Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

21 People found this comment helpful

3rd week of using Subutex to treat pill addiction. Overall, it has been a pretty good experience. I'm using it along with other prescribed meds to help with withdrawl/sleep difficulty.

Most voted negative review

14 People found this comment helpful

It is difficult when you are ill to disolve this foul tasting pill under your tongue for sooo long after u are just ready to feel good and if u accidentally swallow it, u have wasted the pill it is expensive too expesive to be wasteable. stupid sub lingual

Shared reviews and ratings

Tiffany B | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/25/2021
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug is so debated it drives me crazy. Before starting treatment using subutex, I would torture myself repeatedly trying to get through withdrawals on my own. If the shakes and sweats didnt get me, the insomnia, anxiety, and depression I experienced was enough to make me surrender to my addiction. This medicine has given me my life back. If taken in low doses, correctly, it does NOT GET YOU HIGH. You just dont feel like you're dying. If I wasn't on this medicine, I would definitely have to be on antidepressants and sleep medicine, like I have been most of my life. This is one dose every 24 hours. And i sleep like a rock. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/30/2021
Condition: Symptoms from Stopping Treatment with Opioid Drugs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been slowly tapering from this drug over months. I'm down to .5 mg every other day. At this time I'm at 50 hours since my last .5 mg dose. I slept for 8 hours and woke up after 47 hours off feeling good shockingly. However yesterday from 12-39 hours since last dose it was hell. I instantly started craving knowing that I had my last dose and no more but my brain thought I was going to find a dose I dropped on the floor in the past and it intensified my withdrawl symptoms and cravings. The thought of of having another . 5mg dose possibly in reach threw me into withdrawl 12 hours before I normally would've if I had the next dose to take already in hand. I felt body aches, emotional cry's, gastro issues, severe cravings, anxiety like never before, and depression. Normally it takes over 24 hours since last subutex dose to feel this way. So changing your surrounding's and lifestyle is a MUST or you will be in hell. I however didnt give in and now I'm at 50 hours since my final taper dose of .5mg (which still was enough to make me feel normal without any withdrawl) & I have been awake 3 hours since I woke up feeling good without subutex. Remember I went to bed after feeling cravings, anxiety, body aches, gastro issues like a horrible stomach flu had taken over. But I slept after taking my antianxiety temazepam from my phyc and woke up feeling as if I never had been on opioids or on subutex at all. This is 50 hours off. I have over the last hours began to feel my stomach gurgling around and I feel like I lack energy to do what I feel motivated to do. I want to clean my room but feel like I have no energy and if I try I will start to feel achy. The aches feel like they are on the surface just dying to come out and make me suffer. But they are staying dormant at the same time. But I can tell one wrong move or one bad. Lifestyle decision can throw my body back into termoil and it will realise that it hasn't gotten it's daily subutex dose. My prayer is that the taper hasRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amia | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/27/2020
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??ve been on Suboxin for 8 months and I hate it. It is very effective for getting an addiction under control but it is a daily reminder that you screwed up in the first place. The taste is terrible and I vomit after frequently. Drs donâ??t help you taper because they want your $. My family Dr has me decreasing by 10% every 3-5 days. I feel the reductions. I definitely traded one drug for another and canâ??t wait for this to be over.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Seabreeze | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/26/2019
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After a while taking Subutex the taste became Unbarrible!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kg123 | 25-34 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/1/2019
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Do not take this drug!!!!!!! I have drug induced injury from taking 8mg a day sometimes 10 mg at most for few years! My liver is scarred now I'm sick constantly...tired constantly have brain fog and confusion so bad now I can't barely function some days! My liver hurts all the time...I was sick for over a year and docs didn't do anything and didn't know why! My liver enzymes went up to over 600 and docs kept telling me it wasn't the meds to keep taking them they did a biopsy and found my liver was being scarred but didn't no why. It took a little while before they said it was the subs and eventually got off of which was a nightmare! I have two babies and took these meds pregnant and did help me to stop using completely but if I would have known this could have happened I would have took my changes with the pain meds. I have constant UTIs and started having kidney problems...I go to bathroom 40 to 50 times a day now and no doctor will do anything because I think they think I deserve it because this happened from a opiod addiction drug and have a past using narcotics! I'm miserable! I have so many problems now...my hair is falling out and always in pain! Please don't take this drug long term! If u have to take it take the lowest dose possible and get off of it as soon as u can...I promise the side effects are from taking this drug are far worse than not. Im not saying that every person will have this happened but it could...read about Subutex and acute liver injury! It's very real and more people need to know cuz I was uninformed and wish I would have known this could happen...Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/13/2019
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on suboxone since 2015. But when I got pregnant I switched to Subutex.This medication works great! I like it better than suboxone and it helps with my pain and opioid withdrawal symptoms!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Patient
6/24/2018
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took suboxone in 2009 and it worked great! I have been on the strips for a short time so far, it can't come close to the pill!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kat80 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/13/2018
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine saved my life. I've take it over 8 years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
THEONEBANANA | 19-24 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/23/2017
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been addicted to opioids and was regularly using meth when I started to take suboxone...it helped with both. I found out I was pregnant as was switched to subutex first of all the taste is disgusting and second all the doctors will tell you its safe to take during pregnancy but after talking to a few women and reading a few things online a lot of women have had there babies wind up in NICU for withdraw. I'm only at 15 weeks so I decided to taper off and am down to 2 mgs a day my advice would be if any ones taking this while pregnant to try and get off of it so long as it's safe for you to do and under a doctors supervision. this medication is so so new we're all basically the lab rats here and the docs are studying us to see what kind of effect this medication has...super scary. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Okrick69 | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/19/2016
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First I want to say subutex let me have my life back as I would spend anywhere from $100-$250 PER DAY on just about every type of natcotic pain medication I could find on the street so yes it was worth it to get a legal script but it hasn't been worth it in all respects...it's very expensive the doctor appts are very expensive..insurance WILL NOT COVER THIS ANYMORE..not to mention I've been on this medication an embarrassing 4yrs...but I can say in my defense that trying to get off of this crap is one of the hardest thjngs I've ever tried to do..nobody ever even hinted to me that subutex has a worse withdrawl period and symptoms..worse than the opiates themselves...I tried like hell to get off of them and I just got sick of going throught withdraws for two and a half weeks straight so I started taking subutex again..and let me tell you..these withdraws are not like withdraws from opiates..subutex withdrawal is WAY WORSE..MORE INTENSE AND LASTS ALOT LONGER THAN OPIATE WITHDRAWLS..YOUR SUBUTEX DR PROBABLY WILL NOT TELL YOU OF HOW HARD IT IS TO STOP TAKING SUBUTEX OR SUBOXONE..BECAUSE THEY WANT THE MONEY FROM YOU...IF YOU CAN HELP IT PLEASE BE STRONG AND JUST LAY IT OUT WITH OPIATES...DON'T TRADE OPIATES FOR SUBUTEX OR SUBOXONE...AT LEAST ASK YOUR DR TO TELL YOU TRUTHFULLY ABOUT WITHDRAWL ISSUES FROM SUBUTEX AND SUBOXONE. GOD BLESS ALL OF YOU..I PRAY THAT THINGS GET BETTER FOR EVERYBODY...RICKRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/22/2016
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for 4 years. I don't ever want to quit it. It actually helps with my pain. When I was on pain medication I would take it way to much and be out before I went back to get my refill. This medication I can do my prescribed amount and never need more. I'm actually living a productive life now and am happy with it. I know it effects everyone differently but I would not change a thing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
whodatgrl | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/16/2015
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

subutex didn't work for me bc gave me a bad headache and a metallic taste in my mouth. suboxone is much easier on me but the prob is I got on these to get off something but now im stuck on these bc the withdrawals are just as bad as reg pain meds...so much for suppose to "help" get off something just to get "stuck" on something else...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/26/2015
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nunya | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/18/2014
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

You might as well call this legal Heroin. The addiction to this med is just as severe and detox extremely difficult.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | Caregiver
9/8/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 17 year old child was buying this drug on the street from ppl who had it prescribed to them. She was crushing it and snorting it. She had to go to rehab. She did not start on any other drugs before this. I appreciate this drugs use by patients who really are using it to get off addiction to opiates, but I think more needs to be done to evaluate the patients before the drs hand them out to ppl. Because ppl are selling them to teens and getting them addicted to subs right from the start. Everyone in this town is either prescribed subs or are illegally using them. The ones that are getting them illegally are getting them somewhere. Thank you.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BO | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/11/2014
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Helped relieve lower back pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mdarling | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/26/2014
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been suffering from throat, breathing, sleeping,vision,anxiety,and lack of wanting to do anything for about a year now. I have been on this drug for three years and I want off. I take a half of an 8 mg a day. My breathing and my throat are the worst problems. I always feel sick. I used to be so happy and love how this drug changed my life, but now its ruining it. These are very long term side effects and I hope whoever starts to take this understands the risk factors.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
eveforpeace | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/31/2014
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the most preferred treatment for my fibromyalgia pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/5/2013
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on subutex for a year now and have had no desire to use pain meds on a daily bases like before. I feel like a new person with a whole new out look on life. Not just for myself but my family as well. if you want to stop using pain meds get with a doctor that helps with addiction problems. it works.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SubAnxious | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/9/2013
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using subutex for several years now. I take anywhere from 2-6 mg/day. The only drawback is that you need to clean your mouth/brush your teeth to get full affect. In addition, I found that the longer you can go leaving med in mouth, the better it is absorbed and vice/versa. Also, I'm down to a dose where I really don't have bad physical withdrawals if I try to get off of it but I do have acute anxiety. Has anyone got off of this drug by using something for anxiety and if so what? I know this seems like substituting one med for another but I feel like having something for anxiety would be the last tapper. In addition to the latter, has anyone had a hard time obtaining subutex rather than suboxone? There are many doctors that only want to prescribe suboxone but the naloxone really puts me in a tale spine. I wish I could take the naloxone but I found the naloxone is what makes me tired and depressed even though it suppose to have no effect due to buprenorphine being superior to receptors than naloxone. Any feedback would be appreciated.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More