Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

9 People found this comment helpful

A group of us took the chloroquine to prevent malaria while on a medical mission in Central America. Most admitted some stomach upset, many had much abdominal bloating & gas which seemed to be worse with each dose. Not enough to keep us from taking it, though. Better to have the protection from malaria.

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I lost most of my vision from this medication. At the time, their was no proper guidelines on visual testing or the progression of the disease. Over the years they have found the damage does continue. The use of the medication was not worth the loss of vision.

Shared reviews and ratings

Agnes | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/6/2021
Condition: Malaria
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Yes the medicine cures malaria but the dangerous side effect I've experienced is body itching, it can make one go mad like it disorganizes you, it itches you that can't sleep and you don't take shower until the effect subsides and it takes days to subside. Another side effect is tiredness, vomiting, abdominal pain, etc.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | Caregiver
4/5/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

You all messed up royally. This is Fish Tank Cleaner!!! Hydroxychloroquine is the proper medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bullseye | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/9/2019
Condition: Systemic Lupus Erythematosus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I lost most of my vision from this medication. At the time, their was no proper guidelines on visual testing or the progression of the disease. Over the years they have found the damage does continue. The use of the medication was not worth the loss of vision.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/16/2013
Condition: Malaria
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No longer very effective. In Papua New Guinea.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
yogibear67 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/12/2012
Condition: Systemic Lupus Erythematosus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

after horrible side affects with cellcept/plaquin/methotrexate,this medication has eased sympto's and given me back energyand more mobility thaat has in turn given me back my outside activities!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/12/2011
Condition: Systemic Lupus Erythematosus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug has helped Me feel better so much. At first I didnt know what to look for but just after feeling so much better I knew it was working.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/28/2010
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mel1964 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/22/2010
Condition: Systemic Lupus Erythematosus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Without Chloroquine I am not able to walk or function. It has given me my life back. It took a year for me to get the full potential of the drug and to feel somewhat normal. I still have flares, but not as often. I would be lost without it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bixiesharpie | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/8/2010
Condition: Systemic Lupus Erythematosus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for Lupus SLE for over 3 years, I was originally on plaquenal but soon developed a rash to it. It seems I'm not only one thats on this..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | Caregiver
10/8/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I personally witnessed an event, wherein, I saw someone undergoing an abortion. This certain drug--Chloroquine Phosphate 250mg was given to the patient orally along with Amoxicillin 500mg. I am curious why these drugs are given during abortive catheterization? I am aware that amoxillin is an antibiotic and choloroquine phosphate is antimalarial drug; why are these combined drugs being given to the patient undergoing abortion? Medical Professionals and researchers, please find out why?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dentalgirl | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
2/6/2008
Condition: Malaria Prevention
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A group of us took the chloroquine to prevent malaria while on a medical mission in Central America. Most admitted some stomach upset, many had much abdominal bloating & gas which seemed to be worse with each dose. Not enough to keep us from taking it, though. Better to have the protection from malaria.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More