Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

33 People found this comment helpful

I was really nervous to try this after seeing all the awful side effects people have had, but I've just begun my fifth month and haven't noticed anything at all. No weight gain, mood swings, nothing. I would recommend that people give it a go because if you think about it, the only people who are really going to be motivated to review are most likely those who hated it, so the online rating is alm...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

When i started taking this form of birth control, i noticed changes almost immediately. i felt nauseus alot and my breasts felt sore and tender every now and then. My libido dropped a lot and everyday it seemed harder to smile. i became incredibly depressed and practically went crazy. i was indenial and didnt want to believe this pill was making me like this but i started to notice a pattern every...

Shared reviews and ratings

Yuhuan | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/25/2022
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I sometimes get a little bit of acne, but Junel has absolutely made my acne a hell! My endocrinologist has switched me to Yaz. Be cautious with Junel! It totally destroyed my face. Now my self esteem is so low because there is acne all over me. Those pimples are so painful

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/25/2022
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking BC to skip my period. I have only experienced headaches all the time and very painful calf muscle. I have to stop taking it because the calf pain is unbearable at times ??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FondaP3tting | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/3/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this to prevent pregnancy for years. And years. Most of my adult life. It is effective. Easy to take. Keeps my periods light. I have not experienced any side effects. I used to have very heavy, painful, and long lasting periods. They are much shorter and more manageable. I don’t know what I’d do without this stuff.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/5/2018
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Tri-Sprintec for 9 yrs and my body started to change, so my Dr decided to switch me to Junel. It turned out to be a horrible experience. I had extreme headaches, super irritable, bleeding, sadness, no desire for sex, and all of this within first 2 weeks. My moods were all over the place, even my job was walking on egg shells. I got back in touch with my Dr and he put me back on tri-Sprintec.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rhapsody88 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/27/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went on Junel after having a horrible reaction to Cryselle (cystic acne and skin rash). You may be one of those people who are sensitive to certain progestins like I am. Apri made me so depressed I didn't want to get out of bed. Cryselle gave me a rash and painful acne but my sex drive was that of a 16 year old boy. Junel didn't diminish my sex drive but it slightly improved my cystic acne. Now I'm on Cyclafem and my sex-drive is a-ok still, but I have slight cystic acne. My doctor is going to switch my pill to Nortrel .5/35 as the lower Norethindrone dose may rid my back and chest of acne. For those of you dealing with terrible side effects don't give up! Every woman's body is different and it takes time to find a hormonal method that works best with your chemical makeup. Tell those around you that you're trying to find the right pill for you and to be vocal on any changes they may see that you don't. Plus it will help to keep you sane with a good support group while you ride the birth control pill hormonal roller coaster.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alicia | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/6/2016
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this for 9 days. Started the 1st day of my period which normally lasts 4 days. Period ended, but Continue to have breakthrough bleeding, nausea, mood swings and depression already. No more pills for me! I know my body!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mcha | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/22/2016
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started this medication. Within days of starting this medication, I have had nightmares just about every night. The dreams makes no sense. Severe night sweats, head aches, bloating and no motivation to do any thing. I have 8 more days til I hit the sugar pills. I have never have cyst like acne before in my life. By day 3 or 4 of starting the bc I broke out all over my cheeks and neck. I feel gross and moody. I am stopping after this pack. I scar easily and don't want the cyst to ruin my face. It's hard enough not having confidence in my self in the first place, and now having to deal with cyst acne on my face. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | On medication for less than 1 month |
2/2/2016
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm on the third week of my first pack and this is my first time ever taking birth control. These past couple weeks have been absolutely miserable. I've experienced mood swings and every little thing makes me cry. I have cramps and stomach pains that bring me to the point of tears, and before I even started taking birth control, I rarely had cramps. I wouldn't even wish the pain I felt on my worst enemy because no one should have to feel that. I've had brown, runny discharge but no actual bleeding. I don't know my body anymore and this pill is completely changing who I am. it's causing me to miss school frequently because I'm just so upset or in so much pain.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/19/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been taking this birth control for about 2 years. When I first started every once in a while I would get very tired. So tired that I would come home straight from work at 5pm and sleep until 8 and then still get a full nights sleep. I would sometimes get depressed and anxious for no reason. Never had those issues before. My mind would race and it was hard for me to concentrate. Two months ago it got to the point where I felt so shitty everyday that I decided to stop taking it. Feeling so tired everyday for no reason is horrible.I've been off of it since then and I feel so much better... Finally feel like myself. Idk if anyone else had this happen to them but I'm glad I realized it was the birth control making me feel like that. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/15/2015
Condition: Abnormal Bleeding from the Uterus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been having breakthrough bleeding mid-cycle on other pills, and have developed a fibroid which made my periods very heavy and painful!!! This pill stopped the breakthrough bleeding and made my periods light and quick like before! No side effects!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Me | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/18/2015
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The only thing wrong with this pill is that I have had extreme breakouts of acne. I am someone who doesn't get acne often at all and this pill has given me horrible breaks outs and I can't do anything about them bc they are hormonal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jjmec | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/30/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I absolutely love this pill. I have been taking it for a about year now and will continue to use it. My acne has disappeared, I have not gained any weight, and my period is light and predictable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/29/2015
Condition: Abnormal Bleeding from the Uterus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have no problem with the acutely birth control of this pill, but I had every other side effect. My acne was the worst it has been in my entire life (even early teen years), my skin would peel off or become bright red and rashy (I'm not allergic to any meds), horrible headaches, and body pain. Although it helped with my cramps, but it also gave me horrendous mood swings. I'm a very down to earth person, but the smallest things would set me off. I highly recommend getting a different prescription. I barely made it 6 months on this pill, I tried to give my body time to adjust but the side effects were horrifying.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
5/13/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had taken Microgestin for a couple years, but when they stopped manufacturing it, my doctor switched me to Junel. Within a few days of starting Junel, I started noticing that I felt slightly nauseous and very anxious whenever I was in a public place or driving my car. It got to the point where I couldn't focus in my classes, and I had an anxiety attack while driving to a practice. I asked my doctor to switch my birth control, and I was back to normal within a week. It was very scary for me, but I haven't heard of anything like this happening to anyone else, so hopefully I'm the only one it affected that way.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
2/22/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Junel Fe 1.5 for little over a year now and just now deciding to stop the pill and try another one due to some side effects that won't seem to go away. I constantly feel bloated, have severe migraines, and my period is so light that I barely bleed at all (mainly just brown discharge). Although the heaviness of my period varies from month to month. Another main reason why I am discontinuing this pill is the extreme mood swings it puts me in. One week I'm happy and content, and the next I am in a horrible mood and feel like I can cry just about at any moment. After about a year and a half of taking this pill (I started off on the lowest dose for a few months.. But was getting my period twice a month so I had to increase to a higher dose) I'm finally switching. I was prescribed Tri Sprintec, although my pharmacy doesn't have that brand so I'm starting on another generic brand called tri previfem. I'm really hoping this one works out better! Everyone's bodies react to medications so differently, so I guess the only way to see is to try something new! I think it's about time men take the birth control! Ha!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Julie | 35-44 | Female | Patient
2/18/2015
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Unfortunately, one of the side affects I have experienced with this pill is yeast infestions

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stilettos | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/5/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking this for a few months now, totally regulated my periods, no breakthrough bleeding. Did slow weight loss but I haven't gained anything.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
femalestruggles07 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/29/2014
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has been one of the worst birth control a I have tried. I've been on this one for two months and I've started having symptoms of depression and polar moods. It does help with not getting pregnant but on the other hand the mood swings it brings with it, helps just as well. My boyfriend says I have been a lot more sensitive lately and has to walk on egg shells.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
suki | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/22/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my first BC pill I ever started and after seeing all these reviews, I have no idea why it's the total opposite of what I've been experiencing. I always take it at 10pm and the morning after I took my first pill, I felt a bit nauseous, but after I took some advil, it went away, and I haven't experienced any bad side effects ever since. Sometimes my breasts do get tender before periods, but they aren't as swollen as they used to get before the pill. My periods were very heavy and lasted 7-9 days, but now its so light and short (3-4 days). I've been sexually active since I began using and haven't gotten pregnant. I normally get moody around my period and I didn't feel like it got any worse when I started using this pill. I haven't gained any weight from using and now that its been a year since I started, I gained some recently, but I don't think it had to do anything with this since I changed my diet and have been trying to gain weight for a really long time. It works great for me and I will continue to use it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mpl | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/12/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At 23, this was my first BC pill. I was skeptical at first because I was losing weight and I did not want it to slow my progress. I am currently on my 5th pack, no pregnancy, but the hormonal acne and the mood swings are absurd. I never experienced acne in my life and at the end of pack one- boom- pizza face status. My doctor didn't believe me as they prescribe this to people with severe acne and suggested Proactiv- just no. I also experienced the worse nausea of my life during pack one, so I switched to taking the pill at 8 pm and it resided around the middle of pack two. I also experienced a weird mid-cycle period during pack three with cramps that would take my breath away. Maybe an increase in sex drive? It has slowed my weight loss and caused several emotional flare-ups as well as an increase in tiny little facial hairs. No real spotting, but the cramps are worse while on my period than before taking BC. It may work for you- everyone is different, but here is my experience. My doctor is switching me to OrthoCyclen next month (because while everything else has regulated itself, I cannot continue with the constant acne) and the reviews are just as horrifying. Best of luck!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More