Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

32 People found this comment helpful

I was experiencing sever tiredness and shortness of breath. I having been taking this medicine for just under a month and can finally breath normally. I didn't realize what a struggle I was having breathing until the medicine started taking effect and I experienced easy breathing, I am breathing 100% better.

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

Symptom: Blurred Vision. I was prescribed Singular for Asthma and in that respect, it was very helpful - my lung capacity was improved as well. But I cannot read for more than 5 minutes as my central vision becomes very blurred. I am an artist and a writer so you can imagine how distraught I was. My eye specialist determine what was causing my blurred vision. I reduced my dosage by half then a qu...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous |
5/24/2021
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SteveB | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
5/3/2021
Condition: Allergic Asthma
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Allergist prescribed this for seasonal allergies. After about 6 months started to have memory issues. Went to Neurologist and he had me stop it IMMEDIATELY. Supposedly the effects should wear off in a couple of months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Steve B | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/1/2021
Condition: Allergic Asthma
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed by my allergist. After 6 months on this drug, started experiencing cognitive issues. Saw my GP doctor, was referred to a neurologist. Neurologist told me to get off this drug immediately. He advised it has known issues. It was fairly effective but certainly not worth losing your mind over. Check with multiple doctors before taking this 'medication'. Hopefully the effects wear off over time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa S | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/11/2020
Condition: Allergic Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I know it says here that it may not work right away, but the first time I took it and layed down, my nose cleared up, I didn't cough and I could breath. I've only had like 4 doses but immediately I can tell the diff and I'm not coughing continuously like I was at night.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/17/2020
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Excellent for seasonal allergies, probably the best Iâ??ve ever taken but BEWARE the side effects. I had terrible insomnia and increased nervousness whilst using Montelukast. Stopped taking it about 4 weeks ago, now sleeping well and no nervousness Side effects were so bad I probably wonâ??t take it again despite itâ??s effectiveness

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Curious | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/31/2020
Condition: Allergic Asthma
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The satisfaction rating is because of the side effects it caused. It works very well in alleviating allergies and subsequent asthma from allergies. However, it was recently learned that years of muscle weakness, random leg and arm pain, arm and leg tingling, and blurred vision are all a result of taking this medicine. Do your research, know the side effect, and be diligent about knowing the changes in your body and protecting yourself from these side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gia | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/12/2019
Condition: Asthma Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works and that is all I care about! I have had asthma since the age of 2. Always in E.R and on Prednisone which I did not care for night sweats bad on dental, nervousness

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dale lynn | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/16/2019
Condition: Allergic Asthma
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since I have been taking this med. I now have pain and numbing in my feet

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kat27406 | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/22/2019
Condition: Late Onset Asthma
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've found it somewhat effective but I also have other respiratory conditions. I take it...but with so many other meds it's kind of hit or miss.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vannette1908gmail.com | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/13/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since taking the meds... I easily get irritable and actually hurt my self out of Frustration (which I have never ever done before) and I think it makes me feel depressed. To the point that I hurt myself infront of my kid. And I felt soooo bad.... Me and my husband were talking about it and check the medication I have for side effect. And there it was... One of the side effects are depression s, thoughts of hurting oneself (in my case I already did... ????=) and other scary stuff....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/18/2019
Condition: Allergic Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used to have asthma and horrific allergies. This medication is AMAZING. I no longer have any such symptoms... my allergies are GONE and I haven't needed to use my rescue inhaler in a few years. All I can say is thank you to whoever made this drug and I wish that it could be over the counter because I have a feeling it could help a lot of people with their allergies as well

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Reryl | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/14/2019
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been experiencing sinusitis for over a month now. I went back to my doctor a week after my first check up and since my cough and runny nose are still existing. She added Montelukast, I havent read anything about this drug until now. This is my second night of taking it. The effect of the drug was great but the side effect isnt. I have been awake for almost 42 hours now. I cant sleep even how much I forced myself to do so. I didnt have this experience from the medicine I had last week. At work, I also had this irritation and my temper is so unsual. If I had know the side effects before taking my second table, I wouldnt have done it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
recylist | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/27/2018
Condition: Asthma Prevention
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Though this medicine in conjunction with albuterol sulfate was more effective for treating my asthma than any other (I took it regularly, and never missed a day), it caused my depression to become far more severe than it was before. Previously, I had a depressive episode once or twice a month. Since I began taking the generic montelukast, I have experienced 5 depressive episodes in the last month. I have also experienced thoughts of self harm, which had never before been an issue. If you have severe depression, I would not recommend taking this drug. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
recylist | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/27/2018
Condition: Exercise-Induced Bronchospasm Prevention
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Though this medicine in conjunction with albuterol sulfate was more effective for treating my asthma than any other (I took it regularly, and never missed a day), it caused my depression to become far more severe than it was before. Previously, I had a depressive episode once or twice a month. Since I began taking the generic montelukast, I have experienced 5 depressive episodes in the last month. I have also experienced thoughts of self harm, which had never before been an issue. If you have severe depression, I would not recommend taking this drug. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
recylist | 13-18 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/27/2018
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Though this medicine in conjunction with albuterol sulfate was more effective for treating my asthma than any other (I took it regularly, and never missed a day), it caused my depression to become far more severe than it was before. Previously, I had a depressive episode once or twice a month. Since I began taking the generic montelukast, I have experienced 5 depressive episodes in the last month. I have also experienced thoughts of self harm, which had never before been an issue. If you have severe depression, I would not recommend taking this drug. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lanne9 | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/25/2018
Condition: Allergic Asthma
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Symptom: Blurred Vision. I was prescribed Singular for Asthma and in that respect, it was very helpful - my lung capacity was improved as well. But I cannot read for more than 5 minutes as my central vision becomes very blurred. I am an artist and a writer so you can imagine how distraught I was. My eye specialist determine what was causing my blurred vision. I reduced my dosage by half then a quarter over a weekâ??s time. My vision problems have decreased dramatically. I plan on discontinuing the medication altogether, and if needed, I may try the brand name in the future.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/26/2017
Condition: Late Onset Asthma
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dawn | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/3/2017
Condition: Asthma Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm amazed by how much this medication has improved my quality of life. Since I've been taking it, I have not had any asthma exacerbations. Prior to taking it, I would have 1-2x/year where my asthma exacerbations were so bad that I had to take prednisone and use a nebulizer as well as my inhalers. I am thrilled with this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gastroparesis Girl | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/4/2017
Condition: Asthma Prevention
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this for a brief period for asthma control a while back. It didn't work at all for that when I took it. My doctor ended up switching me to Zyflo CR, and there was a world of difference.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/9/2017
Condition: Allergic Asthma
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lifelong allergies and asthma.In combination with symbicort this medication has controlled my asthma to the extent that I have used my rescue inhaler less than once a year for the last 10 years.i

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More