Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

33 People found this comment helpful

I was prescribed Soma after years of bad experiences with other meds in this class. I have psoriatic arthritis and ankylosing spondylitis, so my muscles spasm around tender joints, affecting my life functions and my sleep quality. Now my doctor has the willies about prescribing this amazingly effective drug because of some over-protective ninny at the FDA. This drug works and I have never had a...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

not very effective

Shared reviews and ratings

Loveisthedrug | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/7/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Love is the drug for me. But Soma works GREAT!!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/17/2018
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As long as taken as prescribed. Also I take it with food, it seams to work better if I take with a meal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cindyjane. | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/30/2017
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has worked wonders for me along with fiorinol and i have been taking it for 38 years- my only problem is the different brands mess me up, they are not all the same. I prefer the watson or qualitest brand because the rest are total garbage, the pharmacy has a 15% leway in how much of the carisaprodal they actualy put in there and some companys are just cheap and they use lactose and wheat or soy for buffer which can be an irratent.other than that it has worked for me 38 years on the same dose 4 soma a day and 3 fiorinol a day.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/19/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
awakeinpain | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/31/2016
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has worked for me perfectly well, with or without a pain medication and I have been told to cut back to 4 a day by my Family Practitioner, who likes to prescribe nothing effective but kept my Rx as it was working for my deteriorating back, discs herniating, no surgery, have had immediate effect with epidurals but skeptical of M. D.'s pushing these over medications with less side-effects. Two within 3 or so weeks was terrible, no sleep, Sciatic Nerve pressured- I am a yoga person, meditate, and watch everything when eating as certain foods promote irritation in joints. I must always have access to this medication; I do not understand why there is always one drug that has less side effects, except for the unlucky ones who go to sleep on them, criticized by the media promoting current drug lists- keep your meds locked away. Be safe, find a good doctor who truly cares, understands pain, and will help!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sherib55 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/20/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Soma for about 6 years for chronic pain in my right hip/groin area that I've had for 16 years. Saw 12 doctors, had 5 surgeries, still no diagnosis as to why I am having pain. I've tried opiates and other strong pain relievers but Soma is the only one that helps

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sherbenou | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/7/2016
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This had more then just spasm it helped me sleep too did not wake up groggy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tali | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/7/2016
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is the only muscle relaxant that helps my severe spasms in my jaw, back, and spine. It is getting harder to find a physician who will prescribe it though.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PSL Lady | 45-54 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/21/2016
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Aside from sometimes making me sleepy I haven't had any problems with the drug. If I'm wide awake then they don't make me sleepy or drowsy, but if I am physically exhausted or slightly tired then they will usually help me to sleep pretty quickly. After 12 years of talking them I would never take them and drive unless I know for sure I am well rested and wide awake. It doesn't help that certain generics are stronger or weaker than others. So if you're going to take this medication on a regular basis than I recommend getting filled at the same pharmacy(because they usually order from the same manufacturer) plus if you do get different generics get to know them and how they affect you.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gramma in Pain | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/19/2016
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I was first prescribed the medication and given the Qualitest brand, it worked like a charm. I was able to do whatever I needed to do. But since doctors won't prescribe anymore, and are being over reglulated, I get the Sun brand, with the 442 or the CL 220 imprinted brand, they are ineffective. I don't know how that can be, when you look them up, they appear to be the same medication, but the effects are totally different. Now I can't function, and am in so much pain and when I request the Qualitest brand the pharmacist looks at me like an addict. I don't know what to do. The doctors say they can't give because the addictive qualities, but when I went to my pain management doctor, they refused to perscribe, so I went cold turkey for 2 months before I found someone who would give me the other two, believe me, I don't know what withdrawals are, but I didn't suffer any adverse affects except that the medication didn't work for me. My regular doctor won't perscribe because of the federal regulations, so I am at a loss. Why did my doctor go to school to help people to be prohibited to prescribe what would help?!!?!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
No CL 022 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/22/2016
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken soma for 15 years with a lot of relief, never had one that said CL 022, but got it last refill. I hated it, made me sleep walk and dream weird stuff. Told pharmacist I never want this kind again. I threw away most of my script. Any other brand is great just not this one CL 022.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/28/2015
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The dr just switched me a few weeks ago, it makes me sleepy a lot faster but it seems to be working better. I can only take it at night unless I'm in so much pain I have to stay home and take it but their is no way I can drive on it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/27/2015
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this drug for 10 years now and find it helps me I have server lower and neck pain have had 3 back surgeries with pins and plates and 1 neck surgery with 6 pins and 2 plates and have tried other muscles relaxers but don't get the results like I do with soma

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Annie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/20/2015
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was having mucle spasms in my lower back, at 1st my Dr. put me on Diazapam (valium) that helped the muscle spasms, but left me feeling loopy. Carisoprodol, didn't make me sleepy or loopy feeling. Prefer that much more over taking Valium.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/22/2015
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this medication long term to treat muscle spasm from MS and find it very effective. I have tried other muscle relaxants with little or no relief. Taken for 20 years and now taking myself off of it. that hard to do so long as you step down your dose gradually.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NANA | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/14/2015
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Working Man | 45-54 | Male | Patient
3/7/2015
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wasn't sure what to expect at first from this drug, knowing that it isn't a benzodiazepine YET hearing that it's popular with dope heads. I found that a 350 mg. tablet is almost identical in effects (to me) as a 5 mg. Valium. However, the carisoprodol is slightly less sedating - I didn't have the urge to sleep 2 hours after taking it. Rather, I found the carisoprodol to be a little 'uplifting', as opposed to being sedating. Not a stimulant - don't read me wrong here - but let's just say it seems less likely to give a bogged-down feeling than Valium. Also, there's more dizziness with the carisprodol. Not bad dizziness, per se, but that kind of light-headed feeling. Other than that, it pretty much felt like a 5 mg. Valium. It does a decent job on tense muscles.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jonah | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/31/2014
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking the generic form of soma for a couple of years now, it has been the only muscle relaxant to date that I've found some benefit from, I take one at bedtime. I am not sure what the problem is with the doctors who refuse to prescribe it from the comments I've read on here. It has helped me, since I don't know anyone else who takes it I can't compare how it helps others besides reading the many comments on here and it sounds like a medicine that does help the majority of people. I do not understand why doctors refuse to prescribe it but push other drugs on people when they claim they are not helpful, makes no sense to me. As far as the FDA goes, if they are worried about abuse of this drug, which is regulated anyway so that makes no sense but if they are concerned with the drug being abused, there are plenty of drugs people abuse such as meth, crack, etc and not prescribing this one drug for people that it will help will not stop the other drug abusers from getting or making some drug to abuse. Makes no sense to me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
d-12 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/3/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

WOW

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
11/25/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tested in PERF with PROD ChromeFeed!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More