Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

20 People found this comment helpful

Been on this drug for a couple of months, but have a question for those out there.. I'm on it for PAF...I have noticed that when i am compliant with the drug, i am starting to get very bad leg cramps and now i'm experiencing pain in neck and shoulders. Anyone else experiencing these???? Some days i have to lift my head off the pillow to support my neck and shoulders!!!! Help!!

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

My doctor has me on cardizem and Rythmol for Atrial Fib. It has worked well but the side effects from the cardizem is awful. I have leg swelling and my legs feel heavy. Have a lot of joint and muscle pain. I am going to talk to my doctor to change the med. Too much pain.

Shared reviews and ratings

Geo | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/3/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was on Cardizem for two years after trying countless other drugs, so happy to find it. BUT after two years on I devolved horrible led pain, trying removing other drugs on at a time even went off chemo for a while. Stopped the Cardizem and it went away in 4 days. Cardio MD just would not accept it, had to change cardio MD. Im sure its the chemo reacting with the Cardizem but I had to choose one drug, chemo was more important. Ace inhibitor works good so far. Maybe after two years I will have to change again. Good drug but not for me..Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tired | 65-74 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/28/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since I have been on this medication I have had debilitating side effects. My nose runs to point of embarrassment, terrible cough,weak legs, swollen legs, weird dreams, fatigue, insomnia, have fallen numerous times, dizzy spells, help! Dr doesnâ??t recognize my complaints!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/3/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been struggling with this medication, since I started taking it.,light headed ness; muscle fatigue; heavy legs=falls; headaches; runny nose; cough; muscle aches; nausea. It has really affected my life style.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lex | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/12/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On catdizem generic six months. Visited my cardiologist this week. Results: bp 136/76 pulse 67. Very pleased. No side effects. Highly recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Keith | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/6/2018
Condition: Supraventricular Cardiac Arrhythmia
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

August of 2013 during a stress test, which can damn near kill you, I manifested AFib. They gave me 3 Bystolic tabs to calm that down and then put me on Lisinopril. Too many side effects. I also have Bradycardia along with the AFib. Also am the proud owner of a pacemaker to control Bradycardia. I've been on Lisinopril, Metoprolol, which was a disaster, and Flecainide which works and now Diltiazem. I take Flecainide twice a day and Diltiazem 120 once a day at night. Last Sun. I experienced the worst vertigo I've ever had when I got up in the morning. Also total body sweating and nausea causing me to throw up. I've also been tired a lot. I thought I was having a heart attack. Went back to bed, of course, slept for 2 hours, got up and felt fine. Called cardiologist next day with symptoms and he thought I was dehydrated from working outside most of the day. I had consumed 2 liters of water on Sat, hmmmmmm. Does he not know the side effects of Diltiazem I had 4 of the 8 side effects. How many more do I need. Woke up this morning, the first Fri. after last Sun.,at 2:30 with vertigo and nausea. I don't think I can keep this cycle up for long. I get an interrogation on my pacemaker in 3 weeks so I'll see what happens til then. I've been on Diltiazem about 6 weeks. Had no symptoms on the 3X a day dosage but now on once a day, curious. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cathy | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/11/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken cardizem for years and as Iâ??ve aged it is not processed through liver as well. I have developed liver damage and the doctors are thinking it could be from long term use of diltiazem and other drugs prescribed.. I developed very low blood pressure and was having extremely irregular heartbeats, edema, heavy pulsating in my neck and pressure building in my neck and head...I have always been fatigued and tired and chalked it up to my blood pressure drugs... Dr. immediately took me off of diltiazem for hypotension.. I feel like a new person. I have energy, the edema is slowly dissapating, the pulsating in my neck and head pressure is totally gone.. I have actually slept better since Iâ??ve been taken off of this drug. I just think that because I have taken this drug for years and my Body has aged that it canâ??t process this drug though my liver anymore and because I have liver disease... it worked for me when I was younger, but had side effects that I wasnâ??t aware of that were most likely from diltiazem.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Honest Voice | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/2/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication since June 2017, and it has helped but I still have some rapid beat events of which I have to go to the ER for adenosine. My current issue is that I am having practically all of the side effects listed. I just want to feel like myself again so I will continue to take this medication just to not have as many episodes that lands me in the ER.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
??? what's this? | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/1/2017
Condition: Supraventricular Cardiac Arrhythmia
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Extreme initial dizziness sent me back to ER"You'll adjust." instead, extreme fatigue, some balance disturbance WORST: probably inappropriate for condition: I was NOT experiencing angina, BP was not "elevated" but yo-yoing: 40 bpm to 120 bpm; back down, back up etc. Wait TWO MONTHS for Holder evaluation? On this stuff?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
L.H. | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/1/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 120 mg at bedtime each day to treat high blood pressure, which is now under control. The reason I take it at bed-time is that I feel faint after I take is. In the mornings, I am light-headed and feel faint until about noon. It is way better than the Ace Inhibitors and the Valsartan I was taking previously, so for now I can put up with the lightheadedness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
britt | 25-34 | Female | Patient
10/15/2015
Condition: Type of Angina Where Chest Pain Occurs at Rest
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severe night time chest pains heart fluttering extremely high heart rate only when I'm laying down at night time flat I have to be sitting up for the pain to go away no sleep for 2 weeks one trip to the ER EKG normal stress test treadmill normal ultrasound normal no drugs no smoking no anxiety after taking these pills I was finally able to go to sleep at night I have had them for a week but I have to take them every night or else the pain comes back

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
crazygirl1025 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/25/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Extreme tiredness, itching leaving sores, very weird dreams, extreme sweating

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/10/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

caused coughing

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amk79 | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/13/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor has me on cardizem and Rythmol for Atrial Fib. It has worked well but the side effects from the cardizem is awful. I have leg swelling and my legs feel heavy. Have a lot of joint and muscle pain. I am going to talk to my doctor to change the med. Too much pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
J'lu | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/7/2014
Condition: Supraventricular Cardiac Arrhythmia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was used in ER in liquid form to lower the rapid heart beat. Now on the pill and so far in five months I have had one lower intensity attack.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/15/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

drymouth headaches

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/11/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ankle and foot swelling

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cardizem | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/1/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I experienced severe headaches using minimal dosage.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
eddiott | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/28/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

feet 3 x normal size, bruising everywhere on my body, abnormal rash on my penis causing bleeding, being heart transplant patient one would think doctors would look at interactions a bit more closely, asahme medical care has gotten this bad

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Getting Better | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/24/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine made me check into the ER due to dropping my heart rate too low. I had very bad bout with weakness, feeling faint, lighthead ness , nausea, off balance, vertigo for the off balance, shortness of breath and so on. Remember that only God knows all and if you are having an issue with your medicine alert to Dr to get it changed

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stella 55 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more |
4/16/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My blood pressure was running high, since taking cardizem cd it is now controlled

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More