Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

18 People found this comment helpful

When my daughter was thirteen years old, she had acne soo bad that it would hurt just to lay her face down on a pillow at night. She religiously washed and cleaned her face three times a day. Never helped. Our family Dr prescribed her some creme for her face and that only made it red plus the bad acne now. A friend told me about a dr who could help her by prescribing her Sorcet. Her first visit wi...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

i started taking this drug in the end of year 2005. it treated my acne and make me look very fresh as it improves my skin. But since then i started experiencing thinning of my hair and loss of hair during hair wash, oiling and also lots of hair were there on my pillow in the morning. I also started facing stomach problems and get food poisoning every six months or so.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/16/2013
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lacy | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/12/2013
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's my third week since I have used sotret to treat my acne and I would like to talk about my skin problems. My acne started about when I was 12 years old and nothing worked. I had pimples on my face, back and butt.Now, I'm 16 and still using sotret. Overall, my face is glowing. All the acne scars are going away. 2-3 pimples do manage to come up and they stay for days. But it's fine. I'm still under treatment and I'm hopeful this will all go away. Also, I'm getting major mood swings. But the doctor has given some stress relieving meds too. So, yay. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/1/2013
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Rosacea
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am having serious skin problem on my face. The portion of cheeks on two sides and around the nose is red and swelling. It is always irritating and I have to scratch the skin every time. Doctor has prescribed Sotret 20 mg. which I am taking regularly for the last about 4 months. But no relief. The skin disease is aggravating. Should I continue the same medicine or it is because of side effect of this medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
thirstylycon | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
3/13/2013
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i started taking this drug in the end of year 2005. it treated my acne and make me look very fresh as it improves my skin. But since then i started experiencing thinning of my hair and loss of hair during hair wash, oiling and also lots of hair were there on my pillow in the morning. I also started facing stomach problems and get food poisoning every six months or so.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kandice | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
9/1/2009
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When my daughter was thirteen years old, she had acne soo bad that it would hurt just to lay her face down on a pillow at night. She religiously washed and cleaned her face three times a day. Never helped. Our family Dr prescribed her some creme for her face and that only made it red plus the bad acne now. A friend told me about a dr who could help her by prescribing her Sorcet. Her first visit with him, I told him if had any medication that would help her I'd be the most thankful person in the world. I just knew there was no helping her. After about a month of using it(she had to take it twice a day for five months), you could already see clearing on her face. I was estastic!! So was she. After 3 months, her face was completely cleared!! It was a miracle. She wasn't afraid to go out anymore, she went to ballgames and with friends. She just felt normal. She is 19 years old now and still has the most beautiful complexion. It never made her sick or have any mood swings. I cannot tell you how wonderful this medication has been. The doctor had told us it was a bacteria inside her body that had to be taken care of instead of on the outside with cremes. The price was expensive, but very well worth it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/28/2009
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine has done wonders for my skin. I used to live by the clean and clear oil pads because my skin was so oily. I have not had to use any of them since completing this medication. I do not have any more sudden, hard to treat breakouts. If i get anything, it's a barely visible bump that goes away the very next day. I have also noticed that my hair does not get oily anymore. I used to have to wash it sometimes twice a day, but not anymore. I did not encounter any serious side effects, although friends and family will tell you I was pretty moody while taking it. I had tried all kinds of pills and creams, but they had done nothing for me. Deciding to take Sotret was the best decision I could have made in regards to my skin condition. I am beyond pleased with my results. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
greasyfacemonster | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/1/2009
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've only been taking this medication for three weeks, but I feel like I have someone else's skin. Before Sotret, my face was oilier than a pizza within an hour of being washed, no matter what products I used. My hair looked so oily I had to powder it twice a day. Even long wearing make up wore off after a few hours. I constantly looked dirty. I had acne all over my body, starting at age 9. I tried every single product line and treatment and always used them religiously and patiently, but nothing ever helped. All of this has already changed. I still have some acne on my face, but everywhere else it is gone. Just the reduction in oiliness has changed my life! I can skip a day showering! I am a normal human! My only side effect is dry lips, which is a normal skin problem regular people have, not freaky grease-monsters. I love this drug!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Claudia | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/13/2009
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After a month of using it, I had to stop due to all the side effects. Constant stomach ache, nauseas, and rush all over my back..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cali girl | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/23/2008
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A woman in her late 30's I have suffered with severe cystic chin acne & bridge of nose/forehead area for over 15 years! I have seen so many Dermatologists (some in my Health Plan others out-of-pocket). Before starting this medication I can remember only 2-4 days in the last 15 years that my chin has been clear looking like a "normal" person. I went through a period in time where I hung my head a lot never gave eye contact. This medication has really worked well for me. I understand it's not for everyone!!! The only side effects I have are the usually dry lips, eyes, and I had a bad case of rectal bleeding. The rectal bleeding did not start until the second month. I found out it was the dryness that cause this. Started taken Stool softener (DOS 250mg) it's over the counter and no more problems. Funny the rectal bleeding was scary but I was going to find a solution because I did not want to stop the med..... I DID SEEK MEDICAL ADVICE. I would tell anyone to try the med but tell friends & family members to let you know if they notice mood changes. Because sometime changes like that I hard to tell on our self’s.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
John | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/10/2008
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug is, in my opinion, one of the best things i have ever done. This treated my acne so well and easily. The only bad part is the dryness of skin and dry nose, occasional nosebleed, and thats it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stein | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
10/15/2008
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son took the medication for the required amount of time. His acne cleared up but severe depression developed which he had not had before. Three months later he committed suicide. He was 17. Needless to say I am devastated. Definately wrong decision.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
10/12/2008
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

While it clearewd up my son's acne beautifully, he had a full blown seizure while on this medication. He had never had a seizure before and has not had once since we have taken him off the medication. It was definitely not worth it to us.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
just a mom | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
9/22/2008
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my son starting taking this at 17 we tried everything for more than 2 years and thounds later he used it for 6months and it did wonders for him inside and out he wasnt hateful or hard to deal with at all i would tell all parents to try it for thier kids sake but just watch them close for all the side affects because they can be bad

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/2/2008
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has been AMAZING! I've tried every type of oral medication you could imagine for my face and this is the only one ive seen improvement in. I've only been taking this for less than a month and almost EVERYTHING is gone. Despite the dry lips, peeling skin, and noticable mood changes this is definetly worth it. If nothing has worked for you yet definetly try this, you won't regret it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sunshine11131993 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/11/2008
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 14 year old son has became very irritable and aggressive. He has only been taking the RX for 2 months. It is not worth it to us.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
diva90210 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/20/2008
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

THANK GOD!!!!! something finally has worked on my cystic chin acne. I have spent $$$$$ in the past and I hate that I waited to do this. So worth it. For dry lips, I use carmex and for dry nose, I use a saline gel called "Ayr". Works well. I hate the need le poke every month but sooo worth it. Have all the confidence oin the world now. Took about 6 weeks to notice results. I use she butter for skin drynes and Aveeno SPF 30 on face! You will love yourself for this. I take 3 pills of 20mg, 3x?day and I weigh 135lbs.Beware 1st 2 weeks you will have headaches but after your body accepts the drug, you are much better in the following weeks. GO GET IT! :-)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kbarnes | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/4/2008
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Other than the battle of making a trip to the lab every month for blood work, I have had excellent results from Solodyn. I started seeing results in the first week of treatment. There were problems with minor headaches for only about two weeks in the beginning. But after being on every antibiotic out there to speak of, and making numerous trips to various dermatologist around town, I finally found something that truly works for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
12/19/2007
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had tried everything about twice, and this was my last hope. It was a pain in the butt to get (birth control, pregnancy and blood tests, signing into the program...) but it was well worth it. I am in my second month of treatment now and have not had any new acne since my first 2 weeks on the medicine. Furthermore, the redness from my previous acne bumps are beginning to fade.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tori1988 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/9/2007
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Treatment was great. Finally cured my acne. ebA Multivitamin Supplement, a multivitamin free of Vitamin A, was recommended to me during treatment since my multivitamin contained Vitamin A. Sotret is related to Vitamin A and you aren't supposed to take the 2 together due to potential side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ladida | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/27/2007
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm currently going into my fourth month of taking the medication. My doctor said that typically, you should be cleared by the end of the third month, and I'm not. I've definitely seen a significant improvement. But I read that just 85% see complete results. What about the other 15%? Still, I have seen an improvement.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More