Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

20 People found this comment helpful

I love this birth control. I see a lot of bad reviews but I have been using it for over 4 years now and compared to others I have tried it is the best. For me, on this dose I have never gotten a period. Every few months I have very light spotting during the time the time one should have a period with this drug. My doc says it is fine, I do not ovulate on this med. I have never gained any weight on...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

My old birth control was discontinued. I was taking it successfully for 4 years. I was prescribed this birth control instead. I was pregnant in less than one month. Beware!

Shared reviews and ratings

Jc | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/20/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was on this for over 10 years. Loved it, reduced my cramps, reduced the flow of my periods, after a few years I started getting my period every 4 months. It did take me about a year to start ovulating after going off it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amber | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/16/2019
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication helps with heavy flooding perimenopause periods and night sweats. I'm 45 and will stay on this until 51 or menopause.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/19/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this for about a month now. It hasn't cause weight gain . the only downside I've come across is my period. Its on day 11 now with now sign of stopping. But hopefully once my body get a use to it, my period with even out.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sjack0028 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/6/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this birth control for two years and I love it. It cleared up my skin, has prevented me from getting pregnant, and I have only had one period since starting it. I asked my doctor for a birth control that helped with cystic acne and this is what she recommended. I haven't experienced any negative side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/19/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on microgestin for a year and a half and I have no qualms with this medication. Everyone is different, I know. I haven't had a period yet and I do lay off the last week. I am a little emotional just before and after I'm supposed to have my period. Though I was an emotional person before this. All in all I would suggest this as an option for anyone though I know each body is different.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/26/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this birth control for one month and I can honestly say that I haven't experienced weight gain, headaches, or acne breakouts. This is my 1st time ever using birth control and my doctor recommended this brand. Hopefully I will continue to have good experiences with this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lily Bell | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
4/19/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've taken this Microgestin 1/20 for a year, and so far, so good! In the beginning, it took a couple of months for my period to stick to a schedule, but now, it's like clockwork. Shows up on day 28 and lasts for 5 days with a very light flow. Every girl is different, but this one works great for me! And remember, for every negative review you read, there are handful more of ladies that use it and feel fine, but are too lazy to post a positive review :P Good luck!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Renee' | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/18/2016
Condition: Abnormal Bleeding from the Uterus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has had me on my period for at least 10 days. My menstrual cramps are painful. I have never experienced anything like this. The pill works well with prevention of pregnancy but horrible with periods. I would not advise anyone to take this pill. This pill should be off the market.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sarknee | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/20/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this bc for over a year now and when I first started, I experienced extreme nausea. This pill protected me sexually, which was the reason I wanted it. It didn't cause me any acne but I had none to begin with and It somewhat dried out my skin. The worst side effect was the migraines... I am now switching so that I'm not having to take pain meds to not be throwing up from such bad migraines.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
quinn_tye | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/22/2015
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have always had painful cramping, so I decided to go back on birth control pills. At first, I had spotting, skipped 1 month of having a period, but the second month, I had very very extreme cramping, they were worse than not being on a birth control pills. This happened 3 days before I actually starting bleeding. I was in bed straight, couldnt move, no asprin would help either. My breast were tender more than they used to be also. I will be calling my doctor and changing birth controls.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Olena Y. | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/27/2015
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used to take TriNessa (norgestimate and ethinyl estradiol tablets) for a very long time, until I realized it was giving me cystic acne during certain weeks of the month, there'd also been a week, when I felt absolutely miserable, so sad for no reason, I'd just start crying and wouldn't be able to stop. I never drew a connection betw. those symptoms and TriNessa. I went to a different obgyn, she told me, it must be because TriNessa has different level of hormones for each week of the month - so I'd experience all those crazy fluctuations all the time. She prescribed me Microgestin 1/20 tabs 21 green, which has 3 weeks worth of, so to say, the same level of hormones. The cystic acne hasn't really bothered me since, mood swings've been better, but I didn't stop breaking out every month, which is driving me crazy. I went to a dermatologist. She prescribed me Aczone 5% gel 90gm as topical and Spironolactone 100mg a day. She told me to try Spironolactone for a couple of months to see, if it works and if it doesn't, she said there were other pills she could give me. I've been taking Spironolactone 100mg for 2 months already. It doesn't seem to do anything at all!! It's very frustrating! I'm thinking, I need to go back to the dr. and try different meds. Btw, I don't feel any side effects from Spironolactone whatsoever. But it doesn't seem to do any good either. Maybe I should double my dose, I've read that u can take up to 200mg or maybe I should switch b. control again. I don't know what to do.. And the truth is, all the doctors I've ever seen don't know either!! They just offer me meds to try from their list and see how I feel. That's exactly what they say! Aczone 5% gel was $60 with my insurance and I can't say it worked wonders for me. I also tried Epiduo (adapalene and benzoyl peroxide) gel 0.1%/ 2.5% - another prescription topical. It's pretty good at drying up zits, but not the answer. I also saw an endocrinologist and had my hormones checked. They are normal!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pain | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/7/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started on pill last month, had no period the first month. The second month and second pack had period spotting start sunday and seven days later still bleeding! Ive gotten the worse cramps with this product everyday this week, even aleve wont help! Without pill I used to get my period for 3 days tops, with maybe 1 day of extreme cramps. I have had enough of this pill and even though my doctor told me to give it atleast 3 weeks, I am discontinuing use. I will find something else to use because being sleepy and miserable is not an option.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ashleyresdds | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/19/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

7 years now- I take them all the way through so that I have NO periods. I literally havent had a period in 6 years. I feel great, mood is great, and never have the awful cramps and fake week long period like the other birth controls.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/29/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking this Rx for 5 months, I've lost 15+ lbs, have a decreased appetite and sex drive, high anxiety, blood pressure and feelings of over heating. The absolute worst is frequent nausea and very irregular periods, if any at all. I went on microgestin after a horrible time with the depo shot and previous problems with headaches and migraines on birth control. Another Rx ruled out for me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pillywillygirl | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/10/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this pill for 4 months. This pill has worked for me in the sense that I have not gotten pregnant. I also like the fact that you get a week off from having to take the pill(last week during menstruation). I have had normal periods with it. The negatives I have encountered with taking this pill are acne break outs at 33 years of age, moodiness (not during menstruation), increased cramping during menstruation, and fatigue. Other than that, it did its job.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BElla | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/9/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The only downside to taking the pill is remembering to take it lol with that said I have no problems on this pill I did notice a little acne when I first started but my skin is so clear now. I'm on my third pack so far. I did get moody when first taking this but that may have been a side effect of my body getting rid of the Depo I was on. I've lost weight on this pill as well (sorry to those who gained)If you miss 2 pills in a row you will bleed! I guess that's because its such a low dose pill so set a reminder! I mash it into my food because birth control pills always made me gag. Even when missing some pills I never end up pregnant so I say this pill is great for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/24/2014
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this 4 years ago because of extremely painful, irregular periods. Microgestin made my periods regular, made them lighter and shorter, and I didn't have any cramping! I however gained 40 pounds and experienced terrible headaches which my doctors believe are associated with the birth control. My doctors took me off Microgestin as of today-I am nervous to see what will happen! Microgestin has been a big help with my life! Guess I have to choose what is more important to me! Hopefully not everyone experiences the same side effects!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/7/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So far so good. I've been taking it for two months now and the only negative side effects I have to mention is weight gain and soreness of the breasts. I've gained 5lbs since taking it and my boobs always hurt. Other than that it's been great. No acne. Or stomach aches.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cam | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/27/2014
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ive been taking this pill for well over 6 mths. Initially, I bled for almost 6 weeks, while my body adjusted to the hormones. My doctor continued to reassure me to continue taking it. Finally the bleeding stopped, days into the 2nd pack of pills. I started the pill to regulate irregular periods. My period has been more irregular since starting. Out of a 3 week pack, I usually only have maybe 2 solid weeks where I don't bleed at all. That's the equivalent of having a period every 2 weeks! It's just not worth it for me!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/31/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I switched from Azurette to this about 8 months ago due to cost mostly. But this pill had way worse side effects for me. Weight gain and anxiety. Ive never had anxiety in my life. The anxiety was so bad I started to constantly feel my heart racing. I also started realizing every month before I would start my period I would get a bad set of heart palpitations. The ONLY positive about this pill is my boobs stopped hurting.. That's it. Switching today. (I shouldve switched before now)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More