Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

28 People found this comment helpful

I have been on xanax for 12 yrs. I was put on the XR 3mg, about 1yr ago. I feel relaxed and not so stressed, no more ups & downs!! I would definatly recommend this to anyone that is on the Reg xanax to try (The XR does not have the same effect of calming down in 15mins,Your calm ALL day.) But I still have trouble sleeping!? Just a night owl I guess. I hope this was helpfull.

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

I HIGHLY discourage any person from using this drug. Regardless of how anxious you may feel or if you have panic attacks, DON'T take it. I was on it for 6 months when prescribed by my family medicine doctor for occassional anxiety; I later went to the head phycologist at a nationally renound hospital in Washington. He is a lead prof in the School of Medicine, Phycology department. My new doctor sp...

Shared reviews and ratings

ldh | 55-64 | Male |
8/9/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don't have any kind of general anxiety....my anxiety is always situational...but one .5 Xanax XR works for the days when I need to take the edge off. I have been using them for 7 years and they work great for what I need. I have never increased the dose and sometimes a box of 30 will go unopened for weeks. I know that all benzo's can be addictive so I have always been cautious. For me they are a very good solution for occasional anxiety or stress that I need to get on top of. During a particular stressful period a doctor prescribed me zoloft and I felt like I had a labotomy. It made me more anxious and the side effects were untenable for me (nightmares, insomnia, greatly reduced Sexual function and just feeling like my brain was a lump of broccoli. I know SSRI's are a godsend fo some but for me they were not at all what I needed. Xanax XR was the perfect solution...and I only use them occasionally. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Barbara | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/28/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I find brand name works best for my panic attacks. Do you agree?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/3/2021
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take xr 3mg xanax and worked up fast to 3mg find they worked for for a few days the 2mg helped for few weeks but now I'm on this 3g no lie >resorted to 0.5s xanax to ease my nerves the anxiety getting bad again afraid to go to 4mg cause ill be up to five in month I think the instant release helps better to fact that u can take them as needed with this nope

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rick | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/8/2021
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

use .5mg xr and take around noon. I am 62 and have anxiety from multiple issues with elderly parents and had some panic attacks. This has been much better at keeping me level all day and feeling close to what normal used to be. I have taken.25 and .50 mg imm realease prior to this. I have never taken more than .75mg in one day and have taken about 3 or 4 times a week for around 12 years. I worry about taking it. But ,50mg everyday now for 6 months has been the answer for me. I am getting older and hopefully my doctor will keep prescribing as I don't abuse the low dose and can actually go eat in a restaurant and not feel like i have to sit close to a door in case anxiety hits. I hate having anxiety but st my age I want to live happily on the years I have left. If you need this drug use what works for you but don't abuse it!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dee Dee | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/28/2019
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on 0.5 mg (1/2 milligram) 2x daily of regular Xanax for 15 years for panic attacks and anxiety disorder. It worked wonderfully and I had a very good quality of life with it. I had a job, got out of the house daily and lived my life much more normally. Suddenly last month, my psychiatrist of 20 years decided he no longer likes to prescribe regular xanax anymore. Well I had a very bad anxiety relapse when he prescribed me Xanax Extended Release 1 mg one time per day instead. It was horrible!! It felt like I didn't even take my xanax and I had waves of normalcy mixed with horrendous rolling anxiety and intermittent panic attacks daily, noon and nightly. What I didn't know was that it was only giving me .25 mg at a time 4 times per day. Well I was used to the 1/2 of a milligram 2 times per day which was much stronger. People with anxiety or panic disorder notice every subtle detail and bodily change, so I started panicking when I felt like they weren't working. My anticipatory anxiety shot through the roof and I felt panicked for the past month. It was like a roller coaster ride! I told my Dr. to please keep me on the original dosage of regular xanax that I was once taking and he refused and said XR is just as effective. He wouldn't listen to me even though I was on it for 15 years and never had to raise my dose. It seems now that all the doctors are too afraid of the feds, they are cracking down and no longer prescribing regular xanax. I quit my job because I could no longer function and didn't even feel calm enough to drive my car anymore because the anxiety was so great. I guess these doctors washed their hands with people like me because they are afraid of the government. Sometimes patients know what works better than the doctors and they should listen to us. My quality of life went down the tubes until I read on the internet a few days ago, that if I cut one of these tablets in half a 1/2 milligram (my old dose) immediately is dispensed throughout the bRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bigdeal111aol.com | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/5/2019
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've taken it for about 38 years and it still works great. I only had to increase the dose once.!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Godschild1 | 75 or over | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/30/2017
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had Panic/Anxiety Disorder for most of my life, long before they had a name for it. I see a psychiatrist and I've only had good results with Xanax XR. I have taken Xanax XR twice a day for years. In all that time I have only gone up by one .5mg. I currently take .5 mg in morning and 1 mg around 7 p.m. according to my doctors instructions. I spent 18 years housebound with agoraphobia because I wouldn't take any meds to help me. Big mistake on my part. My best advise to anyone considering taking Xanax is if you have a psychiatrist you trust, do so and do not pay attention to any horror stories about Xanax XR that you see online. Some of us because of the circumstances of life or our biological makeup, like me, may need extra help. If you have any questions about, save them for your doctor. The only minus is you may feel a little sedated for the first 7 to 10 days. I did because I'm very sensitive to most medicines because I metabolize them quickly. Final word...Xanax XR literally saved my life. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Glen45 | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/27/2016
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I will say I originally took regular Xanax, as opposed to the xr. Initially, it was very effective, but it didn't last as long as I needed. I needed a medication that was longer lasting. Xanax xr is that medication. I'm noticing many people commenting on this medication claiming they take it three times a day. That doesn't make any sense. The whole reason for this is so you don't have to dose three times a day. If you just have an occasional panic attack, you would definitely benefit more from the traditional Xanax. It works strongly and quickly. But it doesn't linger like other benzos like klonopin. I really think I'm going to go back to klonopin. I took that a few years ago and found it effective, but my doctor, for some strange reason put me on Xanax. Klonopin is a strong, long acting medication that works very well. Xanax xr works but it's very expensive as compared to klonopin. But that's just my opinion.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LatterDaisySaint | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/8/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have bipolar depression and severe anxiety. I had regular Xanax for as-needed use but I didn't feel it really helped and never understood how people get addicted to it. It got so bad recently that I constantly felt like I was having a heart attack. I felt extreme irritation, rage, panic. My Psych switched me to Xanax XR and after the very first pill I felt.....NORMAL. I could actually enjoy my children again. The chest pain/discomfort left immediately. I feel pretty tired in the afternoon but I'll take that over how badly I was feeling. I give this drug an A+ and am SO grateful for it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SammyC | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
4/6/2015
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It stops my panic attacks immediately. It is the most effective medication I have ever taken for my anxiety and panic!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Working Man | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/19/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I currently take 1 mg. XR one or two times a day. The 'classic' beneficial effects of Xanax are all there. Onset: 30 minutes after swallowing. From that moment it feels like a 0.5 mg. immediate release tab but the effects last a good 8 hours. (If you're familiar with immediate release Xanax tabs then you know the effects of those come & leave within 2 hours). Xanax XR still carries the typical side effects of immediate release Xanax: very vivid dreams, slight disinhibition and brief moments of forgetfulness during the day. Overall an A+ plus though, I prefer it over it over Valium.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Girl25 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/16/2014
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have daily anxiety and was on ativan for a while and while I loved the ativan I was looking for something longer acting - my psychiatrist tried me on Xanax XR .05mg. For me, this drug is a God send. In the beginning when I first starting taking it I did notice some slight dizzyness and 'weird' feelings but I stuck with it and once it regulated in my system (about 3-4 weeks) I feel totally normal and calm on it with zero side effects. I have since upped my dose to the 1mg Xanax XR twice daily if I need it, but some days I only take one pill to get me through the day and deal with the anxiety at night since I'm home and then take a pill in the morning like normal. My advice would be to start it on the lowest dose and work your way up. Also be aware that Xanax XR does sometimes interact with other meds so check to see if it interferes with anything else you're taking or will take in the future.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
diazepam | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/15/2014
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

RX four times a day at .50 mg.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
echo | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/10/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

very effective

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
seeing | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/5/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take it for Tinnitus which is ear noise from ear damage or perceived noise that they say comes for the brain. Sleep at night even with sleep machine(gives off different sounds to help one sleep)was very tough at times due to level of ear noise. Xanax generic .5 mg does help but due to the additive effect of Xanax I break it up if noise goes down after two nights of taking .5 mg I break it in half and take .25 mg till noise level gets back up to say a 8-9 on 10 scale. I fear the additive effects of Xanax so I try to keep the amount down till the noise starts to really get on my nerves before I take the .5mg only at night just before bed time. I do wake up feeling fine wish they would find some cure for Tinnitus maybe one day they will. Bad enough to be have some hearing loss but to add the Tinnitus on top of that is sure not much fun at any age. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DUoHWHAT | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/5/2013
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

How would one taper if its a time release?????

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
11/22/2013
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ANIEXITY

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mike | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/5/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

anizity

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/24/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

took it to have a epidural in back

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/24/2013
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had severe panic attacks and was a mess. I hate taking medication but was finally at a point where I was willing to do about anything. So, my psychiatrist prescribed me Xanax Xr 1mg 3 times per day and sublingual, very fast acting Xanax (Niravam) for use as well. It all did work to bring my anxiety down and if I took enough of it, it would finally break through the horrible panic attacks. However, and it is a BIG however, if you are deciding to take this drug or are recently on it, PLEASE look for an alternative. Seven years later and mostly anxiety free, I decided to taper off. The withdrawal is horrific. There are truly no words to describe how debilitating it is. PLEASE investigate withdrawal yourself. Do an online search for The Ashton Manual and you will understand. I have missed 2 months of work now and thankfully I own my own company so I can do this but it is not without intense symptoms and so much suffering...thousands of dollars in medical bills and most importantly a loss of being able to live a normal life. Withdrawal is not short term...some effects may last years. Please just really consider this. I hope my review will spare someone else what I am going through.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More