Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

19 People found this comment helpful

I was having to get Botox injections in my neck muscle every three months for cervical dystonia and after I started the Artane and had been on it for approx 5 months, I was able to discontinue the Botox injections. It does affect my short term memory somewhat but that is better than constant pain in my neck and my head being pulled to one side (very embarrassing)

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

It was horrible! I lost weight and the Dystonia was worse you must be very careful with this medicine. I have spasmodic torticollis.

Shared reviews and ratings

Kuno78 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/24/2022
Condition: Extrapyramidal Reaction
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I must say it does it’s job well as I may have had one faint myoclonic jerk on it. That said, and my bipolar may play a part in this, but to say this medication affected my cognitive abilities and memory is an understatement. I literally can not recall any memory of my time on this crap except for very faint delusional thoughts here and there!!! If you want dementia, by all means. Also the junk is so dangerous, it is to be tapered in the most exact way to avoid harm

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
S1GH | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
12/24/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Uweeeh?! I took haripladol, ended up with a muscle pull in my neck. My head being pulled to one side and one side of my body paralyzed... It was hell!!! I even forgot how to walk. I rushed to the nearest Chemist but they don't offer the meds without a doctor's prescription. So I was rushed to the hospital and after being inserted the drip to flush the haripladol from my veins, I was given Artane and though it took a while for the muscle pull to really disappear, Artane was prolly a life saver. It gave me nausea and after I stopped using it for 3 days as instructed by the doctor, I lost appetite and having a massive diarrhea accompanied by a tummy ache. But again, artane was worth it!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
John | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/28/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have cervical dystonia. After trying every drug suggested, Artane was definitely a game changer for Was also receiving Botox injections for years along with Artane. Had DBS surgery which was successful and do not require Botox injections, and my Artane reduced to 2Mg /twice daily. I have tried to do with out the Artane and could not do it.....still take it today

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mario | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/25/2017
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/5/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kin | 55-64 | Male | Patient
11/6/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has off label uses like RLS,works as a drying agent,has antidepressant value,and help relax spasms. It is not controlled and is dirt cheap.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ThatguywhotakesArtane | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/25/2014
Condition: Extrapyramidal Reaction
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It feels like I'm taking morphine. Makes me giddy and tired. Also, I feel heavy and slow when walking. It feels like there's extra gravity pulling me down. My only problem with this drug is that it causes paresthesia (pins and needles and arm numbness). It's moderately effective at reducing akathisia. I take 2.5 mg a day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more |
6/21/2014
Condition: Extrapyramidal Reaction
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It makes crave food as well a sex. It also makes me move my bowels.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/30/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It makes me feel High and drowsy. It also makes me want sex. If I do have sex, the orgasm is heightened.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AddyD | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/21/2013
Condition: Extrapyramidal Reaction
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Using it to offset potential side effects of higher dosage of Abilify. Thus far, I have not experienced any EPS.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
irphil | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/18/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Oral mandibular dystonia. Helps somewhat.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elaine | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/24/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So far it has helped ease the the spasms around my eyes but not the actual eyelid which spasms and stings. No one seems to listen to me as the eyelid is the worse of it and all doctors I have seen just seem to dismiss this part of whatever is going on with me. My eyelids are swollen every day and sting and go into spasms. Around the eye/above eyebrow has seemed to stop when I take the medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dystonia Trihexyphenidyl | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/8/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken Artane for 16 years for Dystonia. At the beginning I was unable to walk one block. Nowadays I can dance the Tango on 17 to 21 mg/day. I discovered that in France, they make Parkinane LP (Libération Prolongée = Sustained Release). The advantage is that you don't have to take it all day but it takes effect all day. I can take 9mg with Breakfast, I experience no "high" and I can function normally the whole day at a desk job. Then, if I'd like to dance, I take another 10mg+ of the faster acting Artane. The Parkinane is very reasonably priced in France 3 Euros for 20x5mg.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jdc | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/6/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have trouble reaching orgasim

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kattee | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/16/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have closed-mouth dystonia. All this drug did for me was make me want to sleep all time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MGwilliam | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/6/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from Dystonia. After trying several treatment options over 2yrs, Artane has been the most successful at eleminating the muscle spasms and relaxing things. The side effects for me include mild depression, drossiness, constipation, memory loss, however the benefits do outweigh the side effects. I keep fighting!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gwidlowejhwov | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/16/2011
Condition: Parkinson Symptoms
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Loss of weight

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/21/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
leopardeyes | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/21/2010
Condition: Extrapyramidal Reaction
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took abilify and it caused tardive dyskenesia. I was prescribed 10 mg of Artane. It was too much for me. It made me have EXTREME short term memory loss for a few hours. After several doses, it started to make me naseous and the only way to stop it was to drink orange juice with lots of pulp. Now I only take a quarter of a 5mg pill every now and it has kept my sypmtoms away. A note: the brand Danbury is better than the Qualitest brand. Danbury doesn't upset my stomach like Qualitest does.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
thomrdm | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/2/2010
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have only been on artane fer 3 days and can tell a difference,,hope it gets better

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More