Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

57 People found this comment helpful

I began taking Crestor (10 mg) in June. My cholesterol level dropped from 235 to 135 in four months. However, I began experiencing hip and knee pain. It became painful to walk, and the pain was so great I was having difficulty sleeping a night. Aleve and Tylenol Arthritis didn't totally eliminate the pain. Overall, my quality of life has been significantly effected. My doctor also takes Cr...

Shared reviews and ratings

Debbers | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/30/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 3 years,this insidious medication just about crippled me with myopathy.The Dr tried prednisone,flexeril,and PT.It dawned on me when I was putting it in my pill case.5 days off I can finally walk without a cane. Never again!I will stick with PT to rebuild strength.Currently looking for alternatives.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AD17 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/30/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am under 30 and found myself with VERY high cholesterol numbers. 246 being my total cholesterol. My doctor kept telling me I was too young to be put on medication and just make lifestyle changes. I ended up finding a new doctor who agreed i absolutely needed to be on medication, that genetics were playing a big role. i've been on crestor for 5 months, my total cholesterol is now down to 155 and all my numbers have drastically improved. I had some numbness the first few nights on the drug, along with mild nausea. But after about 2 weeks of adjustment I felt normal again and am very happy knowing Crestor is keeping my heart healthy!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nay | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/25/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm only 39,I been on the meds for about 5 or 6 weeks and why it may be helping my high cholesterol it's absolutely killing my legs,the pain is to much.i think I'm going to have to stop it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Larry | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years |
8/15/2022
Condition: Increased Triglycerides and Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Side effects are numerous. Forgetting words mid sentence, severe leg pain, muscle loss, irritability. Developed gingivitis. Sugar cravings, etc. 6'2 220 lbs active. No more statins for me. Side effects have not subsided. Constant pain and dental bills in the thousands are not worth the benefits of this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Liska | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/15/2022
Condition: Increased Triglycerides and Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Experienced dizziness and muscle pain to the extent I stayed in bed. My mind was foggy and began having problems communicating. The pain was unrelenting and intolerable. I will control my ldl through diet and exercise versus this toxin. Nonsmoker, could lose 20 pounds. Too young to feel like dying.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bob | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/15/2022
Condition: Increased Triglycerides and Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Forgetting words, losing items multiple times a day, muscle spasms, twitching, onset of restless leg syndrome, muscle pain and weakenss. 6'3, 220, very active. Nondrinker, x-smoker. Going to stop taking this drug today after reading reviews. I will take my chances and hopefully restore all the above symptoms. This is a dangerous drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michelle | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/13/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was recently diagnosed with Hashimoto's Disease which has caused my Cholesterol level to go up. My Dr put me on Crestor 10mg to bring it down. About 3 hours after my very first dose, I had the most intense headache ever and it also settled in my right knee, When I stood up I almost fell to the floor from pain and this stayed with me all day and night. I had no idea what was causing this to I took my second dose the next morning and the same thing happened again, intense headache and worst pain ever in my right knee. After research I realized it was the medicine doing this. I will not be taking anymore of this medicine. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tina | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/17/2022
Condition: Treatment to Prevent a Heart Attack
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 2 months of taking Crestor, I started having knee and hip pain. If I had to kneel, it was super painful to get back up. I ignored it at first, but symptoms got worse, to where just walking was painful. Thank you so much for your reviews. I'm glad it helps some people. It is definitely not for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amany | 55-64 | Female | Patient
7/11/2022
Condition: Changes Involving Fatty Deposits in the Blood Vessels
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed creator which I took a dose of 20 mg of at night for cholesterol level of only 160 !!!after one week started to feel terrible muscle pain in the back and abdomen and felt so weak totally unable to function..after reading about the side effects and a petition to the FDA To withdraw that medication i decided to stop the medication after two weeks of taking it, the muscle pain came off gradually but i ended up with vertigo too...why do doctors resort to prescribing statins before trying all other natural and safe alternatives!!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PA Mike | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/10/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began on Crestor at 10mg, my only medication. A few weeks later, began Zyrtec for seasonal allergy. Within days, bad headaches no amount of Tylenol I dared take could control. So stopped both for a couple months; then resumed Crestor alone at 5 mg. Blood tests at 6 months were excellent; total cholesterol dropped from low 300s to very low 200s, maybe even 195, can't find the results at this moment. Improvement on HDL and LDL. So everything seemed great at 6, 7 months. Then I started developing little issues that seemed odd. MD wanted me to increase dosage slightly, go to 10mg twice a week, 5mg the other days. Then I started developing little odd issues. Some lengthy periods of diarrhea -- a week, once, whereas it was never more than a day previously unless I had a serious illness (which I rarely get). A trace of headache some nights. Noticed I was weaker; could barely get a 16-lb bag of charcoal out the door, unusual. Bad pain in my lower back and some in one shoulder. My light sleeping turned into serious insomnia, waking at 1 or 2 a.m. and being wide awake for hours. And I had become more anxious, until I was anxious all the time, like "free-floating anxiety." So I am stopping the dosage increase and I am reducing it instead to see if there is improvement. Splitting the 5mgs in two so I will be taking 2.5 mg and only every other day. A minimal kind of maintenance dose while I hope for improvement in the physical and mental areas. Every one of my issues could have some other explanation, but taken together, they seem too much to be coincidental. I suspect bad side effects from the Crestor.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Deana | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/10/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been taking Crestor for about 3 weeks, with my last dose being last night at bedtime. My arthritis pain is worse, I feel lightheaded and dizzy. I’ve been having more nausea every day and indigestion. My brain is foggy and I have a bad headache. I have worse joint pain than usual, but I have fibromyalgia, which causes constant pain,but this is different! My HDL cholesterol was 211, and after feeling this way, and reading many of the reviews,I’ve decided to stop taking the medicine and see if I improve. I see my doctor tomorrow and I will tell him that I’m not taking it, and I’ll lower my cholesterol with diet and exercise. I won’t take statins anymore, because I feel really bad right now and I know that I’m not getting sick.Read these reviews, talk to your doctor, and look up the side effects of this Crestor, is my suggestion. Also,write down all of side effects that you feel.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
angela_morris11 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/28/2022
Condition: Treatment to Prevent a Heart Attack
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor started me on Crestor due to my cholesterol levels. Three months in and I developed bells palsy! After researching, I discovered that many statin drugs are linked to causing bells palsy. For me, the benefits didn't outweigh the risks

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kris | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/28/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 51 yr old female...who was prescribed Crestor to lower my cholesterol. I suffer from a lot of joint, spinal and connective tissue issues, along with migraines. This drug is the DEVIL...this should be pulled from ever being handed out to anyone. I was on it a month...and that is all it took for me to have all kinds of serious side effects, that to this day...I am still getting. I now, suffer from panic attacks...on it...I had severe muscle and joint pain...which I already have, but this made it a 1000 times worse! As soon as I started on this, I noticed the increase of headaches...depending on what I would do throughout the day, they would kick into a migraine...even my emergency migraine medication would not work for them. I felt like I was going to vomit, every day...and I could not sleep on this. I regularly get 5 hours of sleep a night, which I am okay with, I can function on that...but on Crestor...maybe a hour...if that. I took myself off of this toxic crap...and then the panic attacks and severe stomach pain started. I have noticed the stomach pain ceasing, but these panic attacks are in full swing. They come out of the blue and my first one warranted a trip to the emergency room, by ambulance, because my blood pressure sky rocketed to 210/119, I thought for sure I was having a heart attack. So, now...with all the other Rx's I regularly take for my other issues, I have been prescribed 2 different anxiety meds, prozac and hydroxyzine...and was told to take both of them together. So, now, I don't feel like I am safe with driving my car. I will NEVER again take a statin. And to think I TRUSTED my doctor, who already knows I suffer on a daily basis...and then act like she doesn't know what is going on. I am really hoping these panic attacks end...they are ruining my life. Make sure you ASK your Dr for ALL the side effects BEFORE agreeing to take this. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
UnhappilyDosed | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/15/2021
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As many others have stated, after taking this I have noticed joint pain in my right hand and then more recently in my hips and now seems my ankles. I have informed my doctor and he told me to take them at night instead of during the day. Not sure why that will change my pain, but I am working with him to figure this out. My History (If you care): I am a super fit and mostly healthy person. I work out constantly, eat right, etc, etc. Within a few weeks of taking these I felt the pain in my knuckles, then it progressed to my whole hand, within another week, my hip started aching as well as my lower back. I really started to feel like an old man and act like one within weeks of taking this pill. I told the doctor that I will no longer take these pills if they are going to do this to me. They have almost completely shut down my daily routines of being active. My Dr said my alternative was that I would die, but I say, what good is life if at 50, I have to quit all the activities that make me fit and happy, just so my numbers meet your current standards? He told me that will all of the exercise that I do, that it will be nearly impossible to regulate my pills along with BP meds. This seems very conflicting to me, so if I sit on the couch and do nothing, he can regulate my everything with meds, but if I exercise daily and eat right, not possible. I laughed when he told me this. It would appear that the current medical field has no idea how to deal with people who try to stay fit and have issues that may require these pills. Just like with anything in life, there are always edge cases, it would seem that the Pharma and medical industries do not test edge cases or care. They do know about the side affects, they just state that they only happen in less than 1%, which I find hard to believe. So now I am being asked stupid questions like do I drink city water, and do I eat foods at restaurants. If this pill is so picky that I can't drink city water or go out to eat once a week anymore...then I give up...Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dont trust doc | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/4/2021
Condition: Prevention of Transient Ischemic Attacks
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In the 9 months i have been on 40mg since having minor stroke...i now have been hospitalized 6 times because of this medicine...Severe dizziness...heart palpitations...blood pressure over 190..ankle pain...headaches...flu like symptoms...Stopped taking...everything almost went away...ALL doctors thought i was nuts...DO NOT EVER TAKE...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KD75 | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/28/2021
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried 2 different (statin) medications with bad reactions before trying Crestor. I take a very low dose but it has reduced my cholesterol. My cholesterol is now in the normal range with no side effects. I have been taking it for approximately 10 years. I guess each of us has to find the medication that works for our own bodies.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RDL | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/27/2021
Condition: Slow Progression of Disease of the Arteries of the Heart
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had no idea. Have taken crestor for 7 weeks, 5 mg. Asian 60 yr old male. Slim. Quads weak, fasiculation in my right. Mid back pain. Sugars up with no prior history. Have quit on my own for about 9 days now. Still early to tell but fasiculations stopped as has my back pain. Had I known, jeez. Fingers crossed my BS and legs are reversible? Having a CK done this coming week.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amber | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/16/2021
Condition: Treatment to Prevent a Heart Attack
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was just prescribed this medication yesterday due to finding out I have FH. I am not able to bring my cholesterol down on my own with diet and exercise. I have to take the medication in order to bring down my LDL. I am very nervous on taking this medication due to all the negative side effects that I have seen. Has anyone had and good experiences with this medication? I know that it is based on the fact that everyone is different and their body's react different.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jimmy | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/30/2021
Condition: Treatment to Prevent a Heart Attack
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I developed severe restless leg syndrome that felt almost like withdrawals from opiates.once I realized it was Crestor they slowly went away although from time to time I still get a mild case.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mickey | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/24/2021
Condition: Treatment to Prevent a Heart Attack
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Feel like have the flu all the time. The drug works but its side effects are not worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More