Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

39 People found this comment helpful

I was on an ace inhibitor & had nighttime cough so hard to go to sleep, was on a beta blocker and was so tired I felt fatigue all day, took this ARB and felt alert and no cough.

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

I was on the label Atacand for years and loved it. I take 32 mg a day and am suppose to cut it in half and take it twice a day. The pill shatters even with a pill cutter. The lethargy is terrible, looking for something else.

Shared reviews and ratings

jboiresmith74 | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/2/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking this medication for 4 years, developed an allergic response and broke out into many red bumps that 2 weeks later developed into a full "Guttate psoriasis" flare. Stopped medication and 5 weeks later the psoriasis is receding.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dontwant2die | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/4/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started getting rash two months after taking this medication. Doctors didnt know why, but seeing others have the same issue this side effect isn't that rare afterall. Also, my potassium levels creeped up while taking this medication

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WilCh | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/2/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For some reason the pill, though small, is hard to swallow without water. I use periodically and it takes only a few days to drop my blood pressure. If I lose weight and am skinny my b.p. gets lower, and taking these pills drop it too low and I get a little dizzy at times. I overweight, no issue. Been using for many years now and everything seems to be fine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hope | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/10/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Broke out in rash be warned.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/9/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Makes me dizzy..... have had tinnitus for the first time.... horrible

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cgr | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/2/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I love this drug. Ended up having severe nocturnal hypertension due to MILD sleep apnea. All bp's during day were perfect, nighttime bp's 200/112. Thought I would stroke out many long nights. Tried Edabi, nearly killed me 80/50 for days. Tried other ACE and Arbs, varying doses. Candesartan 16mg taken at 7pm. The only side effect that was super annoying is very, very dry mouth in morning but given that this is ONLY drug that works at night AND doesn't bottom out my bp during day I am willing to deal with it. A true lifesaver for me after 8 long weeks of horrifying blood pressures at night.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tree | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/29/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried lots of blood pressure tablets and they all make my pulstate tinnitus so loud , reduces blood pressure , there must be a tablet that doesn’t do this

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ree | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/10/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Amazing! Warm feet and hands. No tightness around the head or migraines. No pounding heart going up hills. Feeling relaxed. Sleep is much better, as I used to suffer with insomnia and low mood. Feeling 10 years younger...Follow up with GP soon, will discover how its working on my blood pressure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dee | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/27/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm presently on 12mg and am reducing the dose while monitoring my blood pressure. If my BP remains good, I'm going off of it all together. The side effects haven't been kind, with lethargy, runny nose, coughing, back pain, shortness of breathe and the worst being heart palpatations.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cmplxgal | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/21/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken candesartan (originally the brand name Atacand, and now the generic) for some 14 years. It has been effective in reducing my blood pressure, and I have had no side effects. My doctor originally prescribed Diovan (valsartan) but I gained weight. She switched me to candesartan (which I take along with amlodipine) and it's been a perfect combination for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Trudy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/25/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Brilliant felt great within days but after two weeks I have leg cramps and are tired but the trade off is worth it blood pressure was 175/88 now 130/70 No more chest pains shoulder pain or neck pain A little emotional but not sure if that is menopause Also take synthroid and have a 6 year old

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tired | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/27/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on the label Atacand for years and loved it. I take 32 mg a day and am suppose to cut it in half and take it twice a day. The pill shatters even with a pill cutter. The lethargy is terrible, looking for something else.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/26/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the only medication I have taken that doesn't give me a bad cough as a side effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
miranda | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/13/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

took it, felt lethargic all day. stopped taking it was back to old activities like cooking, washing up etc. BP down to 137/79 each day but started taking it again and lethargy returned and 142/70. Am also taking thyroxine for hypothyroidism,and aspirin for blood. Have been prescribed various other BP drugs with no luck. Fed up.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Norman | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/9/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Back pain. Sore gums and teeth. Increased need to urinate at night. Similar ED problems,as with Atacand and Diovan. Blood pressure averaged 122/84 using 12 mg.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/16/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Creat. and potassium go really high.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ommie pea | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/9/2011
Condition: Chronic Heart Failure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/11/2009
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on an ace inhibitor & had nighttime cough so hard to go to sleep, was on a beta blocker and was so tired I felt fatigue all day, took this ARB and felt alert and no cough.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
george p. | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/22/2008
Condition: Nondiabetic Proteinuric Nephropathy
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

no expereince: Military retiree pharmacy deleted issue of Diovan for my B.P. and protenuria, mild and mandated I switch to candesartan. i was takign, twice daily, 160mg of Diovan now I am switched to this Cabdesartan, 16 mg. Will see what happend when i again take my 24 urine test and constantly check b.p shame, Diovan worked well. even sent a letter to the D.O.D. from my Doctor, non military, and some general, M.D. dnuied as it costs to much so they switched to this. Typ[ical miitary retiree treatment. disappointed..perhaps it will work? My concern is my proteinuria will come back and i will, again, have b.p. adjustment problems. i have a slite heart mur mur, so he the doc says.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More