sleepy. The dizziness subsided but the weakness and sleepiness did not. I completely lost my appetite for a week. Only felt like laying in bed. It just makes me feel like I am inducing sickness on myself... but it did get rid of the bv infection. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lynn | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/30/2022
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Womb infection after polyp removed, put on 400mg 3 time day ,after 4th day I thought i had over dosed. This drug is too powerful for me and i refused to take any more,what ever the doctors say. Know your own body and dont let anyone tell you to Finnish the course if you really think you are in danger your health. You must look after yourself because no one else will, there’s too much dishing out tablets.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/25/2022
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This life saver medicine has cured my BV three times in my life. This medicine is amazing and works fast. Day one the smell was already gone I feel so relieved. Day 2 I feel even better. This is the only medicine that has cured my BV. No side effects it’s just a pill that does miracles.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
# | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/15/2022
Condition: Diverticulitis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bad side effects...difficulty concentrating, speaking, caused irritability, sensitive to sound, insomnia

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jukes | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/16/2022
Condition: Inflammation of the Stomach Lining caused by H. Pylori
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sure, this killed my h pylori infection, but 2 months on I'm suicidal from the constant motion feeling and pressure that makes me feel like my head is going to explode. I constantly feel like I've been drugged or am an alcoholic trying to hide the fact I'm drunk from everyone. I do not feel normal, I do not feel like me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Verna | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/15/2022
Condition: Infection that causes Diarrhea - Giardiasis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started working within 2 days, slowly subsiding, have another week of 2 a day, 500mg. for Cdiff. No side affects so far, been on it for 6 days.I am 81. Below didn’t let me select right age.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
EFarmer | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/14/2022
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking the meds for 2-3 days I noticed tingling and tenderness on my hip and upper thigh, lethargy, stiffness, anxiousness & trouble breathing (like horse was standing on my chest). I discontinued this on my own and made the nurse practitioner aware. I haven't received an alternative as of yet. However, this drug will never go into my system again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Meggie | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/3/2022
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This helped my bv a lot. No more bad smell down there which is great. The affects from the pill though weâ??re horrible. Constantly nauseous, feeling like I was gonna throw up. I was super tired, disoriented, dizzy and bad headaches. I wish I got another pill because the affects were so bad for me. I had to take gravol everyday just to keep me from feeling like my head is spinning.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Medronidazole | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
7/1/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine killed my 7 year old akc scottish terrier on the 2nd of taking this medicine!!! Please do not give to your pets!!! Its a killer!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maria | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/10/2022
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took the Metronidazole GEL for 5 days once at bedtime. That cleared my BV , was symptom free for 3-4 days after until I had sex. Then it came back. I was prescribed the Metro Antibiotic for 7 days. Didn’t see improvement until 7-8 days.. unfortunately that didn’t clear it completely either. Just make sure you take probiotics for vaginal health with the antibiotic. I read that RePhresh works great for BV so I’m trying that next! Sorry to be a part of the never ending BV club, but hoping the probiotic will work. ?? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sue G | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/8/2022
Condition: Diabetic Foot Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No good. 2 hours in and my skin is on fire

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ooterman | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/2/2022
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bv symptoms started to clear up within the first few days but the taste of the medicine and the headaches with it are kind of hard to deal with.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Susan | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/29/2022
Condition: Infection Within the Abdomen
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severe itchy rash all over body. Lasted over a week after taking two pills

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kyo | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/21/2022
Condition: Infection caused by the Bacteria Anaerobes
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The effect was good but the side effect is very serious. It got me the bitter taste in my mouth and its the worst and i feel nauseous everytime. I feel dizzy and each day side effects gotten worse like you got another sickness .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
STEPHANIE | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/25/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I GET NO SIDE EFFECTS FROM THIS MEDICINE. BUT IT DOESNT WORK.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jessica | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/19/2022
Condition: Diverticulitis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just started taking this medication seven days ago. I’m on the last day! I just hope that the medication will work. I have experienced heart palpitations (feeling like a panic attack is going to happen) lightheadedness, fogginess, sleeplessness, bloated and nauseous. I never would have taken this RX had I known how it would make me feel. I kept getting pushback and was told to finish out the 7 days. Miserable experience!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/6/2022
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I never had physical symptoms of BV, i found out I had it from lab testing, so I don’t know how well the pills were working. I do know that while on this antibiotic, for the five days that I was on it, I experienced dizziness, headaches, irritability, depression, loss of appetite. I also experienced non-stop heart palpitations for days. I ended up switching to the gel after going to the hospital for the heart palpitations, and it was so much better. No side effects at all. Would definitely recommend the gel over the pill Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ell | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/30/2022
Condition: Infection caused by the Parasite Balantidium
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this for the past week first few days was OK 3 was hit with massive earache and tiredness. And all the side effects under the sun . I am 38 weeks pregnant and it's the worst I have ever felt. I wad completely fine and didn't even feel ill before taking them now I'm feeling like a bus as run me over :( not even been able to take anything really for the side effects. Last day today and I can't wait for these to be out my system!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More