Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

110 People found this comment helpful

I just need to share this because it may help someone. I didn't want to have my daughter on meds but every year she complains about darkness and anxiety in the winter. Straight A student, driven, attractive girl seems to have everything all together, but I just found out she has been suffering for years. At day 2 on Prozac- she broke up with her boyfriend and finally heard what I have been tryi...

Most voted negative review

20 People found this comment helpful

I see from reviews here a lot of people had good results, I am not one of those people.. Everyone reacts differently.. I took one pill a long time ago and I actually had side-effects that lasted for 10 years. It gave me panic attacks and the taste of burning plastic in my mouth... My first day on Prozac I ended up calling 911, cause I thought I was having a heart attack, but it ended up being my ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Dave | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/6/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got on Prozac believing is a safer medicine that has low level effects and is just an SSRI which I have been on in the past with no effects. A month and a half my depression and anxiety was amplified and I felt like I was losing my mind I couldn't go to work or get myself together I stopped cold turkey with the meds they can't tell me to not do that when they put me on this medication that gave me terrible effects. I want to get better and felt 10x worse. I felt detached from the world and as if I was in a dark void. Terrible terrible experience. What kept me going was I just kept telling myself it's the meds and it's going to ware off.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/23/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After a week of noticing nothing, I suddenly went into a psychotic depressive episode that I've NEVER had in my entire life. The most painful and terrifying 2 days of my life, I ignored my doctor and went cold turkey and WOW, magically I'm ok again. SUICIDE pills, I have never been suicidal in my life, and during the medication I started having really strange thoughts that would lead to suicidal ones. I was tired all day, nauseous, tingling, having extremely disturbing nightmares and felt like I was going to burst internally, I almost admitted myself to a mental ward it was so severe. I felt extra emotional and volatile and was sensitive to any and every bad thing in stark contrast to my usual stoic demeanour. Never in my life will I take these evil things again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dr_FeelGood | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/9/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine will completely disconnect you from your body. It is akin to the scene in the film "Get Out" in which the protagonist is hypnotized and enters the "sunken place". Taking prozac is like floating in a void within your mind completely detached from reality. I strongly advise against this medication unless the patient has extremely severe PTSD and no daily responsibilities to accomplish.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Karess | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/7/2022
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a pretty severe form of PMDD and I have been on many medications for it including but not limited to...effexor, zoloft, Paxil, Buspar, the list just goes on and on this is the only medication that has given me any relief with bare minimal side effects if any.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Itgetsbetter | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/9/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After a really hard initial feeling weeks of side effects, this medicine has given me my life back. The first five weeks were tough with an increase in anxiety, restlessness, nausea and not eating but once the end kicked in, I am back to my old self. I am able to relax which I couldn’t do before. I just had a kid free weekend at a wedding and was able to enjoy every second without feeling intense guilt or anxiety. It’s amazing. If you’re in the first few weeks, keep going. It does get better, I promise. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gagandeep | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/24/2022
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been dealing with sexual intrusive thoughts for more than a year now. My doctor prescribed me this drug and said that I will be able to see improvement in 2 months. Unfortunately, this drug did not do any improvement to my condition. When I discussed this with my doctor, he increased my dose to 60mg and still did not improve my symptoms. Day by day my anxiety and intrusive thoughts got worse. I finally came off from this drug and currently taking anafranil. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS DRUG.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
honeybee | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/30/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only been on this medication for a short while, however long enough for my body to adjust and respond. I can think clearly, I can sleep now, I can slow down without feeling out of control—the best part is the way other people are also noticing. My husband said to me the other day “I haven’t seen you smile in two years, this medicine helped me get my wife back”. I’m so grateful for this medication, I feel like I got my life back.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
B. Wilkinson | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/22/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried all of the SSRIs for my ADHD and anxiety. Prozac is by far the best for me! I wish I had started with Prozac in June of 1996, when I first was diagnosed with ADHD. I also have great results with Ritalin. Two old meds that are now available as generics!! I have no side effects with Prozac! Good luck, everyone!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/11/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took for depression. It basically turned my depression into irritability. Then when I weened off it I had EXTREME withdrawals. My doctor had even said their weren't any withdrawals to worry about. I would NOT recommend prozac.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lauren W | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/21/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Prozac due to having severe anxiety. It helped for a year, the only side effect was constipation for days. It made me have no appetite and I ended up losing a lot of weight, around 50 Pounds in one year (note I was overweight when I began taking it.) around a year and a half, I noticed it slowly stopped working. I was at the highest dosage at that point. I ended up stop taking it which made my anxiety even worse, so I began taking it again. I woke up nauseous and headaches, no appetite. Not the best antidepressant. It varies from person to person, but I did not have a good experience with it, Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alyssa | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/14/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a mother of 2 and after I had my second child I had a very hard time I had very bad intrusive thoughts and anxiety and depression so bad I couldn’t even be alone with my kids or get out of the house . I hate every single day I was so depressed I couldn’t get out of bed or do daily task. At first when my psychiatrist prescribed me Prozac I was not very confident I lost hope I was just done trying. I was on 20mg for 2 weeks seen no change then we went up to 40mg for 4 weeks and omg i am so glad I started this medication I feel stable now I can go out to stores and be able to be a mom to my babies. The depression and intrusive thoughts got better but there is still room for improvement so im not on 60mg . Im on day 5 and side effects were not the bad just a little insomnia. So please try this medication it might work for you and change your life . Please keep trying . I was diagnosed with ppd postpartum ocd , anxiety, depression, ptsd . Don’t give up !!??Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Loriann | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/7/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gained 50 pounds on Prozac. SAD and anxiety went threw the roof. Grandma was right. Drugs may treat a symptom, but the Amino Acid L-Tryptophan treated my whole system.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anyomous | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/18/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I first went on prozac when I was 22. Worked good for a while. Stopped it. Went back on it when I was 40. It gave me panic attacks more than 10 a day. I was in a hospital then. I thought it was the environment making me have the panic attacks. Well when I got out. I was still having them. Got a new Dr right away he took my off it. Gradually the panic attacks stopped. I won't take it again. Yet I wish I could because it did work for me really good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Magpie126 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/6/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on Prozac because the Effexor I had been taking for about 5 years stopped working. Prozac has been a pretty good add on for my bipolar depression and I think it helps a lot. I have been on a fairly low dose because Prozac can possibly trigger mania. My depression had gotten bad one winter so we went up and a month or so later I had a manic episode so now we are going back down to the lowest dose I had been on. I have no issues with it as long as I monitor my moods

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sne | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/1/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from panic disorder. Getting on this med was so rough. Such bad side effects. I have done 10mg 20mg 30mg and 40mg and honestly the drug isn’t worth it for panic at least. Yes it did stop the panic but I now feel lifeless and I am having intimacy issues.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/20/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It took awhile for this to work and I was skeptical that it was working at all or even just making me worse. However, I stuck it out after being on a 10mg and upping to 20mg and after 6 weeks I feel like the change is night and day. I'm happy again for the first time in my life in at least a couple of decades.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anon | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
4/18/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m taking 20mg prozac and 150mg wellbutrin I have pmdd and severe social anxiety and panic attacks. It was impossible for me to make eye contact and I felt like I always looked weird when I walked or talked. So I would barely speak or look at people. I felt like I was living in a very lonely world all on my own. Today marks two weeks that I’ve been taking prozac and I’m amazed at the difference. Like most other people said, it does make anxiety worse for around a week, give or take. Probably just the body and mind getting used to the change in chemicals. I now notice a huge difference in my anxiety and mood, and I feel like I finally have a chance to live a normal life and not feel like an alien. I was so stubborn and tried every natural way to “heal” myself, but that did nothing but give me healthier habits, which I’m still grateful for of course. I can make eye contact and talk now without thinking about it, and I don’t feel so crazy and weird anymore. Whoever made this drug saved my life, for real. I wish I would’ve taken it sooner but I’m glad I finally decided to take the chance. I hesitated before because I felt like taking this would be admitting that I’m “mentally ill” and less-than. But that’s definitely not the case. Sometimes your brain doesn’t produce enough of what you need & it’s all good cause there’s things that can fix it. No one needs to know that you take meds Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Juliana | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/4/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started having anxiety when I was about 13, and panic attacks began when I was 15. When COVID hit when I was 16, the panic attacks worsened and became consistent. I would have panic attacks daily, sometimes more than twice a day, and the only days I did not have a panic attacks where the days before I had three-five panic attacks. It disrupted my life. Depression became to creep in. At 17, my parents finally agreed to put me on meds, so I was prescribed Prozac. I was diagnosed with a panic disorder. Panic attacks worsened for the first few days. One sleepless night. By the next week and a few days I felt so much better. After almost a year, I went to college away from home, made a deans list first semester, got in a healthy relationship, and enjoyed my job. Never in my short time have ever been happier, and could imagine I could be so happy. Hold in there for a week or two, I promise you it WILL get better. I can count on one hand how many panic attacks I had since a year on the prescription. I used to have 5-10 panic attacks a week, now less than 5 a year. Please do it for your own sake. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
4/2/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter was prescribed Prozac a week and a half ago and it made her feel much worse. So much so that she attempted suicide for the first time this past weekend. She’s a junior in college hours away from home so that makes it even harder. I’ve always heard bad things about Prozac and now my family has personally experienced its negative effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Eric | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/16/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The medication did what I needed it to do but to an extreme. My relaxed attitude was multiplied x10, I couldn’t get upset at natural things to get upset about and to others I seemed like a “robot” or “zombie” at times. I never wanted to lose my feelings and emotions I just wanted the bad ones out of my head. I stopped taking it after a month or so.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More