Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

42 People found this comment helpful

would like to know some of the side effects of this medication

Most voted negative review

16 People found this comment helpful

I dont know how it is yet I only been on it it for 2 days

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/13/2018
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My triglyceride numbers were over 2000 when I started but within 1 month they were down to 550. Omega 3 got it down to a reasonable number. However within 5 years i lost my gall bladder. I have aches and pains and back ache I am sure are from this drug. Due to my bad reaction to statins I really have no other options. Just hoping for some new revelations in the medical community.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/9/2016
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tired and weak and feel sick

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tired of doctors not listening | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/2/2016
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sever pain in stomach,nausea. Heavy bloated feeling like cement was under my ribs, very tired, orange urine, very painful twisting tearing feeling in hips, back pain. I only took a 1/4 of pill knowing how sensitive to meds good thing. only took for 3 days

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FY | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/26/2016
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had taken Tricor to lower my triglyceride level for almost six years. About 2 years ago, I found that I had knee pain and felt very weak in my knee. Without help, I could not stand up after sitting on the floor. I did not think that it was caused by Tricor. About a year ago, I started searching internet for possible causes of knee pain, and found that somebody had similar problems. He said that the pain disappeared after stopping to take Tricor. So I asked my doctor about it. Although he did not believe that Tricor could cause knee problem, he allowed me to stop taking Tricor for 3 months. Since then, I have never taken Tricor, and my knee pain was reduced gradually with time. Now, I can have normal activities without any problem. My knee is still weak when I walk up stairs, but I could not do it two years ago. Thus, I strongly believe that Tricor can cause knee problems in some patients.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/17/2016
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only been on Tricor for two weeks, but I had a severe allergic reaction to it. If you start itching and breaking out into hives, go to the ER immediately! I am still suffering from the effects but I'm hoping it gets better. I obviously had to stop taking it immediately but I am trying to find out if there are side effects from stopping the medicine all at once. I now have chest and back pains.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/21/2015
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Tricor for over 10 years. My triglycerides have gone from over 500 to 100. The drug works great with absolutely no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/6/2015
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Kept my Triglycerides down. New Doctor took me off and Triglycerides went up. Confused as what to do.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ED | 45-54 | Male | Patient
7/20/2015
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Tricor for a few years. I had occasional severe pain and bloating in my chest and could not sleep. I eventually turned green (no joke), ended up losing my gall bladder after my bile duct had to be cleaned out.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cecilia | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/27/2015
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just realized that the side effect of tricor can cause gallbladder problem. May be this is why I had gallbladder attack. Before then I did have mild back pain, leg cramps but never knew they could have been the cause of taking the medication. The medication did reduce my triglyceride somewhat but wonder if it's worth to get the gallbaldder effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dainja1024 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/6/2014
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've taken Tricor for years , never realizing it might be cause of numbness in fingers and joints of ankles and wrist. Leg cramps and arm cramps became so severe I feel crippled. Can't walk. Dr. suggested blood test,checking for Myosis, weakness of muscles. I stopped today 8/6/14.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
domara1050 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/24/2014
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Please read side effects before taking this medication. I didn't realize it could cause gallstones until AFTER I had emergency surgery for a gangreen gallbladder caused by a huge gallstone. Not fun. Doc said not a problem now that I don't have a gallbladder. That and change in diet have kept triglycerides low for years. Hard to know if it's "only" the drug or all my lifestyle changes, which is true with any medication/health issue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
manganredx | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/8/2014
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on TRICOR for several years and my triglycerides have never been lower, however two and a half years ago I had to have my gall bladder removed along with numerous gallstones. A year and a half ago the gallstones came back and had developed in my bile duct. Last week I was in the hospital again with more gallstones. The Doctor that worked with me said that I needed to get off of the TRICOR. Wish that I would have taken the time to read about the fact that TRICOR can create an environment for the development of gallstonesRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
def5 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/15/2014
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Good so far

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gepe53 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/18/2014
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This RX is evil!!! I tried one pill on a stomach with food and it made me VERY ill,thought I'd have to call 9-11!!! My stomach and insides felt like they were on fire!! I sat up all night trying to get the fire put out in my stomach......this crap needs to be re-called!!! NEVER again!! I threw it in the trash!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Larry | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/4/2014
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Robert | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/16/2014
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was first prescribed Tricor in September 2013. I have had muscle weakness from taking statins each time they were prescribed, so I stopped using them. My new family doctor put me on Tricor and on the 5th day of taking 145 mg pills, I could not raise myself off the toilet! Leg muscles just wouldn't cooperate. I immediately stopped taking pills and muscles returned to normal Ina couple of days. I would never take these again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/15/2014
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

chest hurting

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
duke | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/7/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I seem to experience some brain fuzziness. I am having a hard time with object identification. I sometimes will have an object in my hand and am unable to bring the word out of my memory. It causes me to read and words slowly sometimes miking up similar looking words. Any thougYhanks E.D.S.hts?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/26/2013
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mom | Caregiver
3/7/2013
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

mu mom has taken this drug for years with good result ...now they gave her a generic and she started having more urine ...smelly urine and she hears the neighbor talking to her even though hes not there...what the heck!this started when she switched will see if back on name brand resolves issues

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More