Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

11 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking this medication (5mg for BPH)for more than 5 years, no side effects. It has also lowered my blood pressure to normal. I am 64 years old male. The day I miss a dose I have difficulty urinating.

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

This medicene had very long times to results

Shared reviews and ratings

Jeff | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/10/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used Hytrin 10 Mg for a period of 3 months for high blood pressure. At first I was very satisfied with it, however after approximately 1 month of use I was constantly fatigued, with body aches and nasal congestion. It made breathing at night very difficult and getting out of bed in the morning very painful. Sexually my erections were very limp, hard to maintain and my drive was greatly diminished. Even Viagra was less effective while taking Hytrin. One strange side effect for me was a very noticeable change in the relaxed state of my scrotum and penis. Both of them sagged considerably more while taking Hytrin, to the point of it being somewhat uncomfortable due to the amount of sag. I have since stopped taking Hytrin due to these side effects, and I feel lots better!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hantal | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/27/2014
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication (5mg for BPH)for more than 5 years, no side effects. It has also lowered my blood pressure to normal. I am 64 years old male. The day I miss a dose I have difficulty urinating.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kp | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/11/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kyle | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
11/28/2013
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication after taking for 3-4 wks ,had servere constipation. I stopped taking until that was under control,then contiued with a less dosage.Hopefully this will help.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SHD1622 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/27/2013
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

NO ISSUES AT ALL TAKING THIS MED. NO SIDE EFFECTS.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hytrin | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/1/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has helped.However after walking or seating for a while I develop pains in my lower back.Please advise. Thank you.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dominick | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/20/2013
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking this drug for several years, but noticed that the increase in urine flow was diminished within a few weeks. However, it continues to help. BP was reduced, and I don't seem to have any side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
beniyyart | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/5/2013
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffered from severe and chronic nasal congestion from using this drug, and since I also suffer from sleep apnea and the CPAP machine I use has a mask only for my nose, I had to stop using the Hytrin in order to be able to sleep at night using the CPAP.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Charles | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/26/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very careful to monitor blood pressure and dosage. Take about 4mg nite and 4mg AM. Good medicine for three reasons. Puts me to sleep at nite, helps urination and lowers blood pressure a little.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RapidRobert | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/15/2012
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It was suggested by my MD to replace 10 mg of Lisinopril and .4 mg of Tamsulosin daily. It is also considerably less expensive tham Tamsulosin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bmg | 55-64 | Patient
3/4/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 64 yr old female and had issues with bladder leakage.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brooks | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/18/2011
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 81 and have used 2 mg. generic Hytrin for over two years with excellent results. From three times, I now get up only once at night. I take it about an hour before bed so that any dizzyness is mitigated before dawn. Have had no trouble getting an erection and ejaculating.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RW | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/23/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have just started taking.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
boxerson | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/16/2011
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well the drug worked it cut down my trips to the bathroom. But the side effects almost killed me. I had terrible chest discomfort, throat was tightened hard to breath and swallow,,I was tired all the time would fall pass out at the computer. It was no fun. I am now waiting for the doctor to give me something else to take. It is still not out of my system and I have some side effects, I was scared of this drug. It was great having the relief but not the side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
retiredguy | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/25/2011
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking 2mg dose before bed time for 4 months has somewhat improved urination symptoms (frequency, urgency) and dropped my blood pressure from borderline hypertensive to low normal. No other side-effects after the first two days (some dizziness after first two doses).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/21/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine made me very sick where I couldn't function and I lost weight in the week that I took it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lnsots29 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/30/2010
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking this has relieved my constant urination. Once back on it (after stopping it) urination became normal. I stopped it when I started Avodart. Dr. failed to tell me to continue on the Hytrin.) So I was running to the bathroom (literally) all day and nite. Gee.....wonder why the doctor forgot to tell me to stay on the Hytrin with the Avodart?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
K.L. | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/22/2010
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking 1mg at bedtime for several months now at bedtime and it has worked well. The positive is that I get a very restful sleep and dream a lot. I feel like I have better mood and energy levels. However I have had pain and tingling in my hands, but that may be caused by something else. Also have noticed more hair loss than normal, but again, may be caused by another condition, but both symptoms began around the same time I began Hytrin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
googman | 75 or over | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/12/2010
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

makes me so tired,ihave to find a seat soon.no sexual desire at all. shrunken penis. but brings bp down to normal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/28/2010
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

makes me very dizzy,nausious

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More