Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

5 People found this comment helpful

I was given this drug on an ambulance for vomiting it stopped my vomiting within 1-2 min. It was wonderful.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

This was given as an IV to help with nausea for pain meds... i had a severe allergic reaction....

Shared reviews and ratings

JustMe | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/8/2016
Condition: Nausea and Vomiting
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went into the ER on my 4th day of vomiting, nausea and weakness. This was put in my IV. I immediately felt better although within 10 minutes I started feeling very cold and started randomly coughing and my chest started feeling tight. Within minutes of the first sign of feeling cold I was ghasping for breath and my husband was calling the nurses for help. I somehow could breathe in but couldn't breathe out so I was gulping breaths? I've never had an allergic reaction like that before so it was a bit scary. I left the ER a few hours later and felt like my whole body ran a marathon. I was exhausted.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Daughter | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/13/2015
Condition: Nausea and Vomiting
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given Zofran IV to attempt to stop uncontrollable nausea and vomiting related to inner ear issue and pressure changes of flying. It had no effect; I was still vomiting off the gurney until they changed to phenergan, which was effective (although the combination of the two drugs together had some unpleasant perceptual side effects until the Zofran wore off). Recently, my mother had colon surgery, and was given Zofran to prevent nausea/vomiting after the surgery. Again for her, this had no (or very little) effect; she was still extremely nauseated and they had to change the medication. I suspect that some people--perhaps running in families--simply do not respond as is typical for this medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AnaGirlEmpath | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/15/2014
Condition: Nausea and Vomiting
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this medication to help with chronic nausea due to malabsorption syndrome, which resulted from nerve damage to my GI tract. It works so well and is the least sedating of anti-nausea meds I've ever had.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Doggettsmama1960 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/14/2014
Condition: Prevent Nausea and Vomiting After Surgery
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very painful and scary. Started immediately after injection in IV. Funny taste in mouth, mouth started burning, nose and face started burning, rapid breathing, difficulty breathing, burning from top of head to feet, turned fire engine red, uncontrollable muscle movement, nose and ears were throbbing, then I started having goosebumps and chilling. Doctor ordered Benadryl iv and not sure how long it was before it started helping, but it worked. Would like some idea what ingredient in RX caused this? Sulfa drugs make me throw up and Tylox makes me feel like I'm having an out of body experience. Other than that I've never had a reaction to anything, but I don't take a lot of Rx's. Lisinopril and Estradiol on a daily basis. Any suggestions as to what else I should avoid besides ZOFRAN?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wisdom Tooth Extraction | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/23/2013
Condition: Prevent Nausea and Vomiting After Surgery
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked immediatly after surgery, but wore off quickly. Started experiencing nausea 14 hours after tooth removal surgery. Although I have a sensitive stomach, this hasn't happened in any of my past 4 surgeries including a different tooth removal surgery where they took out twice as many teeth. Overall pretty affective, I still haven't experienced any vomiting. Nasea possibly due to liquid diet change, I would reccomend this drug for surgeries.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tex | 65-74 | Female | Patient
3/3/2012
Condition: Nausea and Vomiting
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It immediately stopped my vomiting and the nausea. Wonderful drug for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/17/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this medication IV for pre-sedation for a procedure to prevent nausea afterward. Did not work and developed joint pain, stomach pain and right side pain afterward. Joint pain still remains 2 weeks after.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/7/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was given as an IV to help with nausea for pain meds... i had a severe allergic reaction....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
donjack10 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/14/2009
Condition: Nausea and Vomiting
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given Zofran IV in the ER of my local hospital (which I consider state-of-the-art and I am also an RN (that said for informatory purposes only)). This drug had absolutely no effect on my nausea and vomiting. The RN who gave it to me assured me that it was used alot and that symptoms usually subsided within ten minutes. I found this not to be the case at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DAB | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
10/13/2009
Condition: Nausea and Vomiting
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Maximum dose in 24 hours

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/18/2009
Condition: Prevent Nausea and Vomiting from Cancer Chemotherapy
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Although I did not have much nausea, I had resultant lack of peristalsis, causing an ileus for up to four days after chemo administration, with horrible distention relieved only with enemas and laxatives, a clear liquid diet and application of heat to the abdomen. Very misreable experience, indeed!!! I choose to not have the pre-medication of Zofran with my subsequent chemo tx, feeling I would rather experience the vomiting and diarrhea than the above listed symptoms!! I had a Rx for compazine at home.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pittm4 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/17/2009
Condition: Nausea and Vomiting
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was sent to the ER after my vomiting wouldnt stop after I was told that this was only a side effect from another medication. Come to find out I had a Pottasium defficiency which was making me to feel as though I was burning up and very shaky and nausea. I am so glad I was given this in the ER immediatly stopped my vomiting literally within 1-2 minutes.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sdchapma | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/23/2009
Condition: Excessive Vomiting in Pregnancy
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am pregnant and the first 3 weeks of my pregnancy i was vomiting almost everything i ate. Week 4 i started the zofran and i have vomited 1 time since thats only because i forgot to take the zofran. It's wonderful!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/19/2009
Condition: Nausea and Vomiting
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this when I was in the hospital for a really really bad migraine headache and having really bad nausea from the pain meds and migraine. It worked wonders! I was also given it when after I had my appendix out. It worked GREAT both times. I would highly reccommend it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ohsosick | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/25/2008
Condition: Nausea and Vomiting
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried this medicine during a short stay at the hospital for extreme vomiting and I must say it works wonders!! I highly recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MLZ | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/16/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had a severe allergic reation upon adminstration of the drug. Arm immediately turned red and veins started swelling as well as intense burning pain. 4 weeks later I still have a bruise and pain from the IV location.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pawpower | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
2/16/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug works when given prior to the start of vomiting, to prevent vomiting. Does not have very good results given post vomiting.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ladybug | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/8/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this drug on an ambulance for vomiting it stopped my vomiting within 1-2 min. It was wonderful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
9/18/2007
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug was given to me when I was in the E.R. because I was vomiting, I had the flu. It did absolutly NOTHING for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More