Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

24 People found this comment helpful

Have taken this drug twenty years .Only problem I encountered was trying to use generic versions that my insurance company insisted on.I can only take the original and have to pay premium price but it's worth to not have side effects..Tell your doctor if you are using a generic instead of branded drug he prescribed because all generics are not equal!

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/16/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have bilateral Meniere's disease. My neurotologist prescribed generic Dyazide (Triamterine HCTZ). I've taken it for 15 years, 37.5 mg once a day. I believe that it does decrease the severity of hydrops, although it certainly isn't a cure. Problem is, at age 68, my blood pressure has been dropping pretty low and I've been very lightheaded, so my primary doc told me to stop taking it. I've been off of it for about a month, and I'm having an increase in Meniere's symptoms--dizziness, brain fog, etc. I've decided to take it 2-3 times a week instead of daily. It's frustrating!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wildflower | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/20/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this drug for several years with no problems but recently it has started giving me severe leg cramps like charley horses. It is excruciating, I checked it out by not taking it for several days, no cramps. Today I took one and the cramps are terrible. 3:00 am and I cant lie down with out cramping.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
berry | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/17/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

intermittent nausea

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/8/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My hair had natural curl/wave before I began taking this drug. The hair changed to straight after taking this drug, when stopped the natural curl/wave returned.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/2/2013
Condition: Visible Water Retention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sarah775 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/19/2013
Condition: Visible Water Retention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I thought I was going to die one night I couldn't make it to my phone to dial 911 and fainted on the stairs before dry heaving for about half hour. Dizzy, weakest I have ever felt and I am 30 years old about an hour after making it to sleep on the bathroom floor I felt a little better and stopped taking it. after a day of rest I was feeling better. Scary experience.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/23/2013
Condition: Visible Water Retention
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Are there any cases of skin cancer from using this drug for a prolonged period of time?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
triamt/hctz | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/14/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have no side effects and it keeps my bp under control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bertpot | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/26/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Along with a beta blocker, this medication keeps my blood pressure in check.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cmbert | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/9/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Occasional light headed when arising in the morning.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nova | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/26/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

about 2wks ago started feeling muscle aching in upper arms from mild 2 severe! thought it was from cutting wood.the aching went from upper arms down 2 finger tips with arms feeling weak & heavy. never going away! 1-10...NEVER below 5! tolerable 2 tears!! researched drug...contacting family doc in AM 2 have potassium level checked 2 rule that problem out! i have NO other health problems! im VERY healthy! walk 2-3xdaily go 2 curves & gym. DONT drink smoke on NO other drugs. been on DYAZIDE Feb 10th 2yrs.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rodlang | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/24/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

About ten days ago, I was prescribed dyazide (generic form) for Meniere's Disease and fluid in ear. I am feeling increased dizziness, some pressure in ear and unsteady at times. I also take 20 mg of Celexa and wonder if there is a bad reaction. My past experience is that doctor's think we exaggerate the side effects, so I just might discontinue the dyazide for a week at see what happens.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
missyd | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/10/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was perscribed this drug for Menieres disease. The first few days were tough, (dizziness, frequent urination), but then I felt better. Beginning the 2nd week, I stopped sleeping. Dr. said it wasn't the drug and said I should go to GP. After 3 weeks of ot sleeping and feeling really hyper, I stopped taking it. Within hours, I felt better and have been sleeping like a baby since. However, I did experience extreme dizziness for the first 3 days off of the drug. He is now going to put me on another diuretic and I really dread it as the side effects (in writing) appear even worse than this one. I will, however, try it for 1 week, but won't put myself through the 3 weeks of problems again. I am so very tired of drs. who don't seem to have a clue as to the side effects of the drugs they perscribe and want to deny that you may actually have the correct answer to what is causing the new symptom. I trust what my body is telling me and will continue to follow my instincts in order to take care of myself.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/10/2011
Condition: Visible Water Retention
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/1/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dyazide did lower my blood pressure but not without side effects. I had developed an itchy scalp shortly thereafter, but thinking it was topically related, switched hair products, tried diffent creams, oils, etc. Nothing helped but it continued to worsen. Finally I decided it must be something I was taking. Since Dyazide/HCTZ is the only drug I take, thought I would quit taking it for a few days and see what happens. So far, the itching has subsided, gets better with each day I am not taking the Dyazide. By the way I take the generic form since my insurance refuses to pay for the name brand.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
malka1213 | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/1/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Blood pressure moderately high

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BCN | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/30/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I think I'm allergic to it - within hours of taking it, I developed tachycardia, BP skyrocketed, and I feared a stroke. Threw out the bottle and told the doctor. (The goal had been to eliminate the need for a potassium supplement, as I'd been taking Indapamide - went back on the old stuff, and all is well)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TRose | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/29/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking Dyazide to relieve symptoms of Meniere's disease. Dyazinde, in combination with a low salt/no caffeine diet have been very effective in treating symptoms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tammy | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/30/2011
Condition: Visible Water Retention
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i accidentally took this medication, i took two, and want to know what are the side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
patricia | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/11/2011
Condition: Visible Water Retention
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have experienced dizzyness, malaise, fatigue and an overall weakness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More