Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

20 People found this comment helpful

I'm at the end of my 3rd pack. I am 29 and this is my first time being on birth control. I am very slender and haven't gained any weight at all. No breakouts. I take the pill at night so I don't have any naseau either. This pill is VERY low dose so you MUST take it at the SAME time every day. You have a window of about 15-30 minutes. If you take it late by more than 30 minutes, you will hav...

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

I have been on almost every birth control pill out there. It seems like whenever the "bigger, better pill" comes out my doctor likes to try and switch me. I was on Yasmin for a few years and loved it... until about 4 months ago when I started getting erratic chest pains. I passed it off at first as I ate something that didn't agree with me or I moved wrong and pulled something, but when I saw t...

Shared reviews and ratings

Sylvia | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/9/2017
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication for 3 months and it was going well and now on the 4 months I had my period for one week, three days off and then 3 complete weeks of bleeding. That does not seem right for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
goldenalice | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/10/2015
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Loestrin20 three weeks ago and today, after seeing my doctor again, I was forced to stop it. From day one, I have been experiencing all sorts of awful side effects: numbness in all extremities, fainting, problems with breathing, headaches, weakness and dizziness to the point that I couldn't drive to work. I ended up in hospital, twice. A few days doctors were concerned I was experiencing a stroke because of a sudden sharp pain in my head which was followed by numbness in the left side of my face and left arm. It wasn't fun!! I never had issues in the past with birth control pills, but this one is obviously not suitable for me, while instead thousands of women are fine taking it. If you are thinking of starting this pill, don't be paranoid and go for it. BUT: If you experience bad side effects, PLEASE interrupt your treatment and see your doctor asap. Birth control pills shouldn't cause major side effects, and if they do it's a clear sign that you are at risk and must look for a better option!! Always, always, always listen to your own body.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
unhappy | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/9/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on another version of Loestrin that they discontinued, so they put me on 1/20 Fe instead. It was okay at first; still had little to no period, almost no PMS symptoms, and I obviously wasn't pregnant. But as time went on (2 years in) I noticed that my sex drive plummeted. I had no desire to even think about sex, let alone want to have it. I'm always bloated and losing more than five pounds just isn't an option, even with a healthy diet and exercise. In the last few months I've seen an upward spike in cystic acne, which I haven't had an issue with since I was in high school. I also started to get my period again, and it's just as bad as it was before I first started birth control five years ago; heavy bleeding, nausea, and awful cramps that aren't treated by OTC drugs. I just want to curl up; I have no desire to do anything most days. Going to talk to my doctor about switching because this is no way to live. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
12/1/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug is fabulous. I have been on the pill for over a year. Still have mood swings, bloating and other PMS symptoms, with no cycle. Its great!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/22/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

THIS PILL RUINED MY LIFE. I never had hair loss issues EVER until I started to take this pill. Several months in and I was shedding like mad. Stopped taking it. Apparantley it caused me to have permanent hair loss. Now several years later I have lost over 50% of my once beautiful hair and it just keeps getting worse. It kick started something in my system at 30 years old. Please beware if you begin to shed. STOP immediately.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sierralynne | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/30/2014
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I always had heavy periods and severe cramping. My mom has endometriosis, so it's likely genetic. I have been on this birth control pill for a year and a half now. It has shortened both the length and heaviness of my period, and drastically reduced my cramping. I haven't noticed any side effects to date.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/10/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got pregnant, that's pretty much the worst thing that can happen with a birth control pill..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/9/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i been takin this pill for a year now and i love it no side effects less cramping mild bleeding and shorter periods.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Happy Camper | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/3/2014
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No complaints. Try it for at least 4 months before giving up. Your body has to adjust.Been on this for 6 months. first 2 months I had irregular bleeding and only wanted to eat turkey sandwiches and yogurt day and night, and cramps stopped immediately. Now, no cramps, no bleeding, spotting for two days at the end of each pack.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kyeattam | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/17/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this drug for almost 2 months now, since starting i have been very mood, i have had a constant headache (havent had one in over 2 years) and also i am constantly HOT, i have had to walk out of stores stand out in the cold air at night just for relief. I am constantly tired and have had some dizzy spells

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
April | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/17/2014
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | Patient
3/20/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this for 2 months. I've missed my first period but had spotting 2 weeks after I was supposed to get it. My second period is on time. While I don't have horrible mood swings, I'm bitchy all the time . Have bad cramps but there's definitely worse birth control I've been on. I just have to be careful to how I react to everything ,ha! I think I'll just deal with it because I've been on so much worse.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | Patient
2/24/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this BC before becoming sexually active. Before taking Loestrin I had mood swings and cramping the week before my period. I have taken loestrin about a year now and have noticed less cramping, lighter periods. But instead of having mood swings only a week before my period, I feel like I am slightly "PMS ing" all the time. My layed back mood has changed to more aggressive. I am not patient like I was before and cry over nothing...at work, at home, everywhere. I drive my poor husband, my coworkers, and my family crazy I know and do not like myself as much as I did. I would rather have a baby (since the reason I was taking the pill was to prevent birth right now)than feel like this all the time. I want to be myself again, so I have stopped taking Loestrin this month and am hoping to see some improvements. I also had headaches almost weekly, and before taking loestrin, I had hadeaches maybe 2 times a year. It's not a bad drug, just not the right one for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/28/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started Loestrin about 5 months ago after a short break from birth control. The first thing that happened was that I became extremely irritable all the time, and by the time I got my period (the 1st month), I had developed about six or seven acne cysts on my face. These symptoms have decreased a lot in the five months I've been on the drug, but I am quitting after this month because I feel it is not worth it. My advice to people who have problems at the beginning is to try and stick it out for a couple of months, because my symptoms (especially the irritability) decreased a lot by then. The acne is what's driving me nuts, though (right now, I have 3 super-painful acne cysts), so that's the main reason I am quitting.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/20/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 14 months on Lutera, my doctor switched me to Loestrin Fe 1/20 because of my severe onset of acne. Apparently the estrogen build up in my system caused some extremely horrible acne. In the 6 weeks I was on Loestrin Fe, my acne was COMPLETELY cleared up. Downsides: it made me tired as ever, i had a constant problem with yeast infections, and my daily pain returned from endometriosis. not a fun medication for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/18/2013
Condition: Abnormal Bleeding from the Uterus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Loestrin Fe last May because my periods had been coming every two weeks for the past couple of years. I have had no side effects with this pill - no acne, no weight gain, no change in breast size, no nothing! The first month I got my period on the placebo pills, but it was just light spotting. After that, I did not get my period at all. I have been without my period since June. My health care provider said this was normal and nothing to worry about, but I found it unsettling and just switched to a slightly higher dose generic called Junel Fe a week ago. So far Junel Fe has made me nauseous and dizzy. I am considering going back to Loestrin because I would rather have no period and no side effects. Also I would sometimes forget to take my Loestrin, but I would not spot or have any problems. Overall I would rate Loestrin as great because I did not experience any side effects, but do not be surprised if you stop getting a period on this pill!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/21/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Love it! I still have regular symptoms monthly but no cycle.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
9/22/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pros: Minimal weight gain (mostly in my breasts- went up a whole cup size!) no mood swings outside of a few days of regular "PMS" mood, no depression, light period. Cons: Biggest con- ACNE! New blemishes everyday, very annoying and painful. Tender breasts all the time. Also expensive. Switched to a different brand since the acne and breast tenderness were not something I could control no matter how much I tried.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
OMG | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/10/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within the first few days of taking this i was SICK. Bloat, Vomiting, Diarrhea, mood swings and a headache that would not go away

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/8/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on Loestrin 20 for almost three years and I'm about to switch. I started it after becoming sexually active and enjoyed the effects of lighter periods, fuller breasts and obviously, sexual safety. However, a year into my prescription I started noticing recurring yeast infections, weight gain, mood swings, water retention so that my abdomen always seems bloated or full, and eventually in my second year I developed p.i.d. I had pap smear after pap smear for months and no cause was determined other than a projected yeast infection that could not be controlled. Eventually I was given diflucan for 2 weeks, the pelvic inflammatory injection, and a rigid prescription to clear the p.i.d. I was never diagnosed with any sexually transmitted infections having only two main partners, and I have had trouble with this drug ever since. Now that I am experiencing breakthrough bleeding and just as violent, uncomfortable periods as before the pill, I am soon switching to a higher dose. My advice: Read the entire pamphlet that comes with this prescription, know the symptoms backwards and forwards, and take this correctly. Listen to your body and report to your doctor if anything seems amiss.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More