Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

9 People found this comment helpful

Have taken for several years. Leaves a lingering unpleasant taste. Now stops the headache after one dose about 75% of the time. Initially it stopped the headache 95% of the time with a single dose.

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

Severe side effects. Terrible exoerience. Will never use again and will not recommend to anyone

Shared reviews and ratings

Jane donnelly | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/16/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this for severe headache not really a migraine ask I am clear your results may not match. The packaging can be an issue look carefully there is a tab shaped like a fingernail that's where you peel. The pill dissolves rapidly under the tongue and in my case headache is going in 2 mins. I found this almost alarming bit for me rapid relief. No aside effects but try yourself . It took away my pain without a drama and I thank Dr D.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CHERYLFM7 | 45-54 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/17/2020
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The brand name Maxalt dissolving wafer is great and dissolves quickly the generic on the other hand is hard and does not dissolve unless you really suck and work it around your mouth and it takes a long time at least with canadian drugs i have never been able to try midrin so you are all very lucky this has been one of the only drugs to work for me as a rescue drug. in canada opioids are not given out and so i was at my local hospital sometimes 2-3 times per week and as a single mom it was very difficult to hold down my full time job and raise my son (thank god for my parents) i was given a injection protocol to do at home which required administering 7 different shots to myself. I know what it feels like to be in soo much pain that you just want to give up. My first migraine was at 7 yrs old and i am 50 yrs thank god there are starting to be some breakthroughs as i will not quit trying. I am on 3 preventative meds propanolol,topomax and effexor and have tried a min of 200 different drugs in all different classesRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BlackBird | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/21/2017
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have always had chronic migraines and this is the first time in about 20+ years my pcp prescribed me Maxalt. It really works! No light or noise and I have to lay down for about 30min to 1hr. I am able to get up and start my day but I also find myself sluggish in a few hours. I would say take it when your are in a stable location, just in case.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NanT. | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/22/2016
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using Maxalt for about 8 yrs. about once a month, sometimes less. Works within 40 min for the pain. Sometimes I get a bounce back headache and have to use it every 12 hrs for a day after. Approx. 25% of the time I get the draggy/heavy feeling 2 hrs after I take it. This usually passes, but sometimes it lasts hours. I find myself having to use the bathroom like I've retained water sometimes, too. Then I feel dehydrated and have to push the fluids. This happens about 22% of the time. Anyone else have this happen? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
teacher | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/14/2015
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the one medication that worked for me. It melts right in your mouth and takes about 20-30 minutes to work. I can still function, or go to sleep if possible. So happy to have found this medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dani | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/11/2015
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This mediciation allowed me to function fully without knocking me out for hours like all of the other migraine meds. Works very fast too. The MLT melts right on the tongue and into the bloodstream.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Prue | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/19/2015
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Maxlt melt is easy to use but generic too hard to open, especially in middle of night. Excellent response usually within 30 minutes. Only medication that has ever worked for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/7/2014
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The generic brand of this medication is hard to open. When I need this, it is frustrating to deal with getting the pill out of the packaging. I often find myself taking a knife to the blister pack This is not an easy task on a good day, let alone when I have a migraine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
maxalt | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/15/2014
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severe side effects. Terrible exoerience. Will never use again and will not recommend to anyone

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ajatkin1 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/26/2014
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
catwoman1956 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/1/2014
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If I take the treatment at the very first signs of a migraine it works very well. However have had some palpitations occasionally after taking the medication. However it soon goes off. Anyone else had this side effect

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/23/2013
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug relieved headache pain within 30-40 minutes.tws

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mel | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/9/2013
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Made me nauseous and then caused a second ocular migraine phase which had never happened before! I now ride out the aura then take a strong anti-inflammatory pain killer.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Retired | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/23/2013
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The packaging is difficult to open. If I catch my migraine in time I can take MAXALT, and be done with the migraine in about 1 - 2 hours. I am thankful for MAXALT.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/25/2013
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

These melt away tabs did not do anything for me, and in the process they tasted pretty bad.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | Patient
3/24/2013
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have had migraines for over 20 years. I get aura, photophobia, vomiting, along with numbness and tingling in my tongue and fingers. Tried almost everything including Imitrex and ergotamine. Usually ended up at the hospital for narcotics to at least allow me to sleep it off. Dr gave me a sample of Malxalt RPD a few years ago and it has been great! Doesn't take it away right away, but allows me to nap it off, and I am able to function again within a few hours. I would recommend it for people to try.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/8/2013
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has helped me more than other drugs so far, but when a migraine hits I can't see and it is very difficult to get the pills out of their packaging without them crushing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/1/2013
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
virginialvaughn | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/27/2012
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had migraines since I was 10 years old. My headaches last anywhere from a few days to a month or more. I have been through every test available, looking for a cause and a way to treat my problem. After 30 years the doctors still have no answers for me. But now, thankfully, they have a way to treat my headaches. I have tried every drug available, with no success, until now. Thank you for creating Maxalt MLT. Without this drug, I would not be able to function.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/29/2012
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

nOT HELPED MIGRAINE THAT MUCH BUT MADE MY BODY HURT SO BAD.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More