Show ratings & reviews for

2.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

12 People found this comment helpful

My 7 year old daughter had a severe allergic reaction after taking omnicef for nine days. After being off of the medication for 6 days she developed serum sickness. This resulted in very painful swolen joints and difficulty walking. My intention is that other parents will read this and just pay attention and look out for the signs and symptoms of allergic reaction.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

Our 11 month old son was prescribed this drug for ear infections after several other antibiotics didn't work. After 2 days of taking the drug, he broke out into hives. I will not recommend this drug to anyone.

Shared reviews and ratings

PP | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/16/2019
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed this drug for UTI. Twice a day 300 mg. The infection did resolve after 5 days. Now am retaining urine and unable to urinate. On a catheter for a week to see if this gets resolved. Looked at sie effects and this was listed, that urinating less or not at all. Will not take this drug again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kay Kay | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/11/2019
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My took this medication. About 30 minutes later she was doubled over in pain, nauseous, vomiting, clammy, running a fever with diarrhea. I will never allow her to take this medication again. EVER.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BubbaLulu | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
10/23/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

HORRIBLE antibiotic. My 9 year old daughter was prescribed 11 ml 1x/day for a UTI. 3 days later she spiked a super high fever, which was following by rash/hives over at least 50% of her body. According to MD, rash/hives could take 4-5 days after discontinuing medication to clear. Also gave her terrible thrush/yeast infection within 24 hours of 1st dose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/4/2017
Condition: Acute Maxillary Sinus M. Catarrhalis Bacteria Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was not able to take more than 3 doses before developing terrible side effects of stomach discomfort, diarrhea, abdominal pain. I am now 3 days off it and on medicine to control the stomach issue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 0-2 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/17/2016
Condition: Middle Ear Infection
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My two year old daughter was diagnosed with a sinus infection and double ear infection and was put on cefdinir to treat these issues. After being on the medication for 5 days she started swelling all over and breaking out in a rash/hives. A trip to the ER told us she having an allergic reaction to the medication. Good news is it treated both her infections - bad news is we can never use it again given her reaction.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/7/2015
Condition: Strep Throat and Tonsillitis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I think this drug must have changed somehow. Now it is made by a company in India. I took this drug a few years ago, no side effect whatsoever. This time when I took it, I developed new side effects everyday, until I had terrible diarhhea. Then I quitted. I say f*** drug company!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gypsylady | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/11/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took generic called Cefdinir 300mg, 1 capsule and I was horribly sick to my stomach and got diarrhia. Was so sick that I felt I would pass out and then started with C-dif and had to take Flagl. Will never take this medicine again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Docs mom | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/17/2014
Condition: Acute Maxillary Sinus M. Catarrhalis Bacteria Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had acute sinus infection and took Omnicef. After 2 days of this medication my Crohn's Disease which had been in remission suddenly became very active. This antibiotic kills the normal bacteria in the bowel and causes big problems. I will never take this medication again. It is a dangerous med!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jett2020 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
1/30/2014
Condition: Strep Throat
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son is 13 and has taken this many times before with no problems. This time for strep,all was good till he finished the last dose. Slowly he started itching, which progressed to huge swollen hives and a sunburn looking rash on his head, legs, arms. It kept moving from place to place but stayed on this head. Also had painful joints. Now on Benadryl and steroids. I was relieved to find these reviews, that others have had the same experience.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Melani Harmon | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/11/2013
Condition: Acute Maxillary Sinus M. Catarrhalis Bacteria Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Thanksgiving & out of town. previously i was sick for 1 mos. w/ coughing/sinusitis. after that time, went to PCP, he Rx for Omnicef. i took for 10 days, 2 days after dosage complete, the itching began w/ welts on back of my head. hives spread to underarms and backs of knees, bilaterally. my back & face had hives, and i'd trouble w/ breathing. ER visit- i was out of town- confirmed allergic reaction to Omnicef, but MD wasn't sure (seemed MOST obvious since i'd just finished it on Weds., this was Friday, 11pm). IV steroids and prevacid (H2 blocker/antihistamine); brought hives down & released. went to my mom's, slept for 6 hrs., & packed for 10 hr. drive home w/ my mom & my 2 boys. about one hr. from home, severe itching resumed (i'd taken benadryl & prednisone that ER MD Rx'd me). this was approx. 24 later after initial allergic response. around midnight Sat., i couldn't sleep, my breathing was OFF, my lips/tongue/throat started to tingle and swell. lips were 4x's their normal size. husband took me to ER closer to home & AGAIN, packed me up w/ IV steroids & benadryl. took approx. 3 hrs. for lips to un-swell, but itching was HORRIBLE! ER released me, i went home and felt horrible for over a week!! itching, hives and skin irritation resumed for over a week- it got better, but was scary b/c of the fear of anaphylactic shock. i believe that the 2nd reaction was even worse b/c my immune system was suppressed b/c of the prednisone and histamine blockers. when the steroids and antihistamine wore off, my body fought back w/ a vengeance and then the swollen face/lips/mouth/tongue/throat began, b/c i didn't just let my body take it's time to heal naturally. had i done that, i may not have had SUCH a terrible reaction, afterwards. the funny thing IS that i've NEVER had a rxn in my life, to anything. so this was very strange to me, and IT happened after i had finished the dose. but i am finding that this is also common with this Rx. also, Prednisone is NOT good to be on.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
11/1/2013
Condition: Strep Throat
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I will start by saying that my 6 yo got a terrible case of strep throat with a lot of pain and a very high fever. He took 4mg of Cefdinir twice a day for ten days. His strep infection cleared right up but on the afternoon of the tenth day he has his first attack of severe itchiness. His skin got very red in several areas and then began to welt up pretty bad. We are now a week away from his last dose and he is still experiencing this allergic reaction. It comes and goes all over his arms and legs but is concentrated on his neck/chest area. He is absolutely miserable and the itchiness is also preventing him from completing simple tasks, even eating! My poor guy sat at the dinner table forever last night and couldn't help scratching the whole time. Eventually he couldn't sit there any more and asked to take an oatmeal bath. Benedryl helps a little but the Dr. recommended limiting that. She started him on a slightly elevated dose of Allegra. It's only been a couple of days but that's not really helping so far. All we can do is keep trying and calm the skin any way we can with baths and lotions. BEWARE PARENTS!!! There has to be a better option than this :( P.S. Dr. and Pharmacist assured us that this was safe even after being reminded of a reaction my lo had to penicillin a few years ago. Wish I had read this instead of listening to them!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
10/28/2013
Condition: Middle Ear Infection
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 2 year old daughter had a double ear infection and has not had good luck with amoxicillin so she took this for 10 days and then broke out in a rash with hives all over her body. Freaked me out. Doc didn't say it was from the medicine but clearly it is. She is so sick but it did fix the ear infection. So scary

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pavithra Hari | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
9/26/2013
Condition: Middle Ear Infection
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 10 months old daughter was given this drug after the 3rd ear infection. After the 1st does itself my baby got rashes all over the body. The doctor asked me to give for 1 more day. It made worse the next day. Tomorrow have to call the doctor and ask again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Badmeds | 3-6 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
7/19/2013
Condition: Bronchitis caused by the Bacteria Streptococcus Pneumoniae
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter was placed on this med for bronchitis. On the 6th day she tarted urinating uncontrollably. We took her to the doctor and said she is reacting to the antibiotic. He stated that she was not having a reaction and the uncontrolled urination was due to a yeast infection, he cast our opinion aside and told us to keep giving her the cefdinir. On the 9th day she developed a bad rash and swelling of all her joints. She can not stand or walk due to immense pain. We are furious with the doctor and will not be going to this office in the future. I will never allow any of my children to take this medication in the future, something I advise to everyone.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/15/2013
Condition: Acute Maxillary Sinus H. Influenzae Bacteria Infection
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kelnj87 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/15/2013
Condition: Acute Maxillary Sinus M. Catarrhalis Bacteria Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this medication today for a sinus infection, took one pill. Well I'm doubled over with abdominal pain and nauseous. I'm calling my doctor tomorrow!! Would not recommend!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Momof4 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
1/15/2013
Condition: Middle Ear Infection
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After our then 6year old took all 10 days worth of medicine he broke out into a rash, itching, entire body started swelling to the point he could hardly walk! After a trip to after hours and one ER trip they finally told us it was the medicine and to never give him this medicine again. Needless to say I wouldn't recommend this to my worst enemy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Buckeye Dad | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
10/22/2012
Condition: Middle Ear Infection
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Our 11 month old son was prescribed this drug for ear infections after several other antibiotics didn't work. After 2 days of taking the drug, he broke out into hives. I will not recommend this drug to anyone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
10/7/2012
Condition: Middle Ear Infection
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My one year old was given this medicine for a double ear in fection after Amoxicillin didn't work. She took it for 4 days and then broke out in a horrible rash from head to toe. Took her to urgent care and they told us to not give her anything and just wait until Monday morning to see her doctor. She looks like she has a sunburn all over. Does anybody know of anything I can do to help her feel better while we wait??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
laurieame | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/30/2012
Condition: Acute Maxillary Sinus S. Pneumoniae Bacteria Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am starting to swell and I mean swell my loose clothes are now too tight. Does this have any steroids in it?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More