Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

22 People found this comment helpful

My kidneys were damaged by high blood pressure. After kid.transplant, 10 yrs. ago, pressure remained high.Minoxidil, along with clonidine & terazosin have been part of my regime & have controlled pressure perfectly.

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

swollen legs

Shared reviews and ratings

Grace | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/2/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible horrible side effects!!!! Numbness of the lips tongue and feeling of tingling in the face! Nausea, headache, hives and more! Overall if I could give it a zero I would and it is a black box drug no one told me that!!! Don’t take this medication unless you have no other choice!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary from Oklahoma | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/18/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After three weeks on it I started growing a mustache. Had a LOT OF dark hairs sprouting aggressively. Stopped taking it after reading it was related to the same drugs GIVEN for hair growth. Mustache went away after three more weeks. Wondered how many poor women are fighting dark facial hair and have no idea it is their bp med. ??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
4/17/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/21/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

kidney dr prescribed this drug I had fast heart rate rash under skin like a sunburn cound not sleep because of heart rate do not use

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/25/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have VERY difficult to treat hypertension. I have been taking Minoxidil in combination with Clonidine now for 5 years. This combo reduced by BP from 200/100 to 120/60, which is rather remarkable. I do have to take a whole suite of other drugs because of the Minoxidil side effects: Lasix (fluid retention), Metropolol (tachardia), and Enalapril and Potassium. You must be very conscientous of salt intake on Minoxidil and limit yourself to about 2 grams per day. All that extra effort aside to control the side effects, it is a very effective drug for my essential hypertension.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/3/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

swollen legs

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
david | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/30/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

elevated kidney readings.minoxidel brouht my readings to normal levels.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tcksmosley | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/28/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Increased swelling in feet & hands. Gained 14lbs. in 5 days. Only lower systolic pressure a little. Caused angia pain and trip to the emergency room.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jan | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
5/1/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son 35 was given this drug and was on it almost a year during this time he began to retain much more fluid,health deterioration, heart palpitations, chronic cough, fainting....end results severe effusion of pericardium which almost caused his death was in the hospital for 2 month...seem to be hard to diagnosis what was going on but finally with cat scan large effusion was found around heart 2 liters of fluid had built up...most likely it had been building for the whole time he had been on this Minoxidil..he was not aware of this being a side effect and might have figured it out had he known when the symptoms begin. Patients should be told very plainly of this side effect,of course, not all get only a few but it is life threaten...he almost did not survive this ...his heart was failing and hypertensive lung disease had developed as large sack of fluid around his heart caused lungs to collapse in lower part from pressure he was on oxygen for 5 month, developed right side heart failure ..he is now finally off oxygen & recovering well...he had 2 surgeries and a pericardium window was make. He is a dialysis patient and that may be one reason he developed this with this medication but Dr should be more conscious of this happening with patients on this medication. Dialysis 3 times a week is not like taking a diuretic every day to help pull the fluid...he was having severe fluid build up between dialysis and medical people just thought he was drinking way too much which he was not.thankful that he survived this ordeal.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/29/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

caused fatige, shortness of breath, edema in both legs and feet to the point of leaking, severe pain , unable to stand or walk due to the pain. irreglar heart beat.worked on my blood pressure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AJH310 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/8/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this medication a month ago. It has lowered my diastolic pressure considerably but has had minimal effect on my systolic pressure. The only two side effects I have noticed, and am tolerating at this point, are that it makes me VERY tired/fatigued and I am having "itching spells" since taking it. As a bald guy though, I am anxiously awaiting to see hair growth on teh top of my head!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Swede | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/30/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking it for 25 yrs (after massive stroke at age 46) - have tried nearly 30 other bp meds (while some/many worked to lower bp, they each had undesirable sides, most particularly depression, sexual, ...). Only sides from minox are fatigue which I can handle and heart racing (very unusual, only 20 or so reported cases of it) which is serious but take Corguard to counteract and no reoccurences of racing heart since then. And hair growth, thickening which, of course I don't mind. It was about 6 months after starting Minox the heart racing incident(s) occurred so it was not immediately evident it was a result of minox. Took some digging in PDR (and consult with drug company) for dr to pin it down.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/31/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

tired, lazy and body aches in the morning

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
uhuru | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/11/2010
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

increases facial hair.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
beedy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/15/2010
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

the pills help to lower my blood plessure, but the other hand i'm not a man, and have notice hair growing on my face i don't like that at all and i don't know what to do about that i don't need to shave my face and definetly don't want to look a man.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/9/2010
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm not sure if it is the Minoxidil but I feel like crap and have since I started using it. Please tell me there is another alternative. I have only been on it for about a week and I can already feel the hair growth.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/15/2010
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this treatment is awsome. I love drugs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bob | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/17/2010
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

works good for bottom number. needed the help with hair growth on top of head. but the best side effect was help with erection problems.just call me bone'er bob!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
just me | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/13/2009
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Although it is working really well for my blood pressure, both my parents had HBP and mine is just hereditary, minoxidil has caused me to have extreme hair growth on my face and neck. I already have very thick hair on my head. This is very hard to control and deal with on a daily basis as I am in a job where I am out in public every day. I cannot afford laser treatments and the OTC remidies are not all that effective. I will be seeing a dermo next month to talk to her about Vaniqa. Maybe I'll be a good canidtate for that.If not, then I guess I will be spending more time at home...Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
beach101 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/11/2009
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's helping my BP...but I have gained 9 lbs in 4 weeks. I have worked very hard to lose 30 lbs through diet and excercise and don't want to gain one more ounce. Definately talking to my dr about this to see if there is another alternative med as I cannot diuretics as I am allergic to sulfa meds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More