Show ratings & reviews for

2.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

15 People found this comment helpful

I took this for about 3 years for Bipolar 1 mania. I was non-compliant on oral meds, and in the hospital more than I was out because of my symptoms. It took a while for my moods to regulate, but eventually,it worked better than anything else. I have not had an episode in three years, nor, of course, been hospitalized. It helps me because it takes away my ability to be non-compliant, because I d...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

it sucks

Shared reviews and ratings

Jacob | 25-34 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/20/2019
Condition: Manic-Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 28, with a long history of bipolar 1 and schizoeffective disorder. After trying many antipsychotics, and failing treatment with form of tablets, I now use injectables, Risperdal consta. Though my health care provider and county are very angry it came to this course of treatment- I live in a very small town. I have been to jail, and my insurance no longer places me in decent facilities because of this route of treatment. You are viewed negatively. Please consider this and talk about this with your insurance and psychiatrist in question for your loved on. God speed.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Landin olsen | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/6/2018
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Drug is awful I can't get up and do things my speech is slurred and made me half brain dead. I used to have a six pack and was jacked now I've gained twenty pounds. I'd prefer to have my slightly deranged thoughts then be on this med but I'm forced to be on it. Society is screwed up your torturing us.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mic888 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/28/2016
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

the change over from Haldol 17 years to riaperdal was harsh, oral...after 5 years went to intramuscle...the results are much better, the problem with timing the oral meds is gone and regular sensations of normal life are much more abundant....but there is a very dark place that wasn't there with the Haldol, thus the worry about panic...this is eased by regularity in eating sleeping and exercising...the key is the combination of balance between real life and the self. the self being satisfied and the mind being ok with it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
overwhelming | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
6/29/2015
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The medication causes weight gain, my son was in hospital for 9 days, symptoms developed vomiting, thirst, sleeping. Doctors discovered upon arrival high sugar level of 467, almost in icu.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brianna Lora | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/26/2015
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i take this drug new for me its great for now i see the other reviews but it hurts like hell to get it it burns and you can harddly use your hand or arm

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Previously charismatic | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
5/3/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Writing on behalf of my 19 year old son, who has a Schizoaffective diagnosis & previous bipolar & BPD diagnoses. During a forced admission to ICU when he visited a psychiatrist to talk about his MS (we were managing okay), he was started on this drug (37.5mg) & discharged into the community after 3 shots. All passion for living has gone completely. His depression is now so much worse than it has ever been, gained 13kg in a month, aching muscles despite lack of use. It is now almost 3 months since his final injection (we sent him out of the country to avoid the compulsory treatment order) & he is spending 20 hours a day in bed, can't manage to self care or exercise whereas he was previously a charismatic energetic skateboarder who mentored younger kids and exercised 5 hours a day. Bloods show tripled prolactin levels, elevated lipids & cholesterol damage. Although we are still hoping for some improvement, we can say without doubt that this drug has destroyed my sons life for more than 6 months, & that was only 3 injections. Be warned!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/1/2015
Condition: Manic-Depression
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CitizenSofa | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/15/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on for 5 months. This medication should be banned. Side effects weight gain, loss of sexual ability, insomnia. Benefits: none. Want to come off this med but psychiatrist won't let me. At wit's end over it. Causes so much suffering.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
death | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/9/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

you will die or you will be severely tortured the rest of your life. don't take. worse than any poison

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Erric | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/25/2014
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If covered, try this. One shot every 2 wks. so worth it. I've tried at least 10 other RX, but most satisfied with this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/22/2014
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with bipolar, tried few antipsychotic oral medications, last time was on risperidone consta, due to non compliance but after 75 injections total was gradually taken off it since 2011, since been on this treatment has done damage to my nervous system, memory loss, suppressed my thinking faculties, and also recently been diagnosed with cervical dystonia, which is neck spasm, and chronically painful lower back, and muscle spasm on both buttocks where the injection was given, limbs weakness, I would like to inform the public that it may work in some people, but this is definitely not given me quality of life, I work full time in a Mental health rehab, and beware speak out for your rights, I have complaint to authority and expecting some sort of compensation, I am normally in good physical health, but these chronic side effects cause me to visit my gp more often than usual..this is potent stuff, psychiatrist who authorise: these treatment must think twice on what the individual consumer need. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/5/2014
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've taken Risperdal injections for 4 months for Bipolar. It makes my concentration poor and I feel dead and in limbo.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/28/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with Psychotic NOS in late 2010, and have been on Risperdal Consta for over 2 years now. This medicine is very helpful for me, very beneficial, as it keeps my mood and behavior very good at all times. I started on Risperdal Oral but was switched to Consta a short time later. I prefer the Risperdal Consta over the oral type of this medication. I highly recommend this medication!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Slolo | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
2/23/2013
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am writing this for our son. Before he was on Risperdal shot,he took the pills, but he stopped in 2009, because he thought he could use another form of treatment. He was okay until Dec. of 2009. Then he went crazy with fear. He thought our city was being poisoned by the water. While at our house he was asking if we had any guns. He was so depressed, we were fearful of what he might do. He went back to his house to get some clothes. While there, he took all of his pills trying to commit suicide. When I went to check on him. I found him with pills scattered all over the floor and said he took most of them. I called 911. He spent 3 weeks in a hospital in Spokane, WA. They realized the shot was the best course to treatment. He has been on the shot since then and doing quite well.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
9/6/2012
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I write this on behalf of my son, who had 2 unsuccessful & horrific suicide attempts that coincided with Risperdal Consta injections. With the 3rd attempt he ended his life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
janep | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/14/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
daisy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
5/31/2012
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son is on this I am trying to find me some help paying for this so he may stay on this one. Please help 304-325-3523

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Why Not? BP aTX | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/28/2012
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Risperdal when I entered treatment for Bipolar 1 (Major Depressive) along with alcohol and meth addiction (snorter). I was in psychosis from the substance abuse and untreated bipolar. I needed the antipyschotic. It worked well to help me get back to reality. I experienced pretty bad side effects: rapid weight gain, major ticks and uncontrolled body movements, saliva gathering at creases in mouth, body core overheating without notice, extreme lethargy. But! I came back to reality during my seven months on the drug. And sixty five pounds later I was happier fat and sane than skinny and insane. It stabilized my mood, eased the delusions, started the brain chemistry back on track and allowed me to think again. I had brain fog. I moved onto Invega a second generation of Risperdal from what I was told with far less side effects. I'm glad I was not on it very long. As far as antipsychotics go, one must be aware of the potency and how strong they can be as far as side effects. Please take precautions ie avoid heating up as I did not realize how I could suddenly heat my core and hit the ground. But you can take other drugs for the ticks and it really worked on the psychosis for me. I toughened up on this drug. It made many I went onto the past six years seem tame... Relativity... and sanity. It did work. It hurt and I got fat but I got better. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angeleyes51 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
11/27/2011
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This shot has made my daughter worse and I'm takeing her in to get checked medialy, cause I did not take her for the 5th shot, but ever since she started it she has slurred speech which is getting worse, she won't go out or eat stays in bed most of the time, I honestly think this shot might have caused her to have some kinda stroke, cause her speech u can't even understand what she saying she slurrs her words, don't talk clearly' and was never like that till she started this shot, now after the 4th shot shes 10 x,s worse. I'm gonna take her to the er I know they will do a ct scan. after they read about what this shot can cause and its side affects. I was sure she would get better when I did not take her for the 5th shot, but this medicane stays in you and releases medicen over time. I feel shes really messed up from it, and I will get a medical Dr, to look at her and run tests. shes not takeing anything else. my daughter is not the same anymore, just really unhappy and confused . it really breacks my heart, and to think I trusted the dr, who said oh she will be fine on this medicane. nohes not fine, she matbe goin on 24 but you can still have a stroke if something causes it?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
angeleyes51 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
11/26/2011
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take care of my daughter she was takeing this shot I refused to bring her for the 5th one. cause for 2 weeks she won't get out of bed won't leave the house or eat, her speech is slurred which is scaring me' I think this medicane damaged her and I don't know if shes gonna get better, I'm takein her in to get checked out' I really hope the ones that made this med and the Dr' are preperred for me to complain. the people that said she should take this shot' I will file a complanit agaimst the Dr. and as far as the company who made this drug' my daughter better get better this all better go away it should have by now, shes not takeing anything else. I'm worried this shot damaged her, cause shes just not my daughter shes a zombie unhappy not hungry' don't wanna enjoy anything.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More