Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

123 People found this comment helpful

Before this medication I was absolutley a mess. I was crying almost everyday, on my days off from work I would lay on the couch and would not get up all day. I had stopped going out with friends, gained over 30 lbs, and overall just didn't care about anything. I decided it was time to take action and as much as I thought, oh this is a phase and I will snap out of it, I realized I couldn't do it on...

Most voted negative review

16 People found this comment helpful

My 19 year old daughter starting taking this medication Dec. 18 to treat for clinical depression. On Jan 16, she overdosed on the wellbutrin. Her behavior and mood since she started taking wellbutrin has gone downhill. She survived the overdose but had many seizures. She is now in a psych ward under a 14 day hold.

Shared reviews and ratings

Dee Tapley | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/4/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I lived with depression 1/2 my life. My doctor prescribed Wellbutrin XL and the 1st pill I took I could feel the depression leave my body like a ghost leaving my body. I took it for years with no side effects. I have tried other meds that did nothing. I lost my insurance and couldn't afford it and went back into depression again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Douglas Thron | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/1/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on bupropion xl 11 weeks, I'm still having side effects, is that common? Will they go away?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wellbutrin | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/6/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking wellbutrin xl 300 mg for a couple of years. Recently the wellbutrin had stopped working so my dr(nurse practitioner) upped my dose to 450mg daily. I thought I was going to die! Body tense up, couldn't see well, tremors,etc. It was awful. This med has a stimulant in it. I don't even drink caffeine so I'm super sensitive to stuff. Beware! I had to call poison control and make sure I wasn't going to die and I was in complete hell for hours. Don't just go work what your Dr tells you. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ashley | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/19/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hi everyone. I’m a very healthy 25 year old and this drug, on the FOURTH DAY of taking it, caused me a lot of harm. I was driving home, everything was totally fine, not stressed at all, and then ALL of a sudden- I got dizzy, couldn’t breathe, and almost passed out. Luckily I was able to quickly pull over and call 911. At this point I was shaking uncontrollably, couldn’t swallow my own spit, hyperventilating and still feeling like passing out. My hands and feet were purple and freezing. For the first time in my life I had to go to the ER, and was taken there in an ambulance. Once getting there, for a little while I felt pretty calm, so I thought I should probably just go home instead of being treated. But shortly after, another of these “panic attack” type things came on. This repeated 5 more times at the hospital while they ran tests. (Everything came back normal but blood pressure was very high as well as my pulse at times). eventually they gave me Ativan and then shot me up with Midazolam (a sedative) in order to get my heart rate back down. It was truly terrifying, I was really scared that I was going to have a seizure or something or even die. Reading some of these reviews of the times it worked for people made me really want to try out this anti-depressant but PLEASE re-consider if you want to save yourself thousands of dollars in ER bills. If this can happen to a healthy 25 year old, it can happen to anyone. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stressd&Dpressd | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/16/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started Wellbutrin 150 mg approximately 1.5 months ago. Prior to starting this anti-depressant I was crying uncontrollably everyday for weeks, I had no motivation, nothing brought me joy, and had loss of focus and productivity. On the 1st week of taking Wellbutrin 150mg I experienced ínstense headaches and nausea & not much change in my depressed behavior. By the 2nd week, I felt better, more enthusiastic and headache & nausea was gone. Despite not being sad anymore, I still didn’t feel happy. It was like an in between; however it did help minimize my anxiety & irritability. Now fast forward a month later and my MD increased my dose to 350mg. I have reverted back to my depressed self prior to starting the medication all together. Not sure if it’s temporary but it’s been a week now and I’m fighting back tears throughout the day and I’m nauseous all the time with occasional headaches & loss of motivation. I feel helpless and my intrusive thoughts have come back. Had anyone else experienced this after increasing their dose of Wellbutrin?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lizzie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/11/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started on 75mg twice a day but was inconvenient and didn’t really feel a major change than went to 150 xl in the am I really wasn’t feeling it I looked into it and just started doing 2 in the am (300 mg) 90% improvement! I feel so so much better about life in general, I’m not constant moody I don’t cry on my way to work anymore . It has helped a considerable amount but you also have to grasp the change and work with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anna | 25-34 | Nonbinary | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/15/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started this medication around 5 years ago for major depressive disorder. Made the switch to Wellbutrin because I found that taking SSRI's made me incredibly anxious, numb feeling and killed my sex drive. For the first few months on Wellbutrin at 150mg, I noticed a high heart rate, dilated pupils (so light sensitivity), and I had a very hard time sleeping. I didn't drink much but when I did I would have a terrible headache the next day which didn't happen before. BUT after 3 months these symptoms almost all but left. My libedo returned, my mood stabilized and I had a lot more energy in the morning. I also found I had less food cravings which was nice cause I would tend to overeat when I was in a mood. When i upped my dose to 300mg my earlier symptoms returned but only for about a month. Overall very happy with this medication and would recommend it for anyone who has had a hard time using SSRIs! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amar N Muhtaseb | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/1/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take generic Wellbutrin XL 300mg once daily. This was the first antidepressant I took after being take off medication for ADHD. I had depressive episodes that resulted in hospitalizations for me wanting to harm myself or others. The medication typically takes about 3 months to work, after the first 3 months I began to notice that my mood was better, my concentration was improving, and I became more social again. I still take it to this day and like the medication because it is a light stimulant but does not have addictive properties like my previous prescription for Adderall Instant Release which was for my adult ADHD.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jane Doe | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/31/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I hate this medication. It does absolutely nothing except make me crabby with 24 hour headaches and crying. I don’t care what happens but I am going to stop it immediately.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DS | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
4/20/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication did little for my bipolar depression, but it did everything for my sex life. Since being on Sertraline for fourteen years, my libido has not been good. Recently, my doctor added Wellbutrin to try and combat lingering depression. It did little, if anything, for my depression. But man, my libido is roaring again. Having my libido back is a small victory...and I'll take it!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tom | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/20/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

150 mg for close to two months. Did ABSOLUTELY NOTHING AT ALL. No benefits, no side effects, no withdrawal, no anything. I’m convinced the people who’ve experienced positive results aren’t really clinically depressed - it’s just placebo. I thought since it’s supposed to inhibit dopamine reuptake, there would at least be a slight increase in reward or motivation. No. One small Diet Coke, which really doesn’t do much (slight caffeine), does more to make me feel better in one hour than the Wellbutrin did for me at all in the two months I’ve been taking it!! Seriously, might as well be sugar pills. Giving it an extra star because it didn’t make things worse... I guess??Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
basak | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/8/2022
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My appetite has been increased so I gain some weight. I'm calmer on thoughts and psychically .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jared Kazz | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/23/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking wellbutrin 4 months ago. I got sober and came to treatment. I had had enough of the life I was living and was willing to do ANYTHING to help me stay clean. I had depression as a direct result of stopping the drugs I was using. I talked to a doctor and told him my story. He recommended wellbutrin and I agreed to try it out. He started me at 150mg/day for 2 weeks and 300mg/day thereafter. Since I have started taking this medication, I have to honestly say my life has improved 100% I also quit smoking cigarettes. I can't give all of the credit to this medication as there are other important factors that have impacted my recovery, but I do believe that this medication helped me to transition into a healthy and sober lifestyle, and I would recommend it to anyone in my situation for sure.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Matt | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/5/2022
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

II'm early in treatment (1 month) and have had good luck with the smaller dose,prescribed for ADHD and depression. It's definitely working but does have quite unpleasant side effects for me when going from 1x 150mg 12 hour SR to 2x per day. I tried one day with 2x and felt bad adrenaline rushes, definitely uncomfortable and couldn't wait for it to ware off. Took 1 the next day and the next day, same thing with just 1x.I experimented and I skipped a day, then tried 1x and it fixed it. It's definitely seeming to overlap and has a long half life, not wearing off even over 24hours. I would (warning: not a doctor) recommend trying a day off if you're feeling bad side effects, then try again the day after and see if there's an improvement. Very happy this has worked and have it in my toolkit if it happens again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Answers Please? | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/26/2021
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking Wellbutrin XL 300 for @ 4 months. Tried an increase to 450 XL & had a horrible-crazy-confused attack. Decreased back to 300 XL, but my anger issues are still present. What do i do? Lower dose & phase myself off this med?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/28/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was not able to keep my temper at a controllable state, I was going zero to 100 and I sometimes would loose such bad control I would break things in my house and I would scream and yell. Now I have been taking this medication for over 6 months and i have found this gives me energy and focus. I am able to keep my mood swings to transition more easily. I can still cry and have emotion but it's not outrageous. I call this the miracle pill. If it wasn't for this miracle pill I would prob be on the verge of suicide because that's where I was before I started taking this prescription. I am not one to take any all these types of pills yo mask things but to be honest this pill I find just stabilizes my mood. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sasha | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
9/26/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Second month on this medication. Slightly less anxiety and depression. But many side effects: exhausting migraines, high blood pressure, blurry vision, dizziness, swollen face, irritability, hostile or suicidal mood. Doctor says that withdrawal symptoms are also very uncomfortable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kim | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/5/2021
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Today is day 5 on Wellbutrin XL 150 mg per day and I am miserable. I have the worst insomnia and my anxiety has also gotten worse! Has anyone quit cold turkey after only a few days and not had any withdrawal issues?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Noora | 25-34 | Female | Patient
7/10/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The medicine was so beneficial for me i took 150 mg and it really controls my depression mood and suicidal ideas. In addition, it helped me with my CBT as i was accepting the threapist questions and allow me to talk and talk… no side effects at all . I loss weight as it kind of decreased my eating appetite but it is good for my case because my previous medication increased my weight alot .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ABDULLAH | 0-2 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/28/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am Abdullah from Saudi Arabia I used it to get rid of Captagon abuse and I was addicted for more than seven years I was suffering from depression before using drugs and got psychiatric treatment years ago. The doctor prescribed Prozac to me and I recovered from depression and OCD. After that, I lost my father and my mother in difficult circumstances and I am alone. I have no brothers or relatives around me. I fell into severe depression and deep seasonal and non-seasonal sadness. With the abuse and addiction of stimulants, the problems, depression, constant anxiety and the dire financial and social situation multiplied. I saw a doctor and he gave me wellbutrin XL 300 mg once daily , and after 45 days I started feeling a decrease in the desire to take Captagon, and I succeeded in getting rid of it completely, and after months I quit smoking I'm back in my life and I'm active and very happy and I plan to continue my university education and look for another place for a better life This drug is really great and changed my life I succeeded in getting rid of Captagon and amphetamines after a long suffering I succeeded in quitting smoking I don't feel the strong urge that I couldn't resist before and I collapsed in front of itRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More