Show ratings & reviews for

4.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

19 People found this comment helpful

This medication is hard to find and may be pulled from the market soon, I find this extremely upsetting! I started taking it after several other meds failed to shut my mind down so I could rest at night, this med saved my life and sanity..no one wants me to stay on it and I'm so scared that I will become suicidal again. It's been 11 years and I feel safe because this med shuts down my mind at ...

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

This drug isn't that great, it will help anxiety, stress, tension, etc. but for me xanax and valium are the best anxiety drugs. never tried barbituates though.

Shared reviews and ratings

Nancy | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/8/2021
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Meprobamate is the best anti stress and anti anxiety medication. It quiets my mind and allows me to move on from negativity and disappointment especially regarding people. It’s a mild tranquilizer so I don’t understand why a good thing has to be discontinued and hard to get and more costly every year that goes by. I don’t take advantage of this medication rather I only use it on occasion when I really need it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/1/2019
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

wonderful medication really does the job but do not do not do not take this shit with alcohol. One pill and one drink then I was doing stuff so out of character I could not believe it. Again do not take this shit with alcohol!!! This happened on two occasions with me so again please do not take this with alcohol!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Art | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/21/2018
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was the first tranquilizer introduced in the 50s. Blockbuster! Prescribed for me as an alternative to Valium. Yes this drug is effective and I took it as directed for a few years. Relaxes muscles so you can sleep. Calms you down during the day. But if you are taking it at high doses for a long time....do not stop suddenly. Have your Dr. taper you off it. Otherwise you will have withdrawl symptioms and it is no fun, believe me. I was able to go to work and function, but very agitated nervous and uncomfortable. Was taking 600mg 4 times a day. Very effective relaxes muscles and calms you without making you sleepy. Just do not stop abruptly.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sunshine | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/19/2017
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I currently am not taking this drug because the cash price for 30 pills is over $400. My doctor substituted with generic Valium . It was prescribed for me over 25 years ago for skeletal pain and muscle tension. Do I like the generic Valium? No. I took a very low dose of meprobamate-not one side effect just relief. I do not understand the drug companies at all. They come out with new ones with far more side effects and yet the cost is lower and drug programs cover them.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Blah | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/26/2016
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very weak. Not for serious anxiety. Anything that when you take 2 of, and things get worse,sux. I would not recommend this. Get at Ivan or valium

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sick | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/30/2015
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Extremely habit forming and addictive! Caution

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/29/2014
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/10/2014
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

works good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
whisky dick | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/16/2014
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug isn't that great, it will help anxiety, stress, tension, etc. but for me xanax and valium are the best anxiety drugs. never tried barbituates though.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Meprobamate | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/16/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug relaxes me and helps me sleep. I have taken it over a year and no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
worryless | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/18/2012
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Meprobamate has worked like a miracle for me. It effectively quiets my mind so that I am no longer stressed and anxious about so many things I cannot stop worrying about. It's truly been a life saver and I have not suffered any negative side effects from using this drug. There is no comparison of between Meprobamate and Zanax even though they are both used to treat anxiety. I have found that Meprobamate is not always easy to find as many pharmacies have to special order it, and I hope it stays on the market.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Thankful | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/15/2012
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this medication for over 25 years. I work in an extremely stressful environment and I can't say anything but good things about the product. It is very effective in reducing the anxiety and the medicine has saved my career and has saved my wife and children from living on disability income! In addition I continue to get high reviews on my work!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sylvia | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/3/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking meprobamate for 45 years off and on when I was unable to sleep due to stress.(50 tablets a year?)I sleep. I wake up rested. No side effects. Recently I tripped and injured my back.(there were no drugs in my body, just a bump in the sidewalk)Relaxed Sleep is essential. Meprobamate relaxes my muscles so they can heal.Now my medicare won't cover.But will cover sleep drugs which cause sleep walking and loss of memory. It frightens me. I think the pharmaceuticals have done a hatchet job on this mild and safe and once cheap drug. Why?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Coco | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/13/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed this medicine for frequent earaches from TMJ/clinching jaw from my ENT dr. Used it regularly in the beginnning, but was also advised to stop chewwing gum (which I picked up when I stopped smoking). Well, I cut back on the meds until taking it so infrequently because when I stopped chewwing gum- it made the biggest difference. I have found that I can take this medicine when i have bouts with insomnia (which i deal with since I take ADHD meds too). It does help to shut my brain down to ease into resting, so i'll finish this prescription. (but I have no refills) Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
waterslide | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/22/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is an old drug that was given to me 20 years ago for pain/insomnia. I just started back on it about 9 months ago. It is the best!!! It helps me sleep and also takes anxiety/depression away. I have several Painful illnesses that make sleeping tough and I also get anxious/down when I can't do what I want to do physically. My Pharmacy has to special order it. They can get it from Watson Lab. in Corona CA. I take one 400 mg in the afternoon and two 400 mg before bed. But be very careful with alcohol... it really makes you sleepy! Best not to drink anything while on this med.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bill B. | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/17/2011
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this drug for many years with no side effects. Very good drug especially with long term use. I take the pill and within 20-30 minutes I feel very calm without making me tired. I can drive and work without any problem. I have read some of the reviews on this site and some has said this drug maybe taking off the Market, I have not had a problem getting the drug. The mfg. of my memprobamate is Watson Pharma. If you are having trouble finding it ask your Drug store to try Watson. hope this helps.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CarolWD | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/28/2011
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is hard to find and may be pulled from the market soon, I find this extremely upsetting! I started taking it after several other meds failed to shut my mind down so I could rest at night, this med saved my life and sanity..no one wants me to stay on it and I'm so scared that I will become suicidal again. It's been 11 years and I feel safe because this med shuts down my mind at night so I can rest and I have zero side effects. I've tried to remove myself from this medication and my mind went right back to the racing thoughts and lack of sleep, I hate that my mental health will be sacrificed for the benzos which I cannot take without anger issues. What do I do? I gripe at family members for being addicted but this is different this medication allows me to be the me I always knew I could be and the alternatives don't work, please give it some thought before removing this medication.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
? | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/14/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use meprobamate--as did my mother before me--as strictly an anti-depressant. It works when all other drugs have failed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | Caregiver
1/27/2011
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jill | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/21/2010
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More