Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

10 People found this comment helpful

I receive Decadron and Aloxi for prevention of nausea and vomiting and it has worked extremely well for me. I have not experienced any nausea or vomiting and have just finished my third treatment (I'm three weeks on, one week off) so far with this session of chemo. This is my fourth diagnosis with breast cancer and and my fourth time on chemo in ten years (it's been seven years since my last dia...

Shared reviews and ratings

Kelley | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/21/2018
Condition: Prevent Nausea and Vomiting from Cancer Chemotherapy
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Other than a pre-infusion olanzapene pill, Aloxi was the only IV med I was given prior to infusion of etoposide x 3 days. That was 10 days ago. I've had zero nausea and vomiting and only gave four stars for satisfaction because of level of sedation. Next round I'll get Aloxi etoposide infused day one, then take etoposide pills at home days 2 and 3.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MARI Q | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/14/2014
Condition: Prevent Nausea and Vomiting from Cancer Chemotherapy
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm on A/C now with T to follow. I was given Aloxi .25 push in IV , then Ememd 150/decadron 12mg IV.... at 1130 AM .. and have been insanely nauseous and cant even drink water since 5 when I got home .... they gave me zofran for breakthu but warned combining Emend and Zofran ... QT prolong or something .... said to wait til tomorrow for it .... I really feel awful ... AWFUL

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Turnbow66 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/26/2012
Condition: Prevent Nausea and Vomiting from Cancer Chemotherapy
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Six hours after receiving Aloxi injection, experienced horrible headache that near migraine level. I have had a couple of migraines in my life but not a chronic problem. Had to use ice pack alternatively with heat to get relief and my pain pills did nothing (percoset) for relief. 48 hours after dosing, was given Fioriset to help control pain. Didn't have nausea from the chemo but did from the migraine. Dr. will try something different next infusion.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CatFromFL | 55-64 | Female | Patient
5/9/2012
Condition: Prevent Nausea and Vomiting from Cancer Chemotherapy
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had a slight but annoying headache for the entire 24 hrs that this drug lasted in me. No nausea or vomiting but i will stick with other anti- emetics next chemo round.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MamaDragon7 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/21/2010
Condition: Prevent Nausea and Vomiting from Cancer Chemotherapy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

70-year-old female receiving Cisplatin and Gemzar for high grade, aggressive bladder cancer. Cisplatin is known for strongly producing nausea/vomiting within 2 hours of infusion. Given dexamethasone pills, Emend pill, and IV palonosetron (Aloxi) IV before chemo drug infusions. No nausea or vomiting on chemo day. I do need to use Emend, dexamethasone, Zofran, Compazine, and Xanax to control nausea on other days. Also use Colace and Senokot as needed to resolve constipation caused by chemo and anti-nausea drugs. Recommend Aloxi highly. Oh, another comment: someone said they were told that the anti-nausea effects of Aloxi last for a week. That is not so. Aloxi can only be given once a week.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/9/2010
Condition: Nausea and Vomiting caused by Cancer Drugs
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bssn1mso | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/18/2009
Condition: Prevent Nausea and Vomiting from Cancer Chemotherapy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prior to R-CHOP chemotherapy treatment for Stage 1, B-Cell, Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma, I receive I.V. premeds that include Aloxi, Emend, Benadryl, Decatron, and Tylenol. After four of six planned sessions, each being three weeks apart, I have had no significant nausea reactions, neither during, immediately following, nor in the weeks following chemotherapy. I credit this to the complete combination of drugs, and to dedicated medical care from my oncologist.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
8aq27f | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/8/2009
Condition: Prevent Nausea and Vomiting from Cancer Chemotherapy
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ladylyd | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/18/2007
Condition: Prevent Nausea and Vomiting from Cancer Chemotherapy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I receive Decadron and Aloxi for prevention of nausea and vomiting and it has worked extremely well for me. I have not experienced any nausea or vomiting and have just finished my third treatment (I'm three weeks on, one week off) so far with this session of chemo. This is my fourth diagnosis with breast cancer and and my fourth time on chemo in ten years (it's been seven years since my last diagnosis). The Aloxi seems to be a wonderful preventative for nausea! I highly recommend it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More